We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benchmark Restaurant

Benchmark Restaurant
339 2nd Street, @ Fifth Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11215
718 965 7040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Benchmark Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #578 of 4,411 restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th ave.
Transit: Take R to Union Street or F to 4th Avenue/9th Street.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The menu is original and interesting. Really wide variety satisfied the veg and carnivores among us. We had the pre-fixe menu which was amazingly reasonable. The cocktails are also excellent and worth trying. The entire staff was attentive and cheerful even though they were swamped.
One word of warning, most of their seating is outside so rainy days where you can't sit outside make the wait long. I would stick to sunny days :-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    13
    12
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jewel discovered in Brooklyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was visiting Brooklyn on business and my colleague and I started walking around the neighborhood on Fifth Avenue in Brooklyn and happened across a charming indoor/outdoor restaurant. What a find did we stumble upon. The menu was creative and made me curious to try as much as possible, but I settled on the fois gras appetizer and another appetizer of three different preparations of short ribs. Both was excellent and satisfied my appeitite. It has been over ten years since I have had such a remarkable dining experience. The service, the ambiance, and especially the flavors I savored were outstanding. It was a Monday night and they had 50% of any bottle of wine. What a deal! I was so impressed, I had to tell the chef first hand how much I enjoyed his cuisine. Coming from San Francisco, I'm surrounded by great restaurants, but Benchmark zoomed up to the top of my charts. Can't wait to go to Brooklyn again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely setting for a restaurant with interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

When I first saw the building that houses the restaurnat, I felt I could have been in a small town, or pehaps europe.......but not in the heart of Park Slope. This former ice house has delicious food, great wine and excellent service

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This restaurant offers free desert to members of the Brooklyn Museum and BAM. I'm so glad I visited Benchmark as it is now one of my favorites. Had a wonderful lunch and look forward to being seated at their outdoor seating area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Just had a lovely brunch at Benchmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I've been her a couple of times for lunch/dinner and enjoyed those meals very much. Just had brunch for the first time and I think it will be our new go-to place on lazy Sunday mornings. There are few outdoor dining areas this pretty and spacious in brownstone Brooklyn. As a result, there were a lot of families with young babies, but no one seemed to mind; everyone has their own space. I had the bagel with salmon and a small salad. Very high quality salmon; extremely good, although I don't think I'll need to eat smoked salmon for the next few days. Others at our table had chocolate chip pancakes (good but a tad underdone) and eggs benefit (good but not the perfect Hollandaise, which in any case is really hard to find anywhere). The bellinis and bloody marys were good and pretty strong! All in all a nice way to spend the morning. Oh, and no reservations are taken for brunch, so arrive before noon unless you want to wait!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benchmark Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Benchmark Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benchmark Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.