We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, extremely comfortable bed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 22nd Street, Brooklyn, NY 11232   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Denton, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Not bad, extremely comfortable bed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Sleep Inn on 22nd Street in Brooklyn in November 2012. The location was in a little neighborhood with the sub station not too far of a walk away. The first night we walked the neighborhood we carried a small container of pepper spray but after that we felt safe enough not to need it. We stayed 4 nights and never had a problem. The hotel is nothing fancy, and neither is the free breakfast, but nothing at all to complain about if all you are looking for is a cheaper place to sleep. Free wi-fi and it worked great, no problems with it. Our room was on the 2nd floor right by the elevator and never heard any noise from it and my bed was right on the elevator wall. Rooms are indeed small but we spent all day every day in Manhattan and other parts of the city. The bed: can't compliment them enough. Very comfortable, clean and slept like a baby. Front desk staff were not overly friendly but very professional and polite. Our last day it was raining and we wanted to go down to Canal Street for shopping and they loaned us an umbrella. We also asked if we could delay checkout one hour due to our car service not arriving until an hour after checkout and they had no problem with it and did not charge us extra. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    72
    30
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
45
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My first time staying at Sleep Inn was back in March 2012 when I was looking for a place to live. This time, today, my place is without electricity at the moment and I have a guest coming from Ohio. I was in a pinch, and immediately looked up Sleep Inn - lo and behold, they had a room available!!

Once again, I am very pleased. Everything is clean and spacious. Check in was a breeze, the gentleman was nice. The walk from the train was pleasant, very quiet neighborhood, I felt pretty safe (and it's dark outside right now)

Plenty of places to eat on 4th ave as well and a bodega and laundry mat. Very thankful they had a room available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went to New York for a week and since hotels in Manhattan are quiete pricey we decided to stay the first two nights in Brooklyn before moving to a hotel in Manhattan. The Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown is relatively new, the rooms are small but with a good big bed and a big flatscreen. The hotel offers free wifi which worked fine in our room. Since it has no own restaurant you can order food from outside restaurants (they even have the brochures in the rooms). The breakfast was good. It was not comparable two a 4-star hotel in europe but it had yogurt, waffles, donughts and some other things. The walking time to the subway is roughly 10 minutes but the R-train is not the fastest and was partly disrupted by the hurricane. I thought that Manhattan is a much better place to stay but if you search for an economic alternative this is quite ok for a few nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at the Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown in May 2012 with my friend. Location is slightly far from the subway line but it is still ok About 5 mins by walking. Reception is friendly enough, wi fi is good! They serve good breakfast especially the self made waffles. That was quite great! The price is a bit on the ex side if youre travelling alone but the amenities provided are ok. Basic toiletries are all provided for. There is also tourist information at the reception (maps, etc) Oh ya and newspaper as well. Overall i would say my experience at the hotel was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This is perfectly managed place with efficient wi-fi and good breakfast (although you might want to avoid heating frozen fried eggs in the microwave). Due to Sandy hurricane, connections with Manhattan were not so great, but it is still a nice residential area with some convenient shops around. Stayed for a week, everything was OK.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We travelled to New York 4 days after Hurricane Sandy had hit and there was still a little upheaval within the transport system and the hotel under review. If I could given an overall rating of 3.5, that would be a fairer reflection.

No telephones
No Wifi
Displaced guests staying in the hotel

Location

This Hotel is situated two blocks away from the nearest subway station - R line. Come out of the hotel, turn right up the hill and turn first right onto fourth Avenue. Walk until the juction of Fourth Avenue/25th Street, where you will see the subway entrances on each corner of the road - simple and a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. The R line is a slow train but there are opportunities en-route to Manhatten to transfer to various express trains. I would allow 30-40 minutes travel time to reach Mid town Manhatten.

The hotel is situated in a mostly residential neighbourhood. There is not much opportunity to eat out in the immediate vicinity. the area is very quiet and it seems safe so nothing to worry about there.

We travelled to the Subway Station Atlantic Avenue/Barclay Centre, where there are two major chain restaurants located. The Barclay Centre is the home of brooklyn's basketball team. Two restaurants that we tried in that area were Applebys and Buffalo Wild Wings. I would recomment the latter, if you enjoy loud sports bars.It is good fun and there are loads of TV's showing just avbout every type of American Sport. It is very busy and you will have to wait 20-30 minutes to be seated but it is worth the wait as the food is large and cheap.

Hotel

2 star is a fair reflection.
Breakfast is limited but ok.
Rooms are very small. We opted for a no-smoking room double room. Unfortunately, other people on the same floor were smokers and the fumes from their respective rooms affected the corridors and also seeped under our door. We were easy going to this, where we would have normally complained as there were Hurricane victims living therein and did not want to cause them any more hardship.

The double beds are large and comfortable.
The room decor is clean and modern.
The a/c units under the windows worked ok but were a little noisy,.
The shower was not the most powerful but was ok.
Only a very small wardrobe was available. This also had an iron and board squeezed inside. Luckily, we were tavalling light on this trip.
The hotel is situated adjacent to the Gowanus Expressway (flyover section), which does cause quite a bit of noise but this is MY after all. The room did vibrate when a heavy lorry passed by.
The room was visited on a dailt basis by cleaners but not cleaned that well. The floors were not hoovered and tea and coffee stuff not replenished. It just appeared that any visit was rushed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here last week. Very reasonable price. Room was clean but small. Hotel smelled like cigarette smoke. The clientele may not have been their usual clientele. Seemed like alot of workers in town to help with the hurricane cleanup. The bed was good. The shower water pressure was not very strong. I only stayed here to sleep and shower so this hotel was ok for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown

Address: 134 22nd Street, Brooklyn, NY 11232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown Hotel Brooklyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.