We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures can be too flattering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel BPM - Brooklyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel BPM - Brooklyn to your Saves list
Hotel BPM - Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   139 33rd Street, Brooklyn, NY 11232   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bonanjo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pictures can be too flattering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Was in NY and wanted something different from the usual Hilton and other names. So I hit the web for highly rated hotels - finally settled on Hotel BPM because it's near my friend's place; the pictures looked great and the reviews were awesome.

Arrival was a shock. Hotel was on a kind of industrial street with auto-shops, etc. It was disappointing. Not a place you want to take a romantic stroll in the evening. The room didn't look as nice as the pictures I saw (what was I expecting?). The type of feeling you get when your date doesn't look as cool as she looked when you first met on Facebook.

But the guys at the front desk were simply amazing. My fifth floor room was cold, couldn't figure out the heater. Got the tech to come check and he said it's OK. I felt, maybe I was going looney. By the second day I couldn't take it anymore, apparently the tech was looney because the heater was bad. I was effortlessly moved to another room.

Room service was prompt and fantastic. The shower wasn't strong enough - It rained like a drizzle.

I could come back again not because of the location but the friendliness of the front desk and the fact that you get good music all day long.

Overall I would score them 8 over 5 for good service. Irrespective of everything, the service made all the difference to me.

Room Tip: The street facing rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    172
    75
    20
    10
See reviews for
88
140
56
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I really loved our room (307). We had two super comfortable queen (maybe full?) beds with very fresh, nice sheets. The decor was cool and I liked the speaker system. The hotel has it's own station and you can request songs when you book. Breakfast was odd (they had 2 warm options and apparently bagels which we did not know about), but it was ok and included. Price was an absolute steal. Very convenient to Manhattan, Brooklyn Museum, Botanic Garden, easy subway ride to Queens.

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the elevator and it was fine (just a low hum) but I would choose a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Nice, clean room with comfortable beds and nice shower that was a great value for the price. Easy walk to subway, with 15-20 minutes into Manhattan at off-peak times, however can be much longer at peak. Very helpful staff. Breakfast included--the days we were there they had several options (french toast, egg/cheese/bacon bowl, bagels, cereal) made to order in kitchen. Neighborhood fine, felt safe but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBPM, General Manager at Hotel BPM - Brooklyn, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello Kristie P,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel BPM Brooklyn. I am very happy to hear that our staff was very helpful as we try to each guest the personal attention you deserve. Thank you also you mentioning how safe our neighborhood, I know many guests are use to the flashy New York they see on TV where here we like to think we offer more of a local experience encouraging guests to explore the great things Brooklyn has to offer such as Prospect Park. We look forward to having you as a guest with us again and hopefully earning a 5 star next time around.

Thank You,
Hotel BPM General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Lobby smell like someone drop too much of bathroom air fresheners. Really, its disturbing! Too much perfume everywhere. For a «green» hotel, its quite surprising…

The room is good size for NY! Clean, hip, good bed and all stuff you need to have is there. But, its very noisy, you hear everything from the other room ( trust me…) and everything that happens in the hall.

I went to the bar to have a glass of white wine. It was hot. Undrinkable.

Breakfast is included… Well… I dont call that a breakfast. Its a joke, Really. See the picture (it was egg and beacon plate. the other choice was french toast) No fruit. Nothing else that that. Come on, can we have a banana and a green apple? So be aware, if you go there with kids, they will cry in front of their breakfast!

Its my second time in Brooklyn, 10th time in NY. I know I can find better next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Manager at Hotel BPM - Brooklyn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I suppose in this case too much of a good thing was bad, however, since your comment we have lowered our air freshener setting. Most of our guests compliment us on our air freshener which is why we were never shy about turning it to the max. I am glad you were able to enjoy you room, we would like to think our rooms provide just enough space to keep our guests comfortable. I am sorry if you were misinformed but we always have a choice of bagels and cereal on top of whatever hot item we offer, along with a choice of coffee, tea or juice, there is always more than just two choices when it comes to our complimentary breakfast. Fortunately we have been able to incorporate more fruit with our full breakfast menu. If you ever decide to give us another chance I am sure we will have a lot more goods the second time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

High hopes for this hotel, but it was disappointing on many levels. First, the parking lots were full of ice and snow. It was slippery and dangerous. Charging $20 to park outdoors and posting a sign that hotel will not guarantee security of vehicles is ridiculous. Check in was smooth, but elevators were very slow. Food from previous guest was left in the fridge and hair tie left in guest book. Hotels have carpeting to muffle sound. Not this one. Bare floors in the room. We were awakened and kept awake by amorous neighbors from 2:30-4:00 am. Activities continued at 8:30 am. Breakfast was sub par. Coffee was terrible, food not much better. Staff member was loud and obnoxious, trying to be funny. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Manager at Hotel BPM - Brooklyn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I am sorry your stay was a disappointment; we have made a lot of improvements in terms of the snow removal equipment so fortunately issues like ice will no longer affect our guests. Although we cannot hold ourselves accountable for any incidences that may happen in our lot we are equipped with 4 cameras giving 24hour surveillance of every corner of the parking lot. We are always more than prepared to render any incriminating footage to the proper authorities if anything were to happen. I am very sorry about the issues with your room the Director of Housekeeping and I are working diligently with his staff to ensure that mishaps like this do not continue to happen. We hope to be working on our noise issue soon by installing sound proof doors to all of our rooms. As far as our breakfast area we are always testing out new coffee and selections until we find guest favorites. Once again I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us but we sincerely appreciate your feedback and will work on each and every issue so thank you for your candor. Through all of the improvements we are working on I know if you ever decided to give us a second chance you would be pleasantly surprised. If you have any more questions or concerns please feel free to message me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is, of course, not a 5 star hotel, but you wouldn't know this by the quality of the staff. Every person we encountered was authentically warm and helpful. The room was similar to European rooms, small and modern with a creative use of a small space. As Americans, we become accustomed to large hotel rooms, but we were absolutely fine with our comfortable bed, great channel selections, storage space, but most importantly the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. The free breakfast was great! We just needed a quick stopover, but would certainly stay again for a longer visit to NYC and Brooklyn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Manager at Hotel BPM - Brooklyn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to review us! Customer Service is one of our main focuses here at Hotel BPM, we want to be able to share our positive energy with all of our guests. I am excited to see that the staff was able to leave such a good impression during your short stay. We appreciate someone as well traveled as you being familiar with our hotel’s design, our owner DJ Bijal has traveled to many countries in Europe and has definitely been influenced by their décor. Come visit us again and I know we can make your stay even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Excellent value for NY! Great interior décor - new, clean, modern. Service was great. Front desk staff very helpful; all staff very friendly. The little "bistro" on the lower level was nice to have for the happy hour as well as the complimentary breakfast. Quick cab service. Close to the train. Nice comfortable beds. Had difficulty adjusting the room temperature and Kuerig wasn't working however, it was nice having the in-room mini bar and snack tray with reasonable prices on the items.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Manager at Hotel BPM - Brooklyn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you Billie! It always fills me with so much pride when my staff is doing all they can to make a guests stay a great one. We will continue to work hard and improve so that you will have even more to celebrate on your next visit. If you have any questions or concerns please message me and let me know how I can be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel BPM - Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BPM - Brooklyn

Address: 139 33rd Street, Brooklyn, NY 11232
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel BPM - Brooklyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where music meets hospitality; Hotel BPM (inspired by the music term "beats per minute", referring to the pace count of a song), is about redefining the travel experience to a new generation of travelers, this lifestyle brand, focused around music entertainment culture, offers it's clientele a modern minimalist feel with upgraded amenities & aspects of music lifestyle mixed in such as 40" LED HD TVs w/ HD Channels, Keurig Coffee Makers, Mini Bars, and Free Wifi; creating an experience perfect for any traveler seeking more then the everyday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel BPM - Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel BPM - Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.