We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night in Brooklyn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   764 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1413   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Night in Brooklyn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

What makes this location very good is that there is an "R" train stop just steps away which makes it easy to get to Barclay's or into the city. It is also only a $8 cab ride to downtown Brooklyn which has a lot going on in terms of shopping and restaurants. The hotel seemed a bit on the newer side and it had parking, not a lot (about 30 spaces) but it has it, if your driving in.The room size was average for NYC, we have stayed in smaller. It had ample space to put your baggage and clothes. The bath room was an adequate size and very clean. Our room was only on second floor and faced the street but never heard any street noise. The crew at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. TIP, it is a tough place to catch a cab, we had the front desk call for one. t took about 20 minutes for the cab to arrive. I would just build that time into your plans. We would surely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Paul D,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write and comment about our property...yes the R train stop right outside our door is a huge plus for us, being able to get anywhere in NYC is just feet away from our entrance.

Taxi's, boy I wish Manhattan would just share the yellow taxi's, there is a huge push by local government to get more Yellow taxi's out more so in all of the other 4 boroughs however until this happens we work with car services that only pick up by appointment.

We do however thank you for your comments and as always try to see how we can improve on any and all comments. We hope that you continue to stay with us in the future and wish safe travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    239
    50
    19
    17
See reviews for
226
168
38
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I went to NYC last weekend and for the first time I stayed in Brooklyn instead Manhattan, and it was a big succes. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and the staff was very helpfull and very Nice. Chiel, great dutch name for a big american, and Janessa where both very nice and helpfull and had all the right answers to our questions. Our comfort was their goal. Also the hotel is right at subway 26st 4th ave, the R & N line which takes you straight into downtown manhattan. For me certainly worth whil going back, thanks to Chiel & Janessa and the Best Western Plus Prospect Park in Brooklyn NY.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Leon H,

Thank you for such the kind comments and the experience you had with our Front Desk.....

They love to help, lend a hand and truly love their job....As mentioned in other posts I have a different approach to customer service, maintain truly hard working and caring staff.

The staff is wonderful, letting them be themselves rather than following a huge set of rules is not in our vocabulary, Guest First is how and what we all go by and I encourage them each and every day to ensure we deliver the best we have to offer...Yes hands down we love our job, after all this is your home away from home so why not feel comfortable as you would at home?

Hope that you continue to stay with us in the future and safe journey's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Staff put a priority on listening to guests and their needs. Great customer service at front desk from Chris, Chiel and Anthony. Some rooms small side, but wifi worked great, there is computer room with printer and free breakfast included. Housekeeping was great staff and keeps rooms well cleaned. Hotel is on the same block as the 26th street subway stop in Brooklyn and there is a big grocery store next door. 26th is not an express subway stop so you have to catch a local at Atlantic Avenue to get there. Overall, a satisfying stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Haidaphoto,

It has been my goal in the last 8 months of my arrival to bring a different sense of guest relations to this hotel and to be honest it is working.

It's a mixture of great people who just care, our approach to guest services is truly putting the guest first. As with most of our guests they have never visited NYC and really want to see everything, this is where the entire staff shines. We take the time to truly listen to our guests and make suggestions and plan each and every day of their stay.

If and when a problem come our way we do pay close attention and listen, then we just fix it and follow up, what any hotel should always do.

It is such a pleasure to see that this philosophy works and most of our guests see the truly and honest efforts each and every day....Thank you, as always we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very satisfied with my stay. The staff were extremely professional and helpful and were able to answer my questions. Everything was clean. Breakfast was good. Conveniently located on the "R" subway line, with the station basically right outside the front door. Area felt safe, with a supermarket right on the corner. A few minor issues with the room--a bit dark, could have used more lamps; and I had to turn the heater up pretty high to maintain a comfortable temperature. But a good stay, good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Peter M,

Very Satisfied, this I love to hear we are glad you took the time to review and comment on us and you stay!

The NYC Subway "R" train right outside our door is the one of the biggest attractions right under our outstanding customer service and location. The staff is great, we have the right people that truly caring about each of our guests, we develop relationships not just your basic customer service.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you continue to choose us in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

One of the most friendly and welcoming hotel staff I have ever met. We arrived on an early flight, and were able to secure our luggage at the hotel until check in time, thank you Chiel! We had encountered a miscommunication in our taxi arrangement, and Jose, desk manager, immediately rectified the situation, well beyond our expectations.
Located on 4th in Brooklyn: easy to get around, subway station just outside door, outstanding neighborhood grocery store within a couple of blocks, fun little restaurants in walking distance.
Room: spacious, very clean, gorgeous view of the 'Slope'. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Top floors have best view of Brooklyn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Gail T,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on our Hotel. As you can see we do take the time to go out of our way to make you feel at home, even if things are out of our control such as the car or taxi service.

It has been my goal to ensure the staff is happy and truly caring, it really shows. We are always so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that when you take your next cruise from Brooklyn you continue to choose us for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Exceeded my expectations, small rooms but excellent for sleeping and working. One elevator was not working during stay and did slow up traffic a bit. Great breakfast for getting started and staff was friendly and helpful. Overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Harold T,

Thanks for choosing us for your business trip and hope that you and your company see the convenience of our hotel.

With the NYC Subway literally outside of our door makes us quite accessible to all 5 boroughs of NYC and great for Business Travelers. Thank you again for your kind comments and as always I wish you safe travels and hope you choose us again on your next trip to Brooklyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during the action of the New York marathon which I didn't realize was happening until we booked in.
Busy place. Breakfast included in room cost. Close to the subway. Well mannered front desk staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Lynda H,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we are quite the busy little hotel, we are also on the NYC Marathon route, actually mile 5 and it passes right in front of the hotel.

This year it was a little different due to the increased security which we work and commend the NYPD they really assisted us with access for our guests throughout the weekend.

We are as always glad you enjoyed your stay and as always hope to see you again on your next visit to Brooklyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel

Address: 764 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built in late 2010, our centrally located 99 room hotel provides perfectly appointed accommodations with sweeping views of the Brooklyn and Manhattan skyline. With On-Site Parking (additional fee) you can park, relax and take advantage of the New York City Subway System literally right outside our door, within minutes you could be anywhere in NYC and surrounding boroughs. Start your day with a complimentary Full American Breakfast and end your day from Manhattan or Business in our Sauna. Come see why the Best Western Plus Prospect Park is the right choice for you, your business and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.