We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel in a difficult location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Brooklyn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Brooklyn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 38th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11232   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Willow Street, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A decent hotel in a difficult location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a nice small hotel in a central location to the western Brooklyn area. The rooms are clean and functional for a business purpose. The breakfast bar is a separate area above the lobby (literally overlooking the front lobby) and is also nice. I stayed there for business and was apprehensive over the neighborhood, only because of the nightmare of parking. This hotel does have off-street parking, which is monitored. Because of this feature, this is a good hotel with the security necessary to work in this neighborhood. Even the heaters were quiet and efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms in the southeast corner are furthest from the Gowanus Expressway and are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60827Jenny, General Manager at Comfort Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Charles Gandhi
General Manager
Comfort Inn Sunset Park Brooklyn
718-369-7171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    28
    1
    11
See reviews for
25
30
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here in Aug 2012. It was a great place the customer services was nice and they allowed you access to a microwave 24-7 the refrigerator was located in your room. (a plus). Also there's restuarants in walking distance of the hotel. This was a great place and I would stay here again. they are alittle expensive but i think its worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60827Jenny, General Manager at Comfort Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Charles Gandhi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I needed a local place to stay for a week while some emergency repairs were made to my apartment and this was an Ok option. The room was $135 a night and while that's fairly reasonable keep in mind all you get is a room. There is nothing to eat in the area except a McDonalds, a Burger King and a Domino's and the hotel is in a bad neighborhood...next to the off ramp of the BQE and in an ugly industrial area.

The room itself was clean and comfortable although very small and there were some odd smells especially in the hallways. On the plus side, its just 3 blocks to the express train to Manhattan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at the 38th St Comfort Inn with a relative for two nights. The hotel was ok...and I mean just ok. The room was extremely small but comfortable. The bathroom was also small. They need to use a stronger bleach to wash the towels (bring your own). The bed was comfy and I am very particular about beds. The bed sheets had a lot holes which goes to show how old the sheets are but oh well. There is parking in the back of The hotel and according to the front desk 2 spots out front. I was lucky the nights I stayed there because the spots out front were always available. The cleaning crew were nice not overly nice but it is New York. The front desk personnel were nice and again not overly nice. I'd stay there again if it were just for a few nights but I find it was not worth the money. That's all folks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The main attraction of this hotel for us is its location (near family). It is nothing fancy and have usually found the rooms clean and stocked with amenities. The one time we complained about an odor, the staff was most responsive and switched our room without a problem. Rooms include breakfast which is a nice touch. Sadly this time the hotel was so full that the breakfast room was too crowded to eat in and we ended up going out. The hotel has a parking lot which is a great plus. It may not be the nicest hotel in NY, but we found the service consistent, basic and acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed there for two nights. Room was non-refundable so was not able to get out of hotel without loosing money. The room was so small that we felt suffocated and was stinky. When we were there, fumigator wanted to spray chemicals on bed to kill bed bugs. Looks like they had some other chemicals which made our mouth so dary and bleed.
Staff was not friendly at all. Towels were just like rags.
How they get 2.5 starts?????? I give this hotel minus 1 star
Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: I rather stay away from tis place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

a great budget hotel , very basic but clean , silent , well located . the subway is just round the corner and is connected by all the major lines one would need if travelling to N.Y, it takes about 35 mins to reach the times square , where you can get any subway location , the macdonolds is very convinently located , breakfast is good , staff is helpfull

Room Tip: beware they have rooms in the basement , avoid those
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Brooklyn

Address: 353 38th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Brooklyn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.