We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels to your Saves list
McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 N 12th St, Brooklyn, NY 11249 (Formerly King & Grove Williamsburg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast On Us
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I went for a few drinks and had some great libations thanks to TinTin (bartender) who was very attentive and creative, also some great laughs with host Johnny who took us to the lounge and was so kind to book us a room, definitely will recommend this little gem to friends.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I will certainly commend Tin Tin and Johnny on a job well done. We look forward to your future stays with us.

All the best,
Alistair MacLean
General Manager
alistair.maclean@chelseahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    70
    35
    24
    14
See reviews for
47
102
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked a room at the McCarren New Year's day after working a very long shift. Johnny took very good care of me and made sure everything was all set for when I arrived!

I was greeted by a very friendly staff that made the check in process quick and easy. The beds are extremely comfortable so I slept like a baby! I ordered room service in the morning from The Elm which arrived very quickly (get the breakfast potatoes!). A BIG plus for me is that check out is at 12pm! It's a beautiful hotel with very unique touches. I'm excited to go back in the summer and enjoy the pool!

If you want to stay in Brooklyn, I highly recommend staying at the McCarren!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for the excellent review and recommendation. I am thrilled to hear about your flawless experience and I look forward to extending a warm welcome during our pool season. Keep checking our page for an official opening date and to purchase passes.

All the best,
Alistair MacLean
General Manager
alistair.maclean@chelseahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If I get too maudlin here on this post people will think I'm pulling their chain but the fact is the staff there really made a positive impression. Being greeted by staff isn't something I take for granted and it may not always seem like a big deal but it is. I worked for a NY restaurant group for a few years and hospitality is a bona fide premium (besides that, I'm from New Orleans but I digress..) that does not come without a concerted effort by the people providing. On top of the relaxing vibe there, Alberto sent me my coat that I had left in the room after departure that the cleaning staff had found. Lucky me. Thanks, McCarren. See you soon and let me know if I can bring you down anything from Vermont the next time I visit.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The level of service and hospitality our staff provides is what helps us stand out from our competition. Alberto is our Assistant Front Office Manager and is a key player on the team. I will surely commend him on a job well done. I look forward to your return.

All the best,
Alistair MacLean
General Manager
alistair.maclean@chelseahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Several members of our family stayed at the McCarren for a wedding weekend and we had a blast. Fun vibe throughout and excellent service. Especially enjoyed checking in with Jessica & Ralphy! Hope to return some day in the summer to enjoy pool scene.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience. Jessica and Ralphy are a key part of the team and I will surely commend them on a job well done. Our pool season starts in late May, keep checking our page for more information. I look forward to your return.

All the best,
Alistair MacLean
General Manager
alistair.maclean@chelseahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the McCarren this past weekend to celebrate my birthday. The staff could not have been more attentive. Toni at check in was very friendly and Johnny was fantastic! He went out of his way to make sure I had a great experience. The suite I had was spectacular, wish I could have spent more nights there. Thanks to Toni's suggestion, had a great lunch at Sweet Chick, check it out when you stay here. Look forward to visiting the pool scene in the summer!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank your for taking the time to share your great birthday experience. I will surely commend Toni and Johnny on a job well done. I look forward to extending a warm welcome in May when our pool season starts.

All the best,
Alistair MacLean
General Manager
alistair.maclean@chelseahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As said by other reviewers, the staff is exceptionally friendly and efficient, for the most part. The rooms are nice, with good linens and pillows. We had a room with a balcony which was nice to step out onto because the room is quite packed with furniture. I love the decor in the lobby and really look forward to returning so we can check out the outdoor area in the nicer weather. Great location.
The only issue we had is that we came back to the hotel one night with two other couples and sat at the downstairs bar thinking we would have a drink. A couple of employees were very close by, at the check-in desk and didn't acknowledge us or offer any service so we went around the corner for drinks. It was weird.
They offer a nice complimentary breakfast but the breakfast from the menu is quite pricey.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience at our lobby bar fell short of the standards we set. I will certainly be addressing this with the team. I am glad to hear that this did not spoil your entire experience and I hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we can deliver a flawless McCarren Hotel & Pool experience.

All the best,
Alistair MacLean
General Manager
alistair.maclean@chelseahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in by a young guy at the front desk who did and excellent job of explaining the hotel and the surrounding area. We asked him about things to do and he reeled off places to go and things to do with great enthusiasm. We got in the elevator and met one of the maintainable guys. He introduced himself and genuinely said to have a great stay

Clean and modern, Nice sized rooms, large bathroom and shower. Huge bed! Tons of pillows.

Great hotel, Highly recommend.

PS, you gotta go to Sweet Chick for the fried Chicken a few blocks away. So trendy I'm surprised they let me in :-)

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, General Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience and recommending us. Our goal is to create a warm and welcoming environment for everyone from start to finish. I will surely commend the team for contributing to your excellent experience.

All the best,
Alistair MacLean
General Manager
alistair.maclean@chelseahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels

Address: 160 N 12th St, Brooklyn, NY 11249 (Formerly King & Grove Williamsburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Brooklyn's most vibrant neighborhood, McCarren Hotel & Pool is an exciting urban retreat. With 64 modern rooms, an ideal location overlooking McCarren Park and luxury amenities that include a rooftop bar with breathtaking views of Manhattan and one of New York City's largest outdoor swimming pools, McCarren Hotel & Pool is the first full-service lifestyle hotel in this thriving neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.