We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously? Is this the same Condor in Brooklyn?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Condor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Condor Hotel to your Saves list
The Condor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Franklin Street, Brooklyn, NY 11205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Seriously? Is this the same Condor in Brooklyn?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

People going crazy for this place on here and I can honestly say, upon site of this place I was horrified. Granted, it's nice inside - if you don't look out of the window. Our 'private balcony' had a beautiful view of a tar roof and a vent. Look out of the other window and enjoy a view of a mountain of used mattresses. Rooms are nicely decorated and breakfast had plenty of choice. Area looks grim and you need a taxi to get to any food or attractions. Staff were pleasant. The photos of the outside are very flattering. Air conditioner in the room sounds like someone firing up a Spitfire so be prepared to be woken very frequently unless you prefer to leave it off and die of heat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you DJUKtour for taking the time to write. We are glad you liked our rooms and breakfast and We appreciate all feedback, positive and not-so-positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    145
    38
    12
    10
See reviews for
185
129
62
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ginowan City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel was convient to an event I had in Williamsburg, however, my stay was so nice that I recommend the Condor Hotel to anyone who will be in the NYC area. The staff always went out of their way to help me and they were so friendly! Hotel's decor was up to date, and my room was clean and comfortable. The price was great, and breakfast was included.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you so much Julia! We appreciate you recommending us and look forward to having you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Staff were helpful, parking across the street with security code easy in and out. Room clean and decent size. Walkable area. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rm 307 has small balcony. 308 and 307 look bigger, would guess that holds true for other floors to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you Jackie for taking the time to write. We look forward to having you again on your next trip to Brooklyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, AZ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Our decision to stay here was because it was close to family we were visiting. The reasons we will return to this hotel again and again are the clean, modern rooms; friendly, accomodating staff; reasonable prices; the continental breakfast with those warm, apple spice muffins made fresh every morning! When you go to NYC, stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you Michael! We are glad your experience was great and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I booked my stay at the Condor based upon reviews I read online. My brother lives in Brooklyn and often tells me of the value of Brooklyn over Manhattan and he wasn't wrong this time. I was thoroughly pleased with my stay here. The staff were extremely helpful and gracious in every regard. I was concerned there was no parking at the hotel, but they have access to a secured lot across the street from the hotel, so parking wasn't an issue. Brooklyn has many wonderful neighborhoods, and the hotel is within walking distance to Green Point and the Pratt Institute neighborhood with many interesting shops and restaurants. It is a short walk to the subways, but fairly direct access to Manhattan, as well. The Condor is a small hotel, but they use every inch of space quite wisely. We were also taken with the small outdoor seating area out back of the hotel. Quite relaxing and refreshing. I wouldn't hesitate to use the Condor again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you Jennifer for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Brooklyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The Condor Hotel is clean, well decorated, small, intimate and with a very helpful staff. The free breakfast was awesome. The Condor is not located on a main drag, but that made it even more quiet and charming. The price is quite reasonable given the high quality of the rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you Anne for taking the time to write and helping us reach the #1 hotel rank in Brooklyn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed at the Condor for 3 nights from April 6-9th & had an awesome stay. The staff there are amazing and do everything and anything to help you out with whatever you need, esp. Johnathan Cohen, who helped us with so much! Even with directions and good spots to check out, calling taxi's for us-he was extremely helpful and went the extra mile to make our stay worth it. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking for a cute & chic place to stay with friends or family. I will definitely return back to this hotel on the next visit to NY.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordy S, General Manager at The Condor Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you PJ for taking the time to share your experience with others. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile to please our guests and are glad we were able to make your stay awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Condor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condor Hotel

Address: 56 Franklin Street, Brooklyn, NY 11205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Condor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Brooklyn's vibrant Williamsburg, The Condor boutique hotel offers 35 beautiful accommodations and the fine additions of a garden, inviting lounge area and excellent meeting and events space. For leisure, business or family visits, your choice of The Condor Hotel will be perfect. Just 20 minutes from Downtown Manhattan, your stay allows a full business day,as well as the chance to experience one of NYC's newest preferred neighborhoods. Guests enjoy our accommodations, all with suite-like kitchenettes and private balconies. We feature signature plush bedding, satellite TV and free calls within the US. Complimentary WiFi offered throughout the building. Free Continental breakfast, served in our dining room, is always included and features waffles, bagels, muffins, juices, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruits and more. Concierge service, local moderate-price parking and Zipcar rental sites close by enhance our features and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Condor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Condor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.