We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel BPM - Brooklyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel BPM - Brooklyn to your Saves list
Hotel BPM - Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   139 33rd Street, Brooklyn, NY 11232   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed here in October, and we both were pleasantly surprised. We didn't know what to expect initially, as we'd never heard of the hotel before. However, the staff was super friendly and very accommodating! The rooms were a bit small, but very clean. They even offered free breakfast and wait for it....wait for it....FREE DRINKS in the bar on the weekends...what a lovely unexpected surprise!!!!! I'd definitely recommend Hotel BPM to friends & family, and will definitely return whenever I'm in Brooklyn!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    170
    75
    20
    10
See reviews for
88
140
56
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Good location, close to subway (one or two blocks), although quite close to freeway so a bit noisy. Some finishings not quite up to the spec of a "boutique hotel" - perfectly nice but for the price it needs a bit more "oomph" and polish. The music gimmick was neither here nor there for us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I got a great deal through Groupon for Hotel BPM, and was generally satisfied in what we got for the price. The room and bathroom were clean, furniture, linens were new and well-maintained. The people at the front desk were very nice, and quick to respond to requests. The location -- as many have mentioned -- is less than ideal, but it's easy enough to use the train. Cabs were pretty scarce though. Also, for a hotel themed around acoustics and sound, the walls were pretty thin... We were awoken around 6am on Sunday to the sounds of laughter and shouting from teh hallways, as other guests returned from nights out. The noise level was higher than would have been expected, in part because the walls lacked sound insulation. The other strange thing was the random smells of cigarette smoke. We came back to our room on our first day, and it reeked of smoke -- I actually was nervous that I might be charged, since I'd signed off specifically on a form about the no-smoking policy at check-in. We smelled it again when we heard noise in the hallways, so it may have been other guests... Overall, for the money, I was very contented with the experience at Hotel BPM considering the price I got through Groupon, but am not sure I would stay again at the standard price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Each time we have visited NY we have enjoyed our visits as we travel here frequently with this hotel as the exception. We stayed one night although room rate was reasonable - cancellation policy was very strict even minutes after the 4PM deadline with no flexibility.
Had the most unpleasant experience trying to cancel our reservation when we learned we would need to drive farther than we expected for our family evening outing. We attempted to cancel our reservation but was unsuccessful. The off site manager never spoke to us communicating only via email to the front desk clerk. Yikes! But later that evening took the time to write a long very winded email explaining why we would not be refunded any of our money if we cancelled our reservation. However the rooms do offer a great sound system and we enjoyed the morning java. Noise level was high from both inside and outside traffic.
The hotel staff that was present was very nice and pleasant.

Room Tip: Noise level high from inside of rooms both at day and night from outside and next door guests. Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I thought the hotel was spectacular. The location of the hotel was in a great place very close to the 36th St train station. Neighborhood seemed very laid back & safe. The staff was AWESOME id give them a 10 if possible. The free breakfast isn't what u normally get for free. Normally u have to pay for that type of grub.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

It's comfortable, the staff is young, cool and friendly. The vibe feels like home and te neighborhood has great Mexican food. The subway takes you right into Atlantic and the city is just a heartbeat away. HotelBPM is where I will book my Brooklyn stays from now on...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

To begin with, Brooklyn is a somewhat unusual place. It's really changing decididly for the better...but that doesn't take away the fact that it's not like going to visit say any other city in the U.S. it's size.
On my recent trips to Brooklyn I have stayed in Brooklyn Heights.once at the Sheraton and once almost next door at a new hotel that was, I think, owned by the Sheraton.
Both times I paid about $185.00 per night.
For my recent stay, the rates at both of these places was considerably higher,not worth it in my view, so I sought out an alternative. I'm satisfied that I did not make a mistake.
I got a rate of $216. which I thought was very fair.
The BPM hotel is new, well designed and maintained, and staffed by cheerful people. Rooms, though small, are very nicely furnished and comfortable. The bed was great with very nice bedding.
Free, open though limited bar from 10:00 until 2:00 was a feature previously unheard of by me.
The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the subway which makes the location very convenient.
It's the neighborhood that is gloomy and unwelcoming. It's the kind of environment that is somewhat dark with few places that I would have wanted to walk to at night. Although one night I did come back by subway about 9:00 pm without any iccident at all.
If you are comfortable with the neighborhood, you'll love the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel BPM - Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BPM - Brooklyn

Address: 139 33rd Street, Brooklyn, NY 11232
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel BPM - Brooklyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where music meets hospitality; Hotel BPM (inspired by the music term "beats per minute", referring to the pace count of a song), is about redefining the travel experience to a new generation of travelers, this lifestyle brand, focused around music entertainment culture, offers it's clientele a modern minimalist feel with upgraded amenities & aspects of music lifestyle mixed in such as 40" LED HD TVs w/ HD Channels, Keurig Coffee Makers, Mini Bars, and Free Wifi; creating an experience perfect for any traveler seeking more then the everyday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel BPM - Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel BPM - Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.