We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore Brooklyn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Condor Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Condor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Condor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Franklin Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF At CondorNY.com!!
Ranked #1 of 51 hotels in Brooklyn
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Brooklyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Condor Hotel's staff were always warm, welcoming, intuitive and helpful. Our 'Plush' Room was very comfortable, great to have a fridge, sink and microwave to store and reheat doggie bags from all the great restaurants nearby. Balcony and fresh air through open door was really appreciated. The free continental breakfast in the ballroom was substantial and a great start to the day. The rooms was immaculately clean, spacious bathroom, and good lighting.
The location is commercial/residential. A supermarket is around the corner, a bodega for beer down the other way. Three blocks to subway for around Brooklyn or into Manhattan, or down to restaurants on Myrtle St. About 10 blocks, easy walk to Williamsburg. All of Brooklyn is very accessible.
.

Room Tip: lowe fllor balconys onto a brick wall, it's a really interesting wall deploying patterns in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you theheadland for your in-depth review. We're glad you had a great stay and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    449
    129
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
166
114
56
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in early October and the experience was wonderful. Great hotel room, with really good quality furnishings. Two single beds that were a good size and PLUSH, a little kitchenette, beautiful ornate bathroom and the beds. Absolutely no noise from outside (my big deal), fantastic service with help from the front desk all the way through. The location is a bit of a way from the bus or subway, but it's not that much of a walk and the neighbourhood is safe after hours... a fascinating Hasidic neighbourhood. And the price was amazing, less than 200 a night for a lavish room with breakfast... to get anything like it in New York City would have been more than twice the price even on a deal. Free internet, good tellie and breakfast was included (great brekkie options including waffles).

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, but honestly I bet they all are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you Sandy for your glowing review! It means so much to us, especially coming from a Top Contributor like yourself. We're glad you had a lovely stay and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were unable to live in our home due to damage and power outages from Hurricane Sandy. There were no hotel rooms to be found in New York City. Motanou, a staff member at the Condor Hotel, heard of our plight and found a room for us. This hotel became our oasis...comfortable beds, quiet, free breakfast, kitchenette...everything was spotless. Motanou, Andrew, John and Anthony were attentive to our every need, and tried their best to keep us in the same room during our seven nights there. The Condor Hotel and their wonderful staff will always be one of our few happy memories from our Hurricane Sandy ordeal. Thank you for taking such good care of us.

Room Tip: We were in several rooms and they were all quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you HB158 for taking the time to write. We appreciate all feedback but especially feedback from a senior reviewer such as yourself. We're glad we could host you during this difficult time and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I ended up staying in this hotel out of desparation, when everything else more centrally located was booked. What a surprise!!!!

The hotel is located in a semi-industrial site near the old Brooklyn Naval Shipyard. I didn't have a chance to check out the neighborhood, so I don't know what restaurants or other attractions are in the area.

The hotel is 1/2 block south of the B57 bus stop on the corner of Franklin and Flushing. In addition there are a number of other bus lines nearby, so you are very well connected if you are comfortable using NY's mass transit system. The bus trip to downtown Brooklyn takes about 15 minutes at rush hour.

The hotel itself was awesome. It reminded me of a W hotel. My room had a balcony, along with a small kitchenette with a refrigerator. Note: It didn't have any plates or silverware, so the kitchenette isn't 100% usable. The room was spotless. The entire hotel looked like it had just been built quite recently.

My room included a continental breakfast, that included REAL bagels (not the defrosted frozen variety you can buy at your super market). Most impressive was that this was served on real plates with real silverware.....

All for less than 1/2 the price of staying in a W.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Mike for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stood at the Condor Hotel during hurricane Sandy. Hotel is very neat and clean. My companion and I were attended by Anthony, he was very nice, quick and attentive in his service. I was extremely satisfied with his service, I would love to come visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Kira2203 for taking the time to write and share your feedback. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Antony on the front desk at the Condor Hotel in Williamsburg, Brooklyn was particularly helpful and charming. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you very much.

The hotel has clean good sized comfortable rooms. It is in a good location and the staff all seem to be very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you kat60827 for taking the time to write a review...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had to take quick cover from Hurricane Sandy while on a business trip.
This was the perfect place!
Quit for our needs, yet elegant for our taste.
Would love to go back there on calmer conditions.
The breakfast was very pleasant.
The manager was available at all times for our needs.
I really felt at home.

Room Tip: Try to take a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Eddie. It was a pleasure having you guys here with us. Glad you found us quiet and elegant, as we always aim to be, and look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Condor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condor Hotel

Address: 56 Franklin Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Condor Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Brooklyn's vibrant Williamsburg, The Condor boutique hotel offers 35 beautiful accommodations and the fine additions of a garden, inviting lounge area and excellent meeting and events space. For leisure, business or family visits, your choice of The Condor Hotel will be perfect. Just 20 minutes from Downtown Manhattan, your stay allows a full business day,as well as the chance to experience one of NYC's newest preferred neighborhoods. Guests enjoy our accommodations, all with suite-like kitchenettes and private balconies. We feature signature plush bedding, satellite TV and free calls within the US. Complimentary WiFi offered throughout the building. Free Continental breakfast, served in our dining room, is always included and features waffles, bagels, muffins, juices, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruits and more. Concierge service, local moderate-price parking and Zipcar rental sites close by enhance our features and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Condor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Condor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.