We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night before the crossing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 3rd Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 49 hotels in Brooklyn
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Night before the crossing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here as a convenient location before departing for Southampton, UK from the Brooklyn Cruise Terminal the next day. We were very pleased with the desk staff, the room, and the overall appearance of the hotel. The included breakfast was standard and got us on our way. An earlier telephone call to hotel with questions about how it appeared on Street View yielded assurance that it was within easy walking distance of Brooklyn’s 5th Avenue and a number of restaurants. This was accurate and we had a very nice meal in a restaurant reviewed elsewhere. Overall – a definite return any time we are in Brooklyn the night before sailing from the Cruise Terminal.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is half flight up from lobby and perfect for those who do not ride elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    79
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
44
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Although you're in Brooklyn, it's only one stop away from Canal Street in lower Manhattan. This hotel is clean (!), affordable and has a great free breakfast! Don't miss the view of Lady Liberty from the roof top....

Room Tip: The higher the better - there's a lovely view if you're on the west side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a decent, clean hotel for the price. We actually got a Living Social deal and it was such a great stay. The rooms are nice, the interior of the hotel is very modern. The rooftop view is great and the breakfast was pretty good. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Park Slope. It is a short walk to great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, NJ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here last saturday night because we were going to see Paul McCartney at the Barclay Center that night. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff is extremely attentive and helpful. The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk and the area, Park Slope, is a wonder of shops, cafes and restaurants. Parking at the hotel was an additional $25 which I was glad to pay but frankly, there was quite a few on street spots to be found and given the neighborhood I would have felt very safe with my car on the street. The best part of this hotel is the rooftop deck. We hung out there before and after the show with a bottle of wine (which we bought at a gas station up the street!) and enjoyed the view of, among other things, the Statue of Liberty and The Freedom Tower which will soon be complete from the look of things.

Room Tip: THe higher up the further you are away from street noise but to be honest we were on the 5th floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very nice and clean with a nice lobby and breakfast room. The complimentary breakfast was very good with both hot and cold choices and fresh fruit. Rooms were small, but views were good. Especially the views from the roof top sitting area. Located in a strange location on a residential street a couple blocks from restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Only had the opportunity to stay at this hotel one night. I initially did not know what to expect since the hotel was in Brooklyn. When I arrived staff was very professional and welcoming. Hotel was only a few blocks from the metro . The hotel was very nice and extremely clean. It looked like a newer hotel. Free breakfast and wifi. The hotel is located at the tip of Brooklyn so the metro ride to locations such as Battery Park,Staten Island ferry, Statue of Liberty, And Time Square was a straight shot via the subway. Only downside is parking is very limited and the rooms were small but Hey it's New York. It comes with the territory.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days and the service was exceptional. The rooftop deck was a very nice touch and a great place to unwind after a long day of activities. The front desk personnel were helpful in securing transportation when needed and were very precise in giving directions. The morning breakfast had a good variety of selections and the attendant was constantly making sure that there were refills. All in all we loved staying in this hotel and will make a return stay on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn

Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Brooklyn
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn Hotel
Address: 181 3rd Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#10 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.