We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, boutique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels to your Saves list
McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 N 12th St, Brooklyn, NY 11249 (Formerly King & Grove Williamsburg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast On Us
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“beautiful, boutique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night (we got married in Brooklyn) and we loved the modern, whimsical and clean look of this place. They have a really cute restaurant downstairs and a huge pool area out back. It was much too cold to swim but it's all beautifully set up. The staff were friendly and they offer Malin + Goetz toiletries, a wonderful little bonus. They really did 'boutique hotel' right. A bit pricey but it is a nice, cute hotel for a special occasion! Ideal for couples as the standard rooms run quite small.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King and Grove W, Front Office Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Congratulations on your Marriage. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back before your next anniversary to enjoy the Pool, Roof Deck and our restaurant The Elm (opening early Summer).

Again, Congratulations on your Wedding, we hope to see you soon.

Best,
JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    69
    35
    24
    14
See reviews for
46
94
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a well located and hip place but so incredibly overpriced that it is almost beyond belief. For half the price I paid it would still have been expensive. The "complimentary breakfast" consisted of some hard boiled eggs and overripe bananas and some granola. Yes, they give you a nice bathrobe and the wifi is free. And yes, the shower is pleasant and they play 8 1/2 on about six screens in the hip lobby. But it is NOT worth the price. Stay at the Hotel Le Jolie for a third of the price instead. A lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King and Grove W, Front Office Manager at McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Joni-Herkimer,

I apologize for taking so long to reply to your review. We appreciate all of our guests input but with all the great things happening at King and Grove Williamsburg, this summer has been especially busy.

I have researched your reservation and it seems like you came on a particualry busy weekend and our rates were a bit higher than usual. Although, we do have competitive rates with any comparable hotels in NYC, I assure you during that time our rates were similar to any fine hotels in the area. We have a fantastic restaurant, The Elm, that has been getting rave reviews. Our pool is one of the most popular destinations in Williamsburg and our roof top offer some of the most stunning views in Brooklyn. I do apologize if you were unable to take advantage of these amenities during the off-season

We would love to have you come back. Please feel free to contact me directly and I can assure you will not be disappointed with your stay.

Kind Regards,

JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A great hotel with wonderful, friendly staff. It is right across from a big park and also a dog park. It is in a good location, close to restaurants and cute shops. We have stayed here twice and been delighted both times.

Room Tip: Stay on the park side. It is fun to watch the soccer and softball games.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Arrived way before check-in to find that the room was ready, which was a relief after a flight from London.

I had booked a deluxe King with Balcony, and it was more than spacious enough. The bed was big enough to get lost in, comfortable but the linens left something to be desired, as it was sheets and a duvet in between, not ideal or modern IMO. Could be a higher thread count too for a luxury hotel.

The shower didn't seem to drain right, but actually, it didn't flood the bathroom, so the design is correct. The light switch at the entrance to the room was hanging off, as if it was broken, but did work, something easily solved, and a room that shouldn't have a guest in, if it needs to be fixed.

The room was clean, bathroom spotless, and the balcony useful for a breath of fresh air in the morning. Shame the weather wasn't warmer when I was there.

Overall, I would stay here again, the little niggles are just that, friendly staff, and plenty of greetings as I was entering/leaving the lobby area. Complimentary Coffee in the morning is always good.

Williamsburg is a great location, you're only a short walk from the L train, and the bus up to Greenpoint is right on Bedford Ave outside the hotel. Loads of food, bars, and convenience stores are within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A wonderful staff and an extremely clean room. What more could I ask for? Ah yes, a great rate...I got that too. Looking forward to staying here during the hot muggy summer so I can enjoy the pool. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby and the subway station is nearby. Their restaurant wasn't opened yet during my stay but guessing it should be soon. In the meantime, they offer a free continental breakfast.

Room Tip: For families they have adjoining rooms with a main exterior door to the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lovely modern hotel with pool, roof deck and restaurant, all of which were unavailable for our stay. Pool and roof deck not surprising given the weather and would defintely return for a summer trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Right off Bedford avenue where all the shops and restaurants are.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a junior suite in mid-February. Nice location - close to restauraunts, park across the street and public transportation. Very clean, modern rooms. Quiet!!!!!. Continential breakfast in lobby area. This hotel had a very European feel to it. Only surprise - no washclothes in bathroom. Other than that, highly recommended!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels

Address: 160 N 12th St, Brooklyn, NY 11249 (Formerly King & Grove Williamsburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Brooklyn's most vibrant neighborhood, McCarren Hotel & Pool is an exciting urban retreat. With 64 modern rooms, an ideal location overlooking McCarren Park and luxury amenities that include a rooftop bar with breathtaking views of Manhattan and one of New York City's largest outdoor swimming pools, McCarren Hotel & Pool is the first full-service lifestyle hotel in this thriving neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCarren Hotel & Pool, Chelsea Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.