We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place to stay in Brooklyn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   533 3rd Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11215   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    76
    61
    27
    18
See reviews for
91
68
16
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Basic hotel with clean rooms but good luck trying to find a place to park. It took me 30 minutes to find a place. The hotel itself only has 12 spaces and there are no parking structures near by.

I stayed in room 201 and it was very noisy. Be sure to ask for a room away from the elevators and ice machines.

Room Tip: Choose upper floors away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice basic hotel in brooklyn, 10 min walk to subway to midtown in 25 min. The rooms were clean but small. Basic breakfast but free! There is a dunkin/subway across the street. Friendly staff. Loud rooms near ice machine/loud neighbors could be problem at night! Got great deal through priceline. Great location for new Barclays Center two subway stops away in 5 min!

Room Tip: away from ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent 5 days in this hotel over the Labor Day weekend. The staff at the front desk was basically pleasant but was not very knowledgeable of the Brooklyn area. The location of the hotel is not in the best of area but seems to be relatively safe. There is no tourist activity at this location and the area seems to be more industrial. The hotel has limited free parking but additional parking can be found available on the side street. The subway is 4 blocks away from the hotel that would require about a 10 - 15 minutes’ walk. The rooms of the hotel are very small and the amenities were very limited to soap and shampoo. My wife was not able to get a shower cap at request. There was less than basic channels on the cable TV but the major network stations were available. There was a small fridge in the room but no micro wave oven. The water pressure in the shower was low but adequate. The tub did not drained properly but we waited to inform the hotel at check-out. There was no safe deposit box in the room. The Bright Side Breakfast was very limited and below par when compared to other LQ Inn I have stayed at.

Room Tip: When parking on the street pay attention to the alternative side of the street parking sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Good:
-The bed was great, real big
-The room was very clean.
-The staff was very nice.

The Poor:
-Ice machine in the hallway made very loud noises all through the night
-A/C was smelly
-The bathroom doors didn't close all the way
-The bathtub drain also didn't close all the way, which made having a bath quite impossible
-Not that great of a location

Bottom line:
You get what you pay for. Try paying less through priceline, so it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

If you are going to NYC in high season ( September) then this is a good option because is much cheaper than the ridiculous prices in Manhattan, nevertheless don't expect much more than a simple basic hotel ( it's a 2 star after all!) This hotel delivered what it promised; a comfy clean bed and room and clean bathroom. Just an average size room and flat screen TV with a decent selection of channels.
What not to expect: a delicious breakfast, skip it, it's horrible...even the coffee is watered down to the point is undrinkable but don't worry..there is a Dunkin Donuts just across that opens 24
Metro is 5 min walking and it takes you to midtown manhattan in 20 min..super convenient

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a pleasant stay for the most part. The room was modern with nice furnishings and a flat screen TV. The room was fairly clean however, we would have liked for the bathroom to be a little cleaner as there were stains on the walls and in our particular room, there was old gum stuck in the carpet, but overall the stay was pleasant. There is very limited parking maybe a total of 10 spaces but we were able to find a space in the evening all of the nights we stayed instead of 1 evening in which we had to park a several blocks down the street. The neighborhood seemed pretty safe as well and there is a subway/dunkin donuts and pizza parlor across the street from the hotel. The subway to take into Manhattan is a couple of blocks over which was very nice! Overall our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown

Address: 533 3rd Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11215
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Brooklyn is located just 5 blocks from a subway station with easy access to Brooklyn sites as well as Manhattan. The Brooklyn Museum, Statue of Liberty, Times Square, and many more famous attractions are easily and affordably accessible from our hotel. Our people first service and clean comfortable accommodations complement our great location, making La Quinta Inn the perfect blend of affordability and comfort for your next trip to NYC. We provide a free continental breakfast, free wifi, and free parking. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown Hotel Brooklyn
La Quinta Inn And Suites Brooklyn Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.