We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick one night stopover stay in NY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Brooklyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Brooklyn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Brooklyn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   247 49th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Brooklyn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quick one night stopover stay in NY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed during stopover en route back to UK from Las Vegas. Took taxi from airport as arrived late and area looked a bit murky. However, place looked a lot safer in the daylight. The room was average and the buffet breakfast was sufficient but they offered paper plates! But I must say how friendly and helpful the staff were. Not just at reception but also the cleaning lady who watched my handbag as i left it on my chair after leaving breakfast area!
It was a cheap and cheerful hotel... As we didn't want to pay the extortionate rates in Manhattan.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    64
    44
    9
    19
See reviews for
29
55
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was very clean, the staff exceptionally helpful and kind, the breakfast was well stocked. Most important to me is cleanliness and safety the room was very clean and I never felt unsafe. The parking is limited and the breakfast area cramped, but for the price and the friendly staff I could easily overlook it. I would wholeheartedly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698dineshb, Manager at Sleep Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for a positive review for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

The staffs are very friendly. The room are very dirt and the stain all over the wall. This hotel still using 80's credit card processing; the hotel staffs make a photo copy of your driver license, credit card (front and back). Stay here with cautions. There is another sleep Inn within 1 miles on 22nd st. which is safer, nicer and cleaner.

Room Tip: Stay here with cautions, not safe neighborhood, room smell strange odor. Staffs make photo copy of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698dineshb, General Manager at Sleep Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay at our hotel. Many times it may be possible that our housekeepers have missed a few aspects but it is not in their routine to do so. Please, I apologize very much for such unkind quality since we are doing our best to improve every part of the hotel bit by bit.

Once again, please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you have had during your stay.

-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

Families with small children, beware! This is not the place for you! This hotel is located in a very scary neighborhood. We stayed for two nights and aside from kind staff, I don't have many pleasant things to say about this place. We are not new to big cities but this place absolutely terrified me. Right in the middle of a scary part of town, we were afraid to keep our children out past dark. There were domestic disputes right outside our window, police at all hours, and the visitors to this location were scary as well. The doors were so thin, you could hear people yelling and slamming doors all night. The place was very unclean, with trash bags left in hallways nearly all day while the staff cleaned the rooms. When we asked for some fresh towels, the man who brought them to our room shed hair all over them. Our mattress was old. The cover to the ac unit fell off any time you touched it. The air had two settings -off or freezing at full speed. It was nice that this hotel offered a free breakfast, and my kids enjoyed the plethora of donuts, but the eggs and sausage looked so gross, I saw the staff come out and add water to the pans several times and the flavor was poor. The hallways smelled like musty cigarette smoke. The elevator was so slow and rickety. If you are coming to the city and have a young family, choose somewhere else. I could not recommend this place to anyone. But the owners seemed nice so that is a plus. I hate to leave such a bad review but I feel people need to know what they are walking into. Also the subway is 5 blocks away and can take you into Manhattan, which was a plus.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Room was relatively clean, only little parking lot, very small room, late checkout possible, broken bed lines with big holes in it, decent breakfast. Safe Environment. The Hotel is close to the subway track Line R. Thin Walls make that hotel Little bit noisy.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698dineshb, General Manager at Sleep Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
I want to thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. Thank you again for your comments.

-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Hubby and I just returned from a 3 night stay in Sept., 2014. Our room was spotless; bathroom also was very clean; bed was to die for - so comfy!! Air conditioning chilled nicely - no complaints! Our room faced the back parking lot; it was very quiet. We only grabbed apples everyday from the continental breakfast; so I can't comment on the quality of breakfast. One morning, breakfast room attendant overheard me mention to my husband that I took the last apple. She quickly approached us with a smile on her face and offered more apples; then replenished the fruit bowl. It was a small gesture; but we were certainly impressed. Front desk staff were equally friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean inside and out. We didn't have a car; so no comment about their parking lot. We will definitely consider staying here on our next trip to Brooklyn! The neighborhood is a little funky; and we didn't walk around at all. But each morning while we waited outside for our Brooklyn friends to pick us up, people walking by always smiled and said hello. We were very happy to meet a lot of friendly New Yorkers!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698dineshb, General Manager at Sleep Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
I want to thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. Thank you again for your comments.

-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of August 2014 - it was our first stay in Brooklyn. The hotel is clean, modern and quiet. We had the free breakfast most mornings, which included eggs, sausage and belgian waffles along with the standard continental breakfast items. The room was a bit small but it was only the 2 of us so it was fine. It is also very convenient to the subway (about 3 blocks), making it easy to get to Manhattan. The staff was very friendly and the free parking is always a plus. The negatives would be the view from our room - we were on the 3rd floor and our view was the back of apartments, which are quite close in NYC. The neighborhood wasn't the prettiest, but we felt safe and had no issues. It is not a tourist area - it is a working neighborhood. All in all, we had a good experience at a decent cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
698dineshb, General Manager at Sleep Inn Brooklyn, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
I want to thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. Thank you again for your comments

-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Brooklyn

Address: 247 49th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Brooklyn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn
Brooklyn Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.