We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
SAN JUAN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good choice..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

hotel is in a good location, near LIU... service is good, rooms are perfect. There are not too many places to eat nearby but you can easily walk to a subway station and go somewhere. You only need to be careful when walking at night. The streets are a bit isolated. The internet connection was good. Hotel has taxi service standing by which makes it convenient.

Room Tip: highest floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    281
    139
    30
    38
See reviews for
188
166
62
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed there for three nights and was very please with the size of the room. We stayed in the King Suite. The staff was friendly when we arrived. Wilson was great. I found the Sheraton Staff were top notch! The rest of the hotel....that's the problem. Our key didn't work for the club lounge and had to go to front desk FOUR times to try to gain access, even with the front desk attendant. When we did gain access, the breakfast was just coffee, danishes, tarts and a empty tray of eggs and dry toast. We advice anyone who stays here, go to the restaurant or order room service as we did. It costs more(way more) but, you won't be disappointed. The housekeeping was average, we had to ask for additional shampoo and soap. The toilet paper holder kept falling off when you tried to pull paper off the roll. We ended off leaving the roll on the counter for it was annoying to hear the clanking for the holder falling to the floor when using the facilities. The restaurants staff is great and the ribeye steak dinner was good. This hotel needs to focus on the the club lounge, the key access and the valets. If so, they will get five stars. The neighborhood wasn't as bad as others have stated, it's alright.We never felt unsafe. Good place to stay if you need easy access by train. The subway is close and easy. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A standard hotel with a big name. Old, narrow, no bar. Not cosy at all. We were there for one night, booked through Cunard prior to our cruise.
The good thing: it's only 200m to Hoyt St. Subway-station. USD 2,75 and three stops to Wall St or 15 minutes further to Times Sq.
If you only want to sleep it's sufficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. Would you be so kind to contact me directly at 917-281-5188. I would like to understand what exactly you were displeased with at our 2 year old Sheraton

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was a random location for my purposes but if you have business in the area it's a very good option. There's also easy access to a couple of subway lines. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Great to hear the staff was accomodating. We expect nothing less at this property or any Strawood branded hotel. Be sure to come back and visit soon as Brooklyn is the place to be.

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I stood in the hotel for a night. I was only there because I was attending a concert in the Barclays center. The rooms where average small. But just what you need if is only two people in a room. The service downstairs was great. They have a pool and numerous things to do in the hotel and shopping areas around the Hotel. I will totally go back if I need on visit Brooklyn. That's the Hotel ill stay in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
five stars...you made my day. I look forward to seeing you in teh near future at the Sheraton.

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, null, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located in the heart of downtown Brooklyn is this nice, relatively new looking hotel. It was not easy to find due to all the construction going on that street directions have been changed giving my GPS and Google maps app fits. A very helpful front desk staff member talked me through it though. Great staff. All were helpful and friendly. The NFL experts and especially the Nightlife expert from Madison NJ rocked. Beautiful room with view of State of Liberty ( disclaimer - it was far away and you had to look between 2 buildings). Even though a NYC hotel the room wasn't closet sized with a comfortable king sized bed. Had a crummy breakfast experience but the GM fixed that immediately so thumbs up for quick and happy resolution.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for the review and I was happy to resolve your breakfast issue yesterday morning.

I look forward to being your host in the near future

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was in Brooklyn for a flying visit and so as I didn't use the hotel other than to sleep and shower i'm not in a position to review its facilities. It is however in a fantastic location and the customer service was really very very good. I received one of the most genuine welcomes i've had in a while.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
How very nice to read " you received one of the warmest welcomes ever." That really is what hospitality is all about Thank you for your review and for your Starwood loyalty

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Address: 228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, the area's newest full-service hotel, is 1 MTA stop from Manhattan near MetroTech Ctr, Bklyn Heights, and BAM. We have 4,300sq ft of meeting space and a rooftop deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.