We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so hotel - great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #21 of 51 hotels in Brooklyn
Coolum Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“So so hotel - great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Brooklyn's Sheraton is a no-nonsense, no frills hotel, although the staff are friendly and laid back. Where it really kicks a goal though is its location. Immerse yourself in the funky street life or wander over to the "too cool for school" Brooklyn Heights for magnificent views of Manhattan; did I mention the bridge?
We loved Brooklyn and the Sheraton was a fine HQ.

Room Tip: Be persistent and get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
You are so right...I just walked the Bridge yesterday for maybe the 50th time and the views are as breathtaking today as they were the first time I saw them. Thanks for mentioning our great staff as well.

Regards

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    276
    137
    29
    37
See reviews for
180
164
60
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

As I sit at the bar watching football with a very pleasant crowd, I am thrilled I chose this hotel for a Brooklyn work stay over.

The staff is attentive and polite... And the location is perfect.

The rooms are typically smaller as 90% of NYC, but clean and updated.

This will be my Brooklyn staple for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
What a wonderful review for a GM to wake up to. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the Sheraton. Aside from having a gorgeous hotel, the staff usually helps push a hotels positive ratings over the top

Thank you for staying with us and for being Starwood loyal

Regards
Marie J. Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My elderly mother and her husband stayed there over the Thanksgiving holiday. The room with king bed is impossibly small for two, and the bathroom is merely okay. The first room they were given did not have working heat, so they were moved the first night to another. During their four night stay the elevators broke, which required calling the Fire Department. A very negative aspect of their stay was a dreadful $15 buffet breakfast with limited choices and overcooked eggs. Overall, the experience was a budget hotel charging upscale rates.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your note. I do believe I met your mom and her husband this past weekend and am sorry they did not enjoy our breakfast. I'll be sure to speak with our Executive Chef and Restaurant Managers regarding this matter.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you or your family return to Brooklyn. I look onward to being your host in the near future.

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just got back from a 4 night stay. I shared a room with a friend.
The 2 large doubles were fabulously appointed in terms of bed linen, comfortors, pillows etc.
I can honestly say that I have never started a review mention the above!!
In short very super comfy, good size and awesome nights sleep each night.

The room was a reasonable size, very modernly appointed - large flat screen telly and a clean modern bit trendy bathroom - although the grout in parts needed some attention.

The bar downstairs was ok - bit hit and miss depending on who served you. Some of the bar tenders were great - others clearly didnt want to be at work - mainly the female bar tenders - bit too much attitude.

This was not a bar to spend an evening in - more one for a night cap. Also they close it very early - 11-11.30 on some nights.

Location - at all times felt safe, the neighbour hood is a little down market - but totally fine.

For comfort and location if you mind not being on the island - i would recommend on location and for comfort and value.

Also service on the front desk - again depends on who you get 90% of the time - they couldnt do enough.

Taxis - be aware if you ask them to get you a cab - the cabs give you some mi. 18usdoller fee nonsense regardless of how close you are travelling .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Not only the best bed and bedding in town but the best in the industry Sheratons sweet sleeper mattress and our sister brand Westins heavenly bed are world renowned I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have passed along your comments to our food and beverage staff so we may use this as a learning tool at our weekly staff meeting

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were in New York for a conference at Brooklyn Tabernacle this past weekend. We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. We travel a lot, and our expectations can be high. This hotel more than met our expectations. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Because of Sandy; Fema was stationed in the hotel. It was very busy, but there was always plenty of staff to help us. They gave us a wonderful room with a great view. We could see the Statute of Liberty! The room was quiet, we heard nothing from the other guests or outside traffic, The coffee in the room was Star Bucks! The bed was very comfortable. When we asked for a fridge to keep medical supplies in, they gave us one at no extra cost. We checked out Wednesday morning, and they held our luggage for us so we could enjoy the city for the day. We will definitely stay here again. It was a centrally located close to every where we wanted to go. We walked from our hotel, across Brooklyn Bridge to the 911 memorial and back. What a great day! Tiring but fun! Great, great place to stay!! We highly recommend this place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Walking or biking the Brooklyn Bridge always makes for a great day. The views are breathtaking
I'm so glad the Sheraton was part of your trip.

Be sure to come and visit again soon. We look forward to being your host

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked here for the night with my husband and my two young children (7 & 5yrs old) when we were left stranded without any power in a Lower Manhattan five star hotel after Hurricane Sandy! So nice to be greeted with friendly and helpful staff, as well as power and hot water!

Nice clean compact and quiet rooms. The beds were very comfortable and there were lovely Starbucks coffee facilities in the room. Lovely clean bathroom too. Restaurant staff made us feel welcome and the food was pretty good too!

The staff were very accommodating, which meant we could at least enjoy the sights of Brooklyn after being so cooped up in a darken hotel previously. We had ordered a car to take us to Newark Airport in the evening but unfortunately, there were none due to the gas shortage which had suddenly enveloped NYC. However, the helpful reception staff made a few phone calls and a car was found and it had been topped with fuel (phew!). Thank you so much for sorting this out as by then, I think we were all ready to go home to Blighty!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Glad to hear we were a life saver for you and yes we were fortunate to be able to help many left without power and water as "Sandy" came to visit

We look forward to being your host again under different circumstances. Remember events at the Barclay Canter and a visit to the Brooklyn Terrace are two more great reasons to return to the Sheraton

Regards

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had a work trip to Brooklyn and the Sheraton was one of the few moderately priced hotels available. I had originally booked two rooms for one night - one for me, one for a co-worker. As it turned out, the co-worker did not need the room. I knew it was too late to cancel the room, so I asked if I could move that reservation to the next night. They had no problem with moving it, so I didn't lose the money.

The rooms are decent sized (giant compared to most Manhattan rooms). A large flat screen TV and very cushy bed (still a bit soft, though).

Nearby is Fulton Street Mall - basically just a city street with shops on either side. It's full of the typical New York shops - gray market electronics and such - but there are some big box stores as well - Macy's had a store there. The subway stop is nearby. The stop at Barclays Center is about 6 or 7 blocks away and has five or six lines stopping there. Also by Barclays is an indoor mall with Target, Best Buy, etc. The Brooklyn Bridge is relatively close - you can walk there no problem.

Interestingly, I could have gotten a cheaper room in Manhattan. But since my work was in Brooklyn at the Barclays Center, it didn't really make sense to stay further away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your time at the Sheraton. Clearly our proximity to the Barclay Center and of course SPG points are two great reasons to stay at the property

We look forward to being your host in the not too distant future

Safe travels

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Address: 228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, the area's newest full-service hotel, is 1 MTA stop from Manhattan near MetroTech Ctr, Bklyn Heights, and BAM. We have 4,300sq ft of meeting space and a rooftop deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.