We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is fine and met expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Brooklyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Brooklyn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Brooklyn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   247 49th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hotel is fine and met expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to NYC last weekend and stayed here. The hotel has about 4 spaces of on-site parking, but we didn't have any difficulty finding free street parking. The neighborhood is fine. The hotel itself is fine. The rooms are small, but perfectly adequate for the price. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were half the size of normal pillows! They were little squares instead of normal rectangular pillows. Odd, disappointing, and not particularly comfortable. The walls are a bit thin and we could hear people in the hallway pretty clearly.

Breakfast in the morning was pretty standard with plenty of options.... and the cream filled doughnut was surprisingly really nice and fresh.

Overall, the best adjective I can use for this hotel is fine. It met my expectations, but didn't exceed expectations. I'd be as likely to stay here again as I would be to look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698dineshb, General Manager at Sleep Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
I want to personally thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay with us because, after all, we value and look forward to guest feedback of any kind. Sorry to hear about your recent experience at our hotel was not up to delivering on your expectations. hope we could have done better to make your stay more comfortable. But i am glad your found our bed comfortable and breakfast and Thank you very for coming back to the hotel.

Thank you again for the feedback and will hope to see you soon!

Regards
Vishal Bodalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    66
    45
    9
    19
See reviews for
29
57
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had two rooms as we were traveling with a family with three children (one is only 4 months old) and stayed two nights. The rooms were very clean including the bathrooms. We were checked in by Mr. Bodalia the manager and he was very helpful on the surrounding restaurants and safety. Parking is limited but was not an issue we parked both nights on the property. The Bfast area is small but it's NY. It had a little of everything and was more than enough. We walked to different restaurants and were out with the kids until 11:00 PM and never felt unsafe. So to sum up:
Clean rooms
Very friendly staff
Convenient location
Safe area with plenty of restaurants and latino stores
We will go back

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698dineshb, General Manager at Sleep Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Guest,

Thank you for visiting The Sleep Inn Brookyn and for your review. Thank you very much for the lovely comment . We are so glad that you enjoyed the surroundings and how safe the area is, Also the quality of your room and bathroom amenities that you liked. I also appreciate you mentioning my customer services Thank you very much.We will be sure to share your comments with our staff and will all be so happy to read our comment.

we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Vishal Bodalia
Manager
Sleep Inn
7187486400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Stayed during stopover en route back to UK from Las Vegas. Took taxi from airport as arrived late and area looked a bit murky. However, place looked a lot safer in the daylight. The room was average and the buffet breakfast was sufficient but they offered paper plates! But I must say how friendly and helpful the staff were. Not just at reception but also the cleaning lady who watched my handbag as i left it on my chair after leaving breakfast area!
It was a cheap and cheerful hotel... As we didn't want to pay the extortionate rates in Manhattan.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698dineshb, General Manager at Sleep Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay however we are disappointed to hear about average room and the form plates for breakfast.
I am glad that you found and exprence the friendly and helpful the staff. We do take customer satisfaction seriously and are always looking for ways to improve, so thank you for your comments.
Our breakfast lady always make sure about the belonging of each guest in the breakfast area so that if they do forget at some times she call the frontdesk or the guest to return it.

We appreciate your business and hope you come visit us again.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Regards
Vishal Bodalia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

The room was very clean, the staff exceptionally helpful and kind, the breakfast was well stocked. Most important to me is cleanliness and safety the room was very clean and I never felt unsafe. The parking is limited and the breakfast area cramped, but for the price and the friendly staff I could easily overlook it. I would wholeheartedly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698dineshb, Manager at Sleep Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for a positive review for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

The staffs are very friendly. The room are very dirt and the stain all over the wall. This hotel still using 80's credit card processing; the hotel staffs make a photo copy of your driver license, credit card (front and back). Stay here with cautions. There is another sleep Inn within 1 miles on 22nd st. which is safer, nicer and cleaner.

Room Tip: Stay here with cautions, not safe neighborhood, room smell strange odor. Staffs make photo copy of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698dineshb, General Manager at Sleep Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay at our hotel. Many times it may be possible that our housekeepers have missed a few aspects but it is not in their routine to do so. Please, I apologize very much for such unkind quality since we are doing our best to improve every part of the hotel bit by bit.

Once again, please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you have had during your stay.

-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

Families with small children, beware! This is not the place for you! This hotel is located in a very scary neighborhood. We stayed for two nights and aside from kind staff, I don't have many pleasant things to say about this place. We are not new to big cities but this place absolutely terrified me. Right in the middle of a scary part of town, we were afraid to keep our children out past dark. There were domestic disputes right outside our window, police at all hours, and the visitors to this location were scary as well. The doors were so thin, you could hear people yelling and slamming doors all night. The place was very unclean, with trash bags left in hallways nearly all day while the staff cleaned the rooms. When we asked for some fresh towels, the man who brought them to our room shed hair all over them. Our mattress was old. The cover to the ac unit fell off any time you touched it. The air had two settings -off or freezing at full speed. It was nice that this hotel offered a free breakfast, and my kids enjoyed the plethora of donuts, but the eggs and sausage looked so gross, I saw the staff come out and add water to the pans several times and the flavor was poor. The hallways smelled like musty cigarette smoke. The elevator was so slow and rickety. If you are coming to the city and have a young family, choose somewhere else. I could not recommend this place to anyone. But the owners seemed nice so that is a plus. I hate to leave such a bad review but I feel people need to know what they are walking into. Also the subway is 5 blocks away and can take you into Manhattan, which was a plus.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Room was relatively clean, only little parking lot, very small room, late checkout possible, broken bed lines with big holes in it, decent breakfast. Safe Environment. The Hotel is close to the subway track Line R. Thin Walls make that hotel Little bit noisy.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698dineshb, General Manager at Sleep Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
I want to thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. Thank you again for your comments.

-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Brooklyn

Address: 247 49th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Brooklyn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Brooklyn Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.