We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week in NYC . Semaine formidable à NY !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
15 DeKoven Court, Brooklyn, NY 11230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Haute-Savoie
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful week in NYC . Semaine formidable à NY !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We've spent one week with our two daughters in NY for Christmas. It was a fantastic week, thanks to the such lovely and calm Blue Porch B&B. Trudy and Paul are so kind and interesting, always trying to find out how to help us with plans and restaurants adresses or new ideas to visit the town. They have such a lovely house, completly restful, with many facilities. The bathrooms are perfect, the beds are fantastic, everything is so clean, and I don't say anything about the breakfast, it will be your surprise if you visit them. OMG ! They've immediately understood our tastes, and they've never tried to influence our choices but they've just gave us the best. Thank you again for this great and new american experience !
Superbe séjour à NY, le B&B est formidable, propre, spacieux, tout équipé (produits de SDB, eau, sèche-cheveux, etc.), très proche du métro. Il y a pas mal de restaus dans le coin, même si Brooklyn vous semble loin de Manhattan, c'est un super quartier qui vaut le coup. Trudy et Paul sont très sympas, très cultivés, et pourvoyeurs de super conseils de visites, de restaurants et autres. Le petit-dej est une tuerie, ne pas manquer les scones à l'aneth, un must !
Nous recommendons absolument cette jolie maison. Merci encore à eux.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
57
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Porch ( a Queen Ann style victorian house) for 2 nights and it felt like a wonderful retreat. The house is beautiful and the rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. Truly and Paul are intelligent and sensitive hosts who are passionate about caring well for their guests and ensuring hat they have a great stay. They went to a lot of effort to help with finding information for us on trips out in Manhattan and Brooklyn and the breakfast table looked like a "still life" painting. Trudy is an excellent baker and made us the most delicious scones and cakes and freshly prepared fruit plates. The B&B is close to the Metro station and local shops and restaurants and it's interesting to spend time in Brooklyn which has a brilliant museum and botanical garden as well as ingesting buildings. Truly and Paul are kind, warm hearted and caring - go and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights at the Blue Porch B & B in Brooklyn, surprised by the atmosphere of culture provided by the two hosts, both musicians. Apart from our discussions on various topics, were delightfully surprised at the variety of home-baked breads served at breakfast. Reservations should be made as early as possible to book the room with the bathroom on the same floor. We had to take the other room, which also has a separate bathroom, but on the floor below. We certainly will be looking forward to saying there again.

Room Tip: make reservation early to get best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast is the perfect Brooklyn Retreat. We stayed with Trudy and Paul during a hectic weekend delivering some antique furniture to our daughter who relocated to this lovely Brooklyn neighborhood just a few weeks earlier. The Blue Porch B&B is simply charming and within easy walking distance to fabulous restaurants and the subway if you wish to visit anywhere in the city. Brooklyn has it's own unique charms, cultural events and sites, but it is not so far off the beaten path that you can't easily get to Manhattan and see the sites, too. What is great about Trudy and Paul's B&B is that you feel like you have returned home after all the busy events you choose throughout the day. And, don't be disarmed by their reference to a "continental breakfast". That sometimes means you are on your own with a box of cereal.....Not here! Trudy is a fabulous cook and in addition to the fresh fruits, yogurt, cheeses, artisan breads and preserves, and oatmeal, she makes a mean blueberry cornbread and breakfast biscuits. You will not be disappointed! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in the Blue Porch for 3 nights. It was right after the hurricane and even though Trudy & Paul must have had a particularly stressful week in the run up to our stay they were excellent hosts and made us feel right at home.
The breakfasts are delicious and they're more than happy to help out with maps and recommendations for the local area.
Both Trudy and Paul are interested and interesting, we would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone looking for a more homely NYC stay.
The room we had was a great size and way more than we could have afforded if staying at a bland hotel in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently stayed with Trudy and Paul for 6 nights. They are the ultimate New York ambassadors, from Trudy's breakfasts which were a work of art to their advice on local restaurants events and local knowledge. Paul would magically appear each morning with maps and information for us. Staying with Trudy and Paul was a highlight of our trip. The area is peaceful, pretty and very easy to access by subway. Why would you stay in a hotel when you could stay here?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first trip to New York and we were ever so grateful that we chose Trudy & Pauls excellent Bed and breakfast instead of choosing an anonymous hotel in downtown Manhattan. Everything was exactly as described below: the wonderful room and the outstanding breakfast - nothing more to add. Manhattan was easily reachable by express metro b and local train q. But also the direct neighbourhood and Brooklyn itself are really worth seeing. Your hospitality really made the difference to our trip, as well as your insights to the cities places. Thanks to the music at breakfasts we finally ended up listening to a concert in Avery Fisher Hall :). Thanks so much, we hope to come back! We wish you all the best and all future guests a wonderful stay at the Blue Porch B&B

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 DeKoven Court, Brooklyn, NY 11230
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast is owner occupied and run in a home built in 1904 in Victorian Brooklyn. Our two bright and airy guestrooms are located on the second floor. The bathroom is private for you and your party, whether you choose one or both bedrooms. One of our guests said it best: Your hospitality is the best in NY! On future trips, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Porch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.