We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, very comfortable bed, classy rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel BPM - Brooklyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel BPM - Brooklyn to your Saves list
Hotel BPM - Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   139 33rd Street, Brooklyn, NY 11232   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, very comfortable bed, classy rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A lot of super-trendy hotels do something elegant, like add glass windows to the bathroom, and forget to frost them for some privacy. BPM is smart: the glass window is very well frosted so you get some natural light in the shower, as well as some privacy if you're looking for that! The blinds are solid - there's two sets of them, one for privacy, and a second for a proper "black-out". They work well together.

Value is huge if you score a groupon or other sale. For $169 Canadian we got a night in a deluxe room, which offers a LOT of space for an NYC hotel, and a bonus welcome bottle of wine, delivered chilled to the room. Service was excellent. We parked in the morning, ($20 regular fee, $10 special with that groupon), ran around Manhattan, and got some good tips for taking off too - the staff will accomodate whatever you're interested in. For us, the recommendation from Rebecca to check out the Bald Man's chocolate restaurant (Max Brenner) was a fantastic idea, thank you!

Breakfast: fantastic. We tried the pico de gallo egg dish and the omelette and they were made fresh, hot, and tasty. The fruit, juice, coffee and bagels we had added to our breakfast, all included, were very filling.

Sound-proofing wasn't bad, but not perfect. I slept soundly, but my companion was more sensitive and could hear some road noise. It is NYC, after all, and the hotel considered this: BPM provides you with free ear-plugs at the side of the bed which eliminated all that noise.

A lot of people rag on the location - yes, the immediate surroundings are gritty because there are some industrial shops nearby, but they're not bad at all - and there's plenty of residential nearby including a brand new high school. We walked back from the subway station, just two blocks away, around midnight and felt very safe.

The hotel was very clean - even on our departure the elevator's floor had been freshly scrubbed. There is only one elevator, but we must've been lucky as there was very little wait time for it - it showed up promptly.

The TV, as some noticed, is gorgeous and is a Smart TV you can log into with your own Netflix account - note that unless another guest forgets to logout, you do need your own account to access the Netflix shows. The regular cable offerings are the standard huge universe of TV if you're sticking to "conventional" cable.

Would love to come back next time we visit Brooklyn - when the "R" line tunnel is repaired it'll add even more good transit options. The D and N trains do, however, run quickly into Manhattan from the hotel's 36th street stop.

Room Tip: When you walk in you may notice a dial by the door to the bathroom. This controls the volume for the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel definitely has a good green feel - proper reusable cutlery / mugs used in rooms and kitchen.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    172
    75
    20
    10
See reviews for
88
140
56
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We'd read up on several hotels and reviews. Taking into consideration location, amenities, and what others had to say. Considering Hotel BPM had a high rating with only a few bad reviews, this was one we checked out. We usually stay in Midtown, but prices there are outrageously overpriced. So we decided to check out Brooklyn. We'd heard good things about the ease of getting to Manhattan. And Hotel BPM is near the 36th Street Subway stop. Could not get easier! Those who say they felt uneasy walking the 3 blocks clearly are from very rural areas. I felt as safe walking there as I do at home. The reviews ARE correct when they say there is nothing to look at nearby. Our room overlooked a car repair shop. BUT.. it's QUINTESSENTIAL BROOKLYN! Working class neighborhood. People were nice. We stopped in one of the businesses to get a quick treat. Great food and friendly! As for the hotel itself. It's nice. It's not a 5 diamond hotel... but it's better than what you'll find in Manhattan at the price point. The room we stayed in was clean. No frills. We did have to ask for towels almost every night. Should be something you automatically get. Not a big deal though as they brought them to our room within 5 minutes each time. We tried the breakfast. It's free.. and decent. The desk assistants were always helpful. Never seemed disinterested. Always greeted us upon arrival and exit each time. Lots of people talk about the showers here. The bathroom was clean.. and the rainfall shower head.. was cool. The actual fixtures are by no means expensive though. Pretty plastic-y feeling. But again, it's not a big deal. Bottom line, we'd stay here again. Oh, and people talk about the noise. We were right by the elevator. Couldn't hear it. We DID hear some people once in a while while they were in the hall.. but never anything from a different room itself. And people moved out of the hall pretty quickly so it was never a bother. And I am not one to deal with lots of noise well. So, take that for what it's worth. We didn't hear much! The rooms are decent size for NYC standards. You won't find anything but two beds and a desk chair. But really, what more do you need?

Room Tip: No room will give you a great view. Choose one on the corner.... like at any location and you'll...
See more room tips
Green Features: It's a green facility. Offered to change sheets or leave them on. The usual stuff.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I am going through a transitional period. Moving is very stressful. I needed a place in Brooklyn to stay with my toddler for a few days that was clean, safe, comfortable and accessable to transportation. I wasn't sure what to expect as so many of the neighborhing hotels received terrible reviews expecially in the cleansiness department. I was pleasantly suprised. The room was clean, modern and fun. Having access to Netflix to entertain my daughter, while showering away my stressful day in the nice rainfalls shower was great. I was greeted by a friendly and accommodating staff. During my stay, there was a slight inconvenience of a neighborhing room with noise level and the staff immediately reassigned me to another room without hesitation or fuss. Richard, especially, was very helpful, came off very genuinely friendly and personable which helped me relax during this stressful time. I would've extended my stay but unfortunately couldn't as it did become a little pricey. But all in all, I would definitely return as I know what to expected.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location is convenient to the 36th St subway line, just 3 blocks away. The neighborhood is a little gritty, but there are lots of bodegas and small Mexican and Chinese restaurants nearby. The best we found was La Familia, which served good Dominican fare at very reasonable prices.

Hotel - Front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They call car service for us several times, and made recommendations for walking and subway routes, even printing out maps and directions for us. The daily breakfast was cooked to order and quite good. Lots of choices, including yogurt, eggs, bacon, French toast, fruit, juices, coffee, cereals, bagels, and more. It can get crowded so service gets slow, but the wait staff were friendly and upbeat.

The room was small but well laid out. The king bed was very comfortable, but a queen would have suited the room size better. Our room was quiet, facing the parking lot behind the hotel. Housekeeping was good, though they were not reliable about replacing all of the dirty towels we left on the floor. Having a Keurig coffee maker in the room was great, and the maids were more than happy to give us extra pods on request. We emptied the fridge of the provided stock and used it to keep our own wine and beer cold. We did not like the closet/drawer setup: It was cheaply made and the closet door was binding on the top drawer. There was not a lot of room in the closet section either.

The bathroom had nice finishes but was not a great use of space. The shower was large and plush, having both a rain shower head and a hand held, but the sink area was tiny and we would rather have sacrificed the largeness of the shower for more sink counter space.

They have free drinks and a pseudo-disco on Friday and Saturday nights, but there was not DJ when we went down, so they were just playing a mix recording. It’s in the same space where they serve breakfast. The free drinks were of the fruity variety, but they also had a couple of beers on offer.

We booked the room on Hotwire as a Brooklyn 3.5* for four nights and got a rate of $145, which was very good for the expensive Brooklyn market. I would stay there again at that price.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The service at this hotel is outstanding and unsurpassed.They will do just about anything or you to make sure you are comfortable and well taken care of. Ashley, the Guest Services manager, is totally totally committed to making sure your visit is incredible. Highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Recently stayed here with my kids and would definitely return. The staff is friendly and helpful; ask them anything and they'll print you a map and subway directions. Got lots of good tips from locals on the best ways to see things; the folks here really made an impression. Our room was clean w/ comfortable beds, good A/C and flat screen smart TV. Best free breakfast I've had in a hotel. Easy subway access with both local and express trains; the neighborhood isn't fancy but we felt safe and walked with kids to the subway both day and night. Local food is really good - Benveneto's and Big John's - walking distance and they deliver. This is Brooklyn so space is at a premium and the rooms aren't large but it beats Manhattan prices when travelling as a family. Exceeded expectations, would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three days while we were in town for a wedding. Bottom line: we might come back. It isn't a cheap option, but it is decent value. It is not a top tier hotel. If not for the at-least-one-issue-per-day, I would have given it four stars and been very satisfied.

Starting with the positives: the hotel is conveniently located a very short walk from the 36th st/4th ave (D/N/R lines) subway station. A quick and easy subway ride into Manhattan. Having transit info on the website would be helpful. The neighborhood isn't great but is safe enough. It is working class gritty, not a hotbed of criminal activity.

The staff is mostly young and friendly (more on this later...). On my way up to the room, I asked that an iron & board be delivered to my room. A man named Santiago got it there faster than I could get upstairs.

The room was nice and clean but typically small. The beds are very comfortable. The showers are spacious and have rain shower heads. I like my showers under pressure, but that's a personal preference. The AC was actually too powerful. Also a nice touch: the minibar/room service pricing - with the exception of the fancy 'made in Brooklyn by authentic hipsters' crackers, the prices are reasonable even with a $4 room service charge. The downside: it took over an hour to get a sandwich and grilled chicken. Oddly, both dinners came with BOTH fries (cold and soggy) and salad (warm and soggy). At $28 plus tip, I've had better and less expensive meals in NYC.

Breakfast is generous - instead of the usual continental garbage, you can get one hot item and an array of cold options (bagels, granola, cereal, fruit, etc.) for breakfast. The french toast, sausage, and bacon was good, as were all of the cold items. The omelets however are disgusting. The eggs seem to be either pre-made in molds or are microwaved Eggbeaters. They are spongy and perfectly round. The Western omelet had some sort of filling in it which smelled very odd. It did not appear to be freshly diced ham, onions & peppers. If I am the food and beverage guy, I either cook eggs to order or 86 them entirely.

The biggest issue we had was with staff training. Although friendly, many didn't know what they were doing. The front desk staff was very good. Danielle, the breakfast server was excellent: orders went in, food came out and she handled the six or seven tables with ease by herself. The remainder of the staff was eager but incompetent. Breakfast on day two took 75 minutes. There were 4 staff members for ~15 guests. The coffeepots were empty the whole time. Tables weren't cleared, orders weren't being taken. There was a whole lot of running around and nothing getting done. There was clearly nobody in charge.

Housekeeping was similar: aside from check in day, there was an issue with towels each day. The first day, we only had one towel, no wash or face cloths. A call to the front desk resolved the issue. The second day, we had NO towels at all. A call to the front desk got us two towels again, no cloths.

The hotel's amenities are good and with training/leadership, the staff could be good. I don't know that I would rush back, but I've had worse stays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel BPM - Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BPM - Brooklyn

Address: 139 33rd Street, Brooklyn, NY 11232
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel BPM - Brooklyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where music meets hospitality; Hotel BPM (inspired by the music term "beats per minute", referring to the pace count of a song), is about redefining the travel experience to a new generation of travelers, this lifestyle brand, focused around music entertainment culture, offers it's clientele a modern minimalist feel with upgraded amenities & aspects of music lifestyle mixed in such as 40" LED HD TVs w/ HD Channels, Keurig Coffee Makers, Mini Bars, and Free Wifi; creating an experience perfect for any traveler seeking more then the everyday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel BPM - Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel BPM - Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.