We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Condor Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Condor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Condor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Franklin Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for 20% OFF!!
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Brooklyn
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were unable to live in our home due to damage and power outages from Hurricane Sandy. There were no hotel rooms to be found in New York City. Motanou, a staff member at the Condor Hotel, heard of our plight and found a room for us. This hotel became our oasis...comfortable beds, quiet, free breakfast, kitchenette...everything was spotless. Motanou, Andrew, John and Anthony were attentive to our every need, and tried their best to keep us in the same room during our seven nights there. The Condor Hotel and their wonderful staff will always be one of our few happy memories from our Hurricane Sandy ordeal. Thank you for taking such good care of us.

Room Tip: We were in several rooms and they were all quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you HB158 for taking the time to write. We appreciate all feedback but especially feedback from a senior reviewer such as yourself. We're glad we could host you during this difficult time and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    115
    30
    7
    8
See reviews for
129
99
47
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I ended up staying in this hotel out of desparation, when everything else more centrally located was booked. What a surprise!!!!

The hotel is located in a semi-industrial site near the old Brooklyn Naval Shipyard. I didn't have a chance to check out the neighborhood, so I don't know what restaurants or other attractions are in the area.

The hotel is 1/2 block south of the B57 bus stop on the corner of Franklin and Flushing. In addition there are a number of other bus lines nearby, so you are very well connected if you are comfortable using NY's mass transit system. The bus trip to downtown Brooklyn takes about 15 minutes at rush hour.

The hotel itself was awesome. It reminded me of a W hotel. My room had a balcony, along with a small kitchenette with a refrigerator. Note: It didn't have any plates or silverware, so the kitchenette isn't 100% usable. The room was spotless. The entire hotel looked like it had just been built quite recently.

My room included a continental breakfast, that included REAL bagels (not the defrosted frozen variety you can buy at your super market). Most impressive was that this was served on real plates with real silverware.....

All for less than 1/2 the price of staying in a W.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Mike for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stood at the Condor Hotel during hurricane Sandy. Hotel is very neat and clean. My companion and I were attended by Anthony, he was very nice, quick and attentive in his service. I was extremely satisfied with his service, I would love to come visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Kira2203 for taking the time to write and share your feedback. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Antony on the front desk at the Condor Hotel in Williamsburg, Brooklyn was particularly helpful and charming. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you very much.

The hotel has clean good sized comfortable rooms. It is in a good location and the staff all seem to be very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you kat60827 for taking the time to write a review...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had to take quick cover from Hurricane Sandy while on a business trip.
This was the perfect place!
Quit for our needs, yet elegant for our taste.
Would love to go back there on calmer conditions.
The breakfast was very pleasant.
The manager was available at all times for our needs.
I really felt at home.

Room Tip: Try to take a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Eddie. It was a pleasure having you guys here with us. Glad you found us quiet and elegant, as we always aim to be, and look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We really researched where to hold our wedding. After much deliberation we chose the Coondor Hotel. I checked the reviews and chose it. What a great choice. The hotel is amazing with its decor, size of rooms, services and staff. The neighbourhood is rich with its Hassidic jewish residents - a real plus for us. The only drawback is 5 block walk to the subway. The bus is fantastic though. Hurricane Sandy was a real issue for us and changed our sightseeing but the hotel made it all worthwhile. The wedding portion was excellent too. I cannot say enough about Mordy's front desk team - Mo, Andrew, Anthony. Meir of the wedding did a great job too. Mo actually came in on her day off to help with the wedding. thanks so much!

Room Tip: Room 505 has a view of manhattens tallest buildings. Room 504 is a one bedroom suite which is incred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Sarah for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. You and your family were a pleasure to have during the storm. You helped keep our spirits up with your Halloween costumes and general good cheer. We hope to see all of you again! -Mordy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I really loved staying at this hotel for a few days. After Hurricane Sandy made landfall lower Manhattan lost power and water but being at the Condor hotel I felt right at home. The rooms are pleasant, clean, and spacious. The area (Location) doesn't fit how nice the hotel is but still a nice place to stay. There are stores in walking distance if you need anything so overall its a nice place to be. If anyone is planning on staying here asks for Mo and Anthony, they'll make you feel at home and assist you in anyway they could. Great Staff!!! Thank you Mo & Anthony.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you White_s1988 for taking the time to write. We're glad you found our rooms pleasant, clean, and spacious and we appreciate your feedback about the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Condor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condor Hotel

Address: 56 Franklin Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Condor Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Brooklyn's vibrant Williamsburg, The Condor boutique hotel offers 35 beautiful accommodations and the fine additions of a garden, inviting lounge area and excellent meeting and events space. For leisure, business or family visits, your choice of The Condor Hotel will be perfect. Just 20 minutes from Downtown Manhattan, your stay allows a full business day,as well as the chance to experience one of NYC's newest preferred neighborhoods. Guests enjoy our accommodations, all with suite-like kitchenettes and private balconies. We feature signature plush bedding, satellite TV and free calls within the US. Complimentary WiFi offered throughout the building. Free Continental breakfast, served in our dining room, is always included and features waffles, bagels, muffins, juices, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruits and more. Concierge service, local moderate-price parking and Zipcar rental sites close by enhance our features and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Condor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Condor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.