We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homeless shelter offered to tourists” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny's House Brooklyn

Sunny's House Brooklyn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunny's House Brooklyn
williamsburg, Brooklyn, NY 11211   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 55 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Homeless shelter offered to tourists”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Don´t get it wrong this is not a hostel it's a HOMELESS SHELTER were men over fifty and a few hookers live on a permanent basis.
The rooms are so little your backpack doesn´t fit. The place is dirty, filthy all over and feels totally unhealthy. Bed bugs are welcomed along the homeless people. The noise from the subway tracks is too loud to let you sleep, now add people shouting and disputes all over the night.
Being a female solo traveller I would NEVER EVER STAY THERE, I was afraid the whole night fearing someone would break into my thin-as-paper walled room, I felt really insecure, left after 1 night having paid for two. Please stay away from this place, it's not a hostel is hell on earth. The most terrifying experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サニーズハウス, オーナー at Sunny's House Brooklyn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello Chucho_Nordes,
I am the owner of this facility. Would you be kind enough to CHECK once again to make sure of the name where you have stayed?
This is our site. http://www.sunnyshousebrooklyn.com
I have read your comment and I am terribly disappointed of your dishonesty, if you know where you are writing about. Everything you said above seems to be very wrong and POSSIBLY writing for some other hostels?? It would be very helpful if you think the above statement is a mistake and delete the comment because you are truly scaring some people who wants to come in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

Where to start? This is one of the worst experiences of my traveling life. I have stayed in a lot of hostels, as well as working in two for an extended amount of time. I have been an advocate for hostelling. I have heard the nightmare stories, but I thought people were just pampered or something. That is until I stayed here at the Glenwood Hostel which also doubles as an insane asylum for homeless men over 40. Do not believe the website!!! The website makes this place look like a normal hostel, it's not true, let me repeat, it's not true. I only stayed in the place for a little over an hour, but I still somehow feel tainted by its stench of alcohol, sweat and mold. Once we told the front desk clerk we were leaving and wanted our money back, he refused to give all of it back, we had booked two nights and only got the second night's money back. I would have paid more money to leave this place than I paid to stay. It was probably the worst place I have ever been in. Do not stay here!!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サニーズハウス, オーナー at Sunny's House Brooklyn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello Dougthepartyguy,
I am the owner of this facility. Would you be kind enough to CHECK once again to make sure of the name where you have stayed?
This is our site. http://www.sunnyshousebrooklyn.com
I have read your comment and I am terribly disappointed of your dishonesty, if you know where you are writing about. Everything you said above seems to be very wrong and POSSIBLY writing for some other hostels?? It would be very helpful if you think the above statement is a mistake and delete the comment because you are truly scaring some people who wants to come in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

I found myself in a pickle right after new year's, and it was in the neighborhood I was in, so I figured I could take it for a night. Hey, it had internet, so I could use that to find another place, right?
Holy moly, I have never experienced such a hellhole such as this.
And me, little miss down south, lost in the woods is wondering, "hummm, what's that wierd, sweet, musty odor?". Well, now I know it to be from the unbelievable bedbug infestation. I made it through the night, exposing myself and my bag to bedbugs before I made it uptown to a better place. Made it meaning I laid there in 13 degree temps listening to intimate sounds of people around me through the paper thin "cubicle" walls. I knew I was in for a rough time, but this place is unbelievable. I am now back home, fighting bugs with everything I've got. Fun. Believe me, don't ever, ever go here or you will be sorry. The website is a lie, and the place is a health hazard, looney bin, and a fire-trap. There are homeless shelters better than this.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サニーズハウス, オーナー at Sunny's House Brooklyn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello,
I am the owner of this facility. Would you be kind enough to CHECK once again to make sure of the name where you have stayed?
I have read your comment and I am terribly disappointed of your dishonesty, if you know where you are writing about. Everything you said above seems to be very wrong and POSSIBLY writing for some other hostels?? It would be very helpful if you think the above statement is a mistake and delete the comment because you are truly scaring some people who wants to come in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunny's House Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny's House Brooklyn

Address: williamsburg, Brooklyn, NY 11211
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are small guest-house in Williamsburg Brooklyn.2 single rooms 2 twin roomsIncredible location right on Bedford Ave in Williamsburg, NY. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny's House Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunny's House Brooklyn to your Saves list