We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambiance in the heart of Brooklyn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pointe Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pointe Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Pointe Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worthington, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good ambiance in the heart of Brooklyn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

very comfortable, clean, well run hotel. we enjoyed the included breakfast, as well as the interesting neighborhood. Quick access to all of Brooklyn, affordable and secure parking for our car. Good value,highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    204
    50
    15
    24
See reviews for
191
116
37
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel was just perfect! The room was really nice and spacious, the bath was the deepest one I've ever had in a hotel and the beds were so comfortable - I almost wished we'd stayed in the room for longer each day!
Our visit was for sight-seeing so we were barely in the hotel, there was no way that we were going to pay for an over-priced hotel in Manhattan so after looking at loads of hotels I settled on this one and so happy we did!
Staff were very friendly and gave us various maps and directions. The subway is a good 10 minute walk, we came back very late (about 1am-2am) each morning and got a taxi which is $20 (this was because we were always too tired to bother with getting the subway!).
The area of the hotel felt really safe.
Breakfast was a good variety.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted to know that you were pleased with your stay here with us at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We really do take pride in ourselves and our staff of their willingness to go above and beyond for our guests in order to better their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wonderful room , free breakfast & free internet. A similar hotel room is twice the price in Manhattan & 20% more in other areas of Brooklyn.
The neighborhood is not conventional. Check out the Hatzlacha Supermarket around the corner - good takeout (kosher), nice produce & a Spinkles ice cream bar all a large market w/ Yiddish background music! Only kosher product & it's not open on Friday nights & Saturdays)
The staff was very friendly, helpful & went the extra mile in a number of situations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello and thank you for leaving us a review on your recent stay at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in making sure that all of our guests feel comfortable and secure during their time. We hope to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

About 40 percent less than one of the cheapest hotel in manhantan,
Free breakfast (coffee,tea,orange juice,apple juice,fruits,bagel,bread,choice of cereals pastries etc
Free Internet, free shuttle to times square (remember to book it, and not on saturdays this is their sabbath,)friendly helpful willing to please front desk staff.safe to walk to subway 8 minutes.
Hasidic Jews in neighborhood not friendly, no surrounding night life, no restaurants,neighborhood not kept clean but safe to walk at nights

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello and thank you for leaving us a review on your recent stay at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in making sure that all of our guests feel comfortable and secure during their time. We hope to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire uk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I picked this hotel in Brooklyn after realising that hotels in Manhattan are very expensive and not that good. To be fair, everything that is said about this hotel on Tripadvisor is pretty much spot on.. it is a clean hotel that offers very good service in an area of Brooklyn that is predominantly Jewish.... if you want a good base for exploring New York, that is clean, with spacious rooms, around 7 min walk to the G line subway ( with further 35 min or so journey into central NY) then you wont go wrong with the Pointe Plaza. Staff were helpful and friendly, included breakfast was more than adequate, extras such as coffee in the lobby and free internet was a bonus, as was the complimentary shuttle every morning into Times Square. Overall, had a very good stay here, and would certainly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Breakfast is served in a room on the 5th floor, from 6 am onwards, so possibly best to avoid this fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, General Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take much pride in making sure that all of our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay. We hope to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've seen many comments talking about the jewish neighborhood before booking Pointe Plaza, but personnaly I've never felt bad about them. What I remind from my stay is how lovely the personnel is, upgrading me because of my troubles with my Greyhound bus cancelled and my late arrival (thanks US Customs), welcoming me by giving me NY and metro' maps, explaining how to reach Manhattan North and South the quickest way, and always providing good advice. I've never be welcomed so warmly.
By the way : don't stand in front of the hotel to wait for a cab, ask receprionist to call a limo, it's quicker and cheaper than those crazy yellow cabs you can find in Brooklyn...
Definitely the place I'll stay for my next trip to NY City...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, Front Office Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for such a detailed and positive feedback on your recent stay at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in ourselves to make every guest feel comfortable and at ease during their stay as well as keeping the hotel spic and span the same as if it were at your home. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we wish to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgå
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed there, my husband and I, at the end of our honeymoon from 21-26th of Sept. We arrived late night and felt dreadful after queuing at the "#%=)# passport check at JFK for 2,5h. We were greeted by a friendly female receptionist who were quick in her actions and suprisingly upgraded us from a regular room to a suite with separate bedroom and large kitchenette with dining table and sofa. This was very welcomed and meant A LOT for us honeymooners! We found the immediate hotel surrounding clean and the insterioe of the hotel had very nicely schemed colouring with clean surfaces and modern interior. It was peaceful for the eye. I always likes shades of brown and gold! =) Our room was a big suite with high ceiling which was a positive extra touch. We liked the furniture and the overall room quality. The fridge and micro was very useful to us as we ordered in quite a few times. The recpetion was eager to assist with ofood ordering options. The hotel was quite far from the closest subway and it was only after halfway through our stay that we were told about the bus that takes you from right behind the corner on Flushing street to the best shopping area in Brooklyn! The bus stopped on Jay street just one block from the subway to Manhattan! Busing from the hotel to Jay street and taking the subway from Jay street to Manhattan became the best option for us to move around. I mean there was always enough energy to walk TO the subway in the mornings but just the thought of having to walk back from the subway to the hotel after 8 hours of walking around Manhattan was not tempting. The area in itself was very quiet and peaceful with the majority being religious people's homes. The computers in the business center were very slow and one could hear doors closing 24/7. The doors close extremely loud and I would suggest you put some hydraulics on each door to make them close slower. Not with a BANG. In the bathroom we missed a shelf or two for our necessities and the beds were too short for us. We are both around 172 cm and our feet peeked over the edge of the bed. The beds were also way too soft for our backs. We found it strange that the shuttle van would take us to Manhattan but not back in the afternoon or evening.... The room TV had good channels but the image was of poor quality. You need to ask for utencils and kitchen necessicites from the front desk! The room maid must have been distracted because every second day our bed covers would be upside down and every second correct. The day cover and decoration pillow would also be on the bed every second day but every second day they were left on the armchair we put them on when going to bed every night. All the other staff were also very friendly and helped us with whatever question we had. We were lucky to experience Brooklyn, the hip area of Williamsburg and the interesting Hasidic Jews as we would not have experienced any of those, had we stayed at Manhattan. Don't hesitate to get to know the centre of shopping in Brooklyn! We felt safe whenever we would be there shopping and made great bargains there!

Room Tip: We stayed at room 401 which faced the inner yard. The view was only to Franklin avenue and our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica K, General Manager at Pointe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay at the Pointe Plaza Hotel. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We were very happy to upgrade you to a better room fit for "honeymooners" . We take pride in ourselves to make every guest feel comfortable and at ease during their stay. We really do try to accommodation all of our guests as best we can. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we wish to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pointe Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Franklin Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11249
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pointe Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York hotel is located in Brooklyn NY, just minutes away from Manhattan. We are only 3.5 Miles from downtown Manhattan, 2 miles from Brooklyn Public Library, 7 miles from LGA airport, and 9 miles from Yankee Stadium. We feature Wi-Fi internet throughout the entire hotel. Some of the amenities include spacious rooms with high ceilings, operable windows, and some guestrooms include kitchenettes. We also feature flat-screen TVs in most rooms as well as a seating area and a desk. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay. Flushing Avenue Metro Station is a short 10 minute walk from the property. The Pointe Plaza Hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to Nearby Subway/Train Station in Morning Hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pointe Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointe Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.