We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing hotel with the most amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Condor Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Condor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Condor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Franklin Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF At CondorNY.com!!
Ranked #1 of 50 hotels in Brooklyn
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The most amazing hotel with the most amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We really researched where to hold our wedding. After much deliberation we chose the Coondor Hotel. I checked the reviews and chose it. What a great choice. The hotel is amazing with its decor, size of rooms, services and staff. The neighbourhood is rich with its Hassidic jewish residents - a real plus for us. The only drawback is 5 block walk to the subway. The bus is fantastic though. Hurricane Sandy was a real issue for us and changed our sightseeing but the hotel made it all worthwhile. The wedding portion was excellent too. I cannot say enough about Mordy's front desk team - Mo, Andrew, Anthony. Meir of the wedding did a great job too. Mo actually came in on her day off to help with the wedding. thanks so much!

Room Tip: Room 505 has a view of manhattens tallest buildings. Room 504 is a one bedroom suite which is incred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Sarah for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. You and your family were a pleasure to have during the storm. You helped keep our spirits up with your Halloween costumes and general good cheer. We hope to see all of you again! -Mordy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    134
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
157
112
53
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I really loved staying at this hotel for a few days. After Hurricane Sandy made landfall lower Manhattan lost power and water but being at the Condor hotel I felt right at home. The rooms are pleasant, clean, and spacious. The area (Location) doesn't fit how nice the hotel is but still a nice place to stay. There are stores in walking distance if you need anything so overall its a nice place to be. If anyone is planning on staying here asks for Mo and Anthony, they'll make you feel at home and assist you in anyway they could. Great Staff!!! Thank you Mo & Anthony.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you White_s1988 for taking the time to write. We're glad you found our rooms pleasant, clean, and spacious and we appreciate your feedback about the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a really lovely hotel in quite an unusual location. There's a number of reviews that state that the area is not safe but this is completely untrue, the area is totally safe its just a little run down and a bit industrial. Located right in the middle of a Hacidic Jewish community, I can't deny that the surrounding area may be, on first look, slightly unappealing to the unseasoned visitor but it really is safe and easy to walk around.

The rooms were clean, roomy and comfortable and much better than some more expensive hotels you would find in Manhattan. The beds were a touch short for someone like myself at 6'1 but very comfortable nevertheless and having our own Balcony was nice. Bathroom nicely done also (but could have used a new shower rail!). Digital Safe, flat screen TV and little kitchenette with fridge and microwave all a real plus.

The staff were very friendly and helpful to any requests and they should all be commended for their conduct, I always consider this very important in any hotel on this factor they get 10 outta 10.

5-10 minute walk to nearby NY Subway network and Myrtle Avenue which is a cool little area to get breakfast (there is also a free continental breakfast in the basement of the hotel - we preferred to go elsewhere) and essentials like bottled water and snacks from the local shops. Manhattan really just is a short Subway ride away and The Brooklyn Heights area is walkable if you just keep on heading down Myrtle in the right direction (although a taxi driver thought us mad for walking that far!). Places like the new Barclays Centre only about $10 ride in a taxi and the hotel staff are happy to call a cab for you.

It was nice to stay in Brooklyn for a change and if you have previous experience of NYC then I highly recommend staying at The Condor as its the best hotel I've stayed in whilst visiting New York and you simply wouldn't get the same value for money in Manhattan.

Great Hotel, Lovely People, very happy customers! - Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you rkid001 for taking the time to write. We appreciate the glowing review, especially from a Senior Reviewer like you. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My son and I were in New York to look at colleges, and we stayed at the Condor for 3 nights because it is close to Pratt. We were happy with the location, the hotel, and the service we received. Yes, it's in a neighborhood, with homes and businesses and garbage, just like all neighborhoods. Yes, there are a lot of Orthodox Jews on the streets. And? It's Williamsburg, Brooklyn--what else would you expect? The hotel itself is small and very well kept. The public areas are clean and inviting, the room was spotless, and the elevator was fast and reliable. Our room had a fridge and microwave, but there are so many restos that deliver we didn't want to do any cooking for ourselves. Breakfast is small but decent, and it's free. The subway is a 10-min walk down Flushing--if walking 10 minutes bothers you, you probably shouldn't visit NY! Mo at the front desk was incredibly helpful to us and all the staff were kind. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you TravelMom56 for taking the time to write and share. We are the closest hotel to Pratt Institute so we're glad you found us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Condor hotel during our NYC trip.
The rooms are very nice, clean & big.
Anthony at the front desk helped us out all the time with allmost everything. If there was a problem, advice on sight seeing, even to help buying tickets to the Yankees. Big thanks for that! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you Katrien for your kind words. Looking forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Brooklyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

John, Drew and Mo are brilliant reception staff who really do make this a great place to stay. They all deserve a hotel of their own! However, the hotel website does not give a clear and transparent account of the exact location of this hotel. There is no mention that the hotel is in the Hasidic district of mid-town Brooklyn. Likewise there is no mention that there is no bar at the hotel, or any local bars or restaurants. Having said that, we enjoyed our 7 night stay with much help from the reception staff who were only too pleased to be of assistance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you RenaRen for taking the time to write. Our staff appreciated the mention and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. While we do not have a bar at the hotel there are some great placed like The Brooklyn Taphouse within walking distance. We hope you will take advantage of all our neighborhood has to offer on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you like to walk one kilometer twice a day(at least) to the subway and back and take 2-3 trains to get into town, if you like to walk in a grimy surrounding smelly at times climbing over garbage leftovers, an industrial neighborhood of auto parts and Garages, If you want a place where there are no coffee shops or decent eating places and for your safety you will see at least 3 police man patrolling the area at night. but you will hear screaming in the hallway - This is the place for you.

True, the staff was nice the rooms were clean, but if you put in a microwave and a refrigerator can't you put is some spoons and knifes?

This cost us 300 dollars per night on a Saturday, a little less on the week days. Well I was persuaded by others who said good things about this hotel. (Remember 4.2) now it's up to you to decide

PS the service I got from people at the other end of Hotel.com was offensive, unpleasant and insulting

Room Tip: at least ask for a room with a view Know what you going to get
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you blue_or for taking the time to write, we take all feedback seriously. While we are located 8/10 of a km from the Subway, as you can see from other reviews our neighborhood is definitely not grimy or unsafe by any means. We are located in a mixed use neighborhood that is mostly residential with some commercial businesses as well. Our rates are always significantly lower than comparable hotels in Manhattan making us a great value for Manhattan and Brooklyn visitors alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Condor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condor Hotel

Address: 56 Franklin Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Condor Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Brooklyn's vibrant Williamsburg, The Condor boutique hotel offers 35 beautiful accommodations and the fine additions of a garden, inviting lounge area and excellent meeting and events space. For leisure, business or family visits, your choice of The Condor Hotel will be perfect. Just 20 minutes from Downtown Manhattan, your stay allows a full business day,as well as the chance to experience one of NYC's newest preferred neighborhoods. Guests enjoy our accommodations, all with suite-like kitchenettes and private balconies. We feature signature plush bedding, satellite TV and free calls within the US. Complimentary WiFi offered throughout the building. Free Continental breakfast, served in our dining room, is always included and features waffles, bagels, muffins, juices, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruits and more. Concierge service, local moderate-price parking and Zipcar rental sites close by enhance our features and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Condor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Condor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.