We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Blown Away by Their GREAT Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traif

Traif
229 S 4th St, (between Havemeyer St & Roebling St), Brooklyn, NY
347.844.9578
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 4,108 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Completely Blown Away by Their GREAT Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The food is delicious and the cocktails are inventive, but what blew me away was the staff at Traif. Before ordering our food I told the waitress I had an allergy to dairy, and not only did she make sure each plate was specially made for me, the food runner then made a point to place the plates down each time with the dairy-free portion towards me. I have had this allergy my whole life and this is the first time I have EVER experienced such amazing attention to detail.

I'm already planning my next dinner at Traif and can't wait to spread the word about this amazing restaurant!

(Make sure to order the mussels - YUM!)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    18
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was in the top 3 dining experiences I've had in New York City - the food was delightful / creative; the ambiance fun / hip; the service was fantastic! We went in a group of six - some out of towners and some New Yorkers - and Traif was just the right balance of adventurous food for everyone. We did the chef's selection menu which was super fun and not pricey at all! Menu must haves: lamb tongue, key lime pie, bacon donuts, tuna tare tare on eggplant. The menu changes seasonally so we'll definitely be going back for round two this summer!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small, innovative plates that are big on flavor and easy on your wallet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Many restaurants these days are combining flavors in new and interesting ways, but many restaurants are getting it wrong. Sure, the separate ingredients may be good individually, but they sum is not always greater than the parts. Not true in the case of Traif. By using simple (yet in many cases exotic) ingredients prepared in thoughtful ways, Traif creates dishes that are innovative yet soulful.

This place can get pretty busy, especially on a weekend. That being said, I've never had to make a reservation--mainly because I don't mind killing time enjoying a beverage at the bar (or at a neighboring bar, and there are many in the neighborhood--try Dram or Post Office).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent pork & cocktails in Williamsburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was back in NYC for the weekend and staying w/ a friend in Williamsburg, and she said I had to go to Traif. Due to scheduling issues, I ventured out for a solo dinner on a Saturday night around 9:30pm. The place wasn't overly crowded, and I easily got a spot at the bar.

I saw the gentleman next to me eating some ribs, so I knew I was definitely getting those. And because this place is known for pork, I was getting another pork dish. As soon as I saw crispy pork belly, I immediately knew. (Just so you know, it's a tapas place, so I wasn't ordering two entrees for myself.)

The ribs were actually pretty plentiful. I'd say this was the lesser of the two dishes, though still good. The size of the portion was great. The pork belly was the clear winner. Part of me wishes I ordered three of the pork belly dishes instead, but I love variety.

While I ate dinner, I had one of their signature cocktails, called The Last Word. According to the barman, The Last Word is a classic cocktail from the days of yore. It was amazing. This alone would be worth a trip to Traif.

I did manage to fit in dessert. It was a warm pistachio cake w/ arugula ice cream & blackberries. Pretty interesting & good, but not the greatest.

I highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Gastronomic Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This superb restaurant, nestled in Williamsburg, Brooklyn is definitely worth the trip. Enjoy the innovative selections, wonderful pairing of savory and sweet dishes. Small plates allow experimenting and sharing. The food is just delicious and the service is excellent. Try week nights rather than weekends - less crowded. Make a reservation and enjoy!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traif also viewed

 

Been to Traif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traif, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.