We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of aloft New York Brooklyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added aloft New York Brooklyn to your Saves list
aloft New York Brooklyn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   216 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just a few blocks from the subway, this is a great option. The staff is very friendly and the hip atmosphere just gives you a relaxing vibe. Always appreciate the reasonably priced lobby bar. The rooms are on the small side but who spends a lot of time in their room in NYC/Brooklyn?

Room Tip: A high floor gets you further from the street noise but the hotel is on a pretty quiet street so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Gbtrotter,

Thank you for the positive feedback about our friendly staff and calling our hotel "hip." We love the vibe here at the Aloft especially the free summer concerts our guests have come to enjoy. We hope you return again and again. All The Best and Safe Travels. JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    213
    89
    44
    37
See reviews for
129
169
41
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

this was real a one of a kind experience once I visit this hotel , eventhoug it is on the bronk the hotel spirit was one of a king , price wise super nice .. the bar , the place , the pool table , the people everything super nice ... five star nice product from starwood ..

Room Tip: looking west
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello Del Carmen,

To quote you "the people everything super nice ... five star nice product from starwood." Thank you for the recognition. We continue to work very hard to "Wow" the hundreds of guests who stay with us every day. I hope you plan to come back very soon. Safe Travels. JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is in regards to a reservation that was made on Tuesday, October 30th 2012, during Hurricane Sandy. My family checked into the Sheraton Hotel in Downtown Brooklyn (which is next door) and we stayed there for one night. Via the Local Mom's Group another family (with a pregnant mother) was also in need of a hotel room so I booked a room for them in person with the receptionist at the Aloft. I was told that because of everything with Hurricane Sandy they would allow a cancellation with no penalty. Later that evening the other family informed us that they would be unable to come from Manhattan to Brooklyn and to cancel the reservation. I then went back to the Aloft and cancelled the reservation. 3 weeks later I received a charge on my credit card for 2 nights stay, food and service charges for $843.94 from the Aloft. My family was staying next door at the Sheraton and we stayed for only one night. I have an invoice from the Sheraton (which owns Aloft) confirming this yet the Aloft has declined to credit back my credit card.

Be careful they are deceitful, and the Sheraton Hotel Group never responded into looking into this further.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hello Mr. Patel,

Mr. Patel, the accounting department at both the Aloft and the Sheraton Brooklyn vigorously and intensely investigated the reservation in question & unfortunately we found the reservation to be valid along with your credit card company. I understand & can empathize with your point of view. We spoke in great length and I have nothing but the utmost respect for you. Yours Truly In Hospitality - JP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was our first time staying in Brooklyn and it turned out really well. We were moving our daughter into summer NYC housing in Chinatown and the hotel was really very accessible by train or car. The immediate area in downtown Brooklyn isn't very nice but you can easily get to other areas for restaurants or walking. We did walk to Juniors to get cheesecake one night. Yum!! The hotel itself was fine and a nice change of pace from a standard Sheraton. The staff were all really friendly and helpful though sometimes a bit overwhelmed. It was certainly a more trendy vibe and had everything we needed. (Though on Saturday night the bar was inexplicably closed so we just went nextdoor to the Sheraton's bar and brought wine to our room in to go cups.) The room itself was smalllish but it was designed well. There was lots of counter top space in the bathroom and the shower head was large and the water pressure really good. There weren't enough towel bars to hang wet towels though. No real closet but the hanging unit would seem to work fine for most travelers. The free Wifi seems obvious but many hotels don't offer this. We didn't have any problem with noise which I had read about in other reviews. I checked to see if the unit next door was occupied and it wasn't so maybe that helped. We were on the 15 floor during a weekend and there was no problem with noise from the roof top bar. The one MAJOR complaint which is a HUGE design flaw has to do with the placement of the AC unit. A desk is built over it so that the fan directs air up but gets pushed out front because the desk top blocks it from going up and throughout the room. This means that there is a strong flow of cold air being sent DIRECTLY to the bed. (We had a 2 double bed room.) It was impossible to regulate the AC and we went from using a towel to drape over the desk top to stop the flow of air and then taking it off to get some air. Pretty frustrating during the night. (This was during a 90 degree heat wave!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hello BCA

"The staff were all really friendly and helpful though sometimes a bit overwhelmed" - I love the following comment you wrote about our staff! As for the air conditioners, I took note and started testing new air directional louvers in the rooms - great feedback. We look forward to your return. Safe Travels -JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

almost like staying at grandma"s with a fresh new twist.i can sit here all night telling you about my overall experience at aloft. but! u need to go their and see for yourself how perfect it is as a boutique hotel.so weather it's a day,month or year u deserve to feel like a king at this hotel from the ambience to security it hit all the marks of a perfect experience

Room Tip: suites or terrace rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hello Philip,

Philip I would've comped your room if I knew this great review was coming- just kidding. Everyone listen to Philip, I reposted his comment: "i can sit here all night telling you about my overall experience at aloft. but! u need to go their and see for yourself how perfect it is as a boutique hotel.” We love our guests - especially Philip! Come experience the Aloft Vibe. JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is very good! Will definitely return. Although Brooklyn is not the most usual place to stay while visiting New York, this hotel is so convenient that you should give it consideration. It is one block away from the subway which brings you to the heart of Manhattan, and if you want, you can walk Brooklyn bridge very easily. The staff is delightful and the rooms are superb. Give it a go!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hello ChretienDeTroyes

This is a great comment from you: "The staff is delightful and the rooms are superb. Give it a go!" - We work very hard to "Wow" every guest at the Aloft Brooklyn and I'm happy we succeeded! My staff & I look forward to your return. Safe Travels. JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel met my needs, and the staff was very kind. My room was clean, quiet and even spacious by New York standards, with large windows and great light. The F, A, C, and R trains are just two blocks away at the Jay Street-Metrotech station, which has an elevator for those with strollers, wheel chairs, etc. The area is rapidly gentrifying and quite safe; I live not far away and know it well. In 15 minutes, you can walk to the Brooklyn Heights Promenade, Brooklyn Bridge Park, the ferry to Governor's Island, and excellent dining in Cobble Hill.
Cons: Bedding is cheap and not very comfortable; the coffee made by the room machine is so weak that it's almost undrinkable; and the air conditioner was not powerful enough for a room this size - it wheezed and hiccuped all night long and woke me up on several occasions.
If you want to eat in, don't order room service; instead, make like a New Yorker and visit seamless.com or eat24hours.com for your choice of nearly every cuisine imaginable, which can be delivered to the hotel lobby for free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Curtiny,

I'm glad the hotel met your needs and you found our staff to be very friendly. I want to make your next stay special, email me the next time you book your reservation at the Aloft Brooklyn. I look forward to your return. JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft New York Brooklyn

Address: 216 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft New York Brooklyn 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the Brooklyn Bridge and downtown Manhattan, Aloft Brooklyn offers a hip and exciting accommodation with an urban-influenced design and a social scene that's always a buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your aloft New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft New York Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.