We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay when visiting New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   764 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1413   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay when visiting New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our family of 4 went to New York for the kid's March break. We chose this hotel because the rates were so much more affordable than anything on Manhattan. We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived.

The staff was very helpful and kind. They went out of their way to assist me with any question I had about the city.

The subway is literally steps away from the hotel so it made for very easy access to all of Manhattans hotspots.

As an added bonus, for families who are trying not to blow the budget while in New York, there is a grocery store right beside the hotel, so its possible to brown bag a lunch while in Manhattan, as well as eat assorted prepared dinners (the hotel allowed us to use the microwave in the breakfast room).

If there is a negative about this hotel, it is that, because it is right beside the subway, you can hear subway cars at all hours of the day. All of us slept fairly soundly though, so the noise didn't bother us that much, however, if you're a light sleeper, I suspect you'd find it distracting.

If you're looking to explore New York but don't want to pay $300+ per night for a room, this hotel is a perfect solution.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Let me say Thank you for such wonderful comments. We are glad to hear that you found us a great alternative to Manhattan, this is what our goal is. We hope that you choose us agin in the future. I wish I could stop the train at night however some things we can't control, but still glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    277
    57
    19
    19
See reviews for
275
188
44
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed there for few days for work, doing interviews in their conference room. Found the staff and manager very helpful and efficient. They were very busy at check out and check in times so good to check out/in not at peak hours. There was a guy named, oh I am sorry - I forget, Ditmas, perhaps? He let us in and out of conference room and the guy always had a lovely smile on his face. Really does boost your mood when people are that genuinely helpful and nice. Also, the spa in the basement is probably overlooked but don't miss it. Perfect end to a day. The subway is right outside the hotel and you can be in Manhattan pretty fast. (Only note - there is a great grocery store next door for snack but there's not a Walgreens or Duane Reade for about 10 blocks to make sure you have any toiletries you need)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Odessasteppe,

As always thank you for your comments on our Hotel and Staff. The Staff member was Dima, he is wonderful and very outgoing, as you did see we try hard to go up and beyond with all of our guests. Aslo very happy to see that you did enjoy our Sauna and Steam Showers downstairs, yes it is overlooked sometimes but we try to advise everyone of this luxury at check in. We hope you choose us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed with a large group of young highschoolers and the staff was very helpful in making our stay pleasant. They provided solutions to every problem we had. One staff member, Chiel, in particular, arranged with super friendly neighborhood restaurants to cater to our 47-strong group on very short notice, for a great price. We'll definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Jeanne T,

We are glad to hear that your were provided outstanding customer service during your stay. As always I do share all comments with the staff and encourage them to all go up and beyond. In your case I am so very happy to hear we did just that, we hope to see you again on your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is really fantastic, there are no negative points. It's new, very clean, 1 second from the subway, the breakfast is really good and you get to Manhattan in just over 20 mins. Also there are some nice bars and coffee places near the hotel. Some people have commented that the breakfast room is small (and it is), but that was never an issue.
I also wanna thank the amazing staff of the Hotel, they are super friendly and helpful, especially Clayton and Wilfredo, the best staff ever!! Thanks guys.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Michela T,

These are such kind words in regards to our hotel. Yes we do hear quite a bit about our Breakfast area and do have in fact an overflow room we do set up, however I am so glad that you did not find this be an issue.

I will definately pass along your information to staff and am again so very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the future when you visit New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins Ferry, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have stayed here several times when we come to visit our daughter. This hotel is only a few years old and is very nice. The only "problem" I ever had was not having my room made up one day, but since I got back to the hotel late in the evening and had a clean towel left for the next day, I let it go. It's located right by the R subway line which is very convenient. The people who work here are very nice, the breakfast is good and we will be staying here again in June. The prices have gone up since it opened, but it's still a good price especially when you compare it to the hotels in Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear stitchinglady,

Thank you for your kind words. Your feedback is quite important to us and I was saddened to hear about your room, however I am glad to hear that your were taken care of even though it was not a complete make up.

We will pass along this information to our Housekeeping Department so that we do not miss this again for any of our guests.

Thank you in advance for choosing us and looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Best Western Plus Prospect Park. I cannot fault the location, very central and extremely close to the subway. Only took about 30 minutes to get to Manhanttan so commuting was not a problem. Breakfast was great and rooms were comfortable and most importantly clean! Staff were friendly and efficient, my only complaint was the size of the breakfast room. It is too small but in the realm of things, this is a minor issue. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor- so had great views of New York.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear dannyp2206,

Thank you for the kind comments in regards to our property. In regards to the Breakfast area, we are actually looking into other solutions, however we do open our meeting rooms up to overflow as needed.

As always I will be sharing your comments with the staff and am glad that you will return to stay with us. We are working daily to be the Best in Brooklyn, so on your next visit you'll will see more changes, always for the better.

Regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel

Address: 764 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11232-1413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built in late 2010, our centrally located 99 room hotel provides perfectly appointed accommodations with sweeping views of the Brooklyn and Manhattan skyline. With On-Site Parking (additional fee) you can park, relax and take advantage of the New York City Subway System literally right outside our door, within minutes you could be anywhere in NYC and surrounding boroughs. Start your day with a complimentary Full American Breakfast and end your day from Manhattan or Business in our Sauna. Come see why the Best Western Plus Prospect Park is the right choice for you, your business and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.