We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft New York Brooklyn to your Saves list
Aloft New York Brooklyn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   216 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Brooklyn
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New Year's Eve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It's a horrible night to stay in Aloft on New Year's Eve. I traveled a long way to hotel and want to take a sleep, but guess what, there is a party next door. It's sooo noisy and I cannot even stay calm in the room. I asked to change a room, but was told the hotel was full that night, of course. And the building on the other side of the street totally block the view, which is extremely suppressed. I originally booked three nights, but decided to move to another hotel after the first night stay.

Honestly speaking, the room is not bad. Perhaps a little bit small like the other hotel rooms in New York City, but very clean. The bathroom was equipped with Bliss products. Chic design as any other aloft in the country.

Besides, it' s a category 3 hotel in New York City, which means it only cost 7000 points to redeem a night. You could never find a deal like this in the big apple! But when you choose the hotel, be prepared for the less favorable environment around!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Josewan1,

One thing about New Year's Eve and New York City is people love to party and they come from all over the world to be at the “Epicenter” of it all. I wish we had a spare room to move you to during your stay but we usually sell out weeks in advance along with 99% of the hotels in New York City. Overall outside of the New Year's Eve party crowd, I'm happy everything else went very well during your stay at the Aloft Brooklyn Hotel.

Wishing you safe travels throughout the year! JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    232
    94
    46
    40
See reviews for
140
180
45
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights over the Easter long-weekend and after a somewhat unhappy start, left quite content of our overall experience. After falling fast asleep on the first night, we were suddenly awoken around midnight by the guests in the neighboring room who we could hear partying through the connecting doors... The hotel staff whom we spoke to was not very sympathetic and shrugged us off, so we ended up sleeping with ear plugs. Fortunately, the front desk staff was more helpful the next day (a special thanks to Barbara!) and we were able to relocate to another very quiet room (without any connecting doors...)

The rooms are small but efficiently layed-out and very clean. As for the location, it proved to be very convenient, within close reach of several subway stations, and not too far from the trendier restaurants and shops of Park Slope. The immediate area is 'up-and-coming', or so it seems, with many construction projects underway.

Room Tip: Beware of connecting doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello culturehopper,

After reading your review and the great compliment you bestowed on Barbara, I felt compelled to share your story with my front desk staff. With hundreds of guests staying in our hotel at any given time, we strive every day to deliver exceptional and caring service to all our guests. We understand the Aloft NY Brooklyn Hotel is your time away from home, with that being said, I thank you for sharing your story with my team.

Wishing you safe travels throughout the year! JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here with some of My Joyful Heart sisters (3 of us in total) for a week back in Oct/Nov 2012!
We landed (From the UK) the Saturday before Hurricane Sandy Hit, for 2 of us it was our First Ever Trip to the city, We choose the hotel coz it had a gym & swimming pool as well as a bar an lobby activities and with it being just out of Manhattan it was a little chipper but still chic & Stylish with having all the things we needed!! And It was everything it lived up to from the pictures and more!!
The Front desk were really very friendly and couldn't do more to help esp telling us gr8 local places to grab food and ordering a car was easy well until the lovely Hurricane Sandy came a calling that is then the city was thrown a curve ball!!
The Room was very clean and really nice the shower AMAZING!! Coffee & Water replaced everyday for FREE AMAZING esp the Coffee!! And when they had no cleaners due to the Hurricane they said to just let them know what we needed and they would send it right up!
Great Amazing service I could not Fault at all!!
The Only one problem we came across was over the few day of the Hurricane one group of people staying in a room below us who had a balconey were extremely loud, I wouldn't normally mind but it was 3am gone an they were still keeping us awake!! but a quick call to reception and they soon pipped down!
The staff at the Bar were gr8 too as no-one had anywhere to go over the few days we were locked down for the Hurricane they kept us entertained and made cocktails up for us and kept spirits up when it could ave very easily gone the other way!
Thank-you for Being soo helpful before and during our First Trip to the Big City, Us British Lasses loved our stay and have made friends who will last a life time!!
P.S. gr8 coffee (from a hard to please Coffee Lover hehe)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi SunlovingYorkieLass,

First of all, you have a great email address and secondly you took some awesome pictures. My favorite picture is seeing all of you squeeze inside our eggshell chair for a photo op – I found myself laughing. It’s nice to hear about the fabulous time you had here at the Aloft Brookly hotel. I enjoyed reading your review. Please come back and visit us.

Wishing you safe travels throughout the year! JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed there with a friend on a quick NYC holiday - perfect hotel for Brooklyn and trips to Manhattan.

We shared a twin room which by NYC standards is huge - great bathroom and overall room layout.

Only downside is that the walls are very thin so you can hear your neighbours but outside of this perfect.

Would most certainly come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello Sus2505,

I'm happy to hear about the great time you had here at our Chic & trendy hotel. We look forward to your return back to the Aloft Brooklyn. Thank you for taking out the time to post your candid review.

Wishing you safe travels throughout the year! JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Aloft has a great contemporary atmosphere and the rooms are small but well designed. My only complaint is the sliding door to the bathroom is touchy so it SLAMS shut with a lot of noise.

The location is convenient to the subway and the price much better than anything comparable in Manhattan. The walk from the subway back to the hotel was iffy after dark.

Room Tip: We asked for the top floor to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi Susan,

Thank you for the feedback concerning your most recent stay. Susan you are one of many of our past guests who continue to mention how convenient our location is to most of the subways - I Thank you. I read your feedback about the sliding doors in the bathroom; I will definitely have one of our engineers take a look at our sliding doors. Hope you come back and visit us soon.

Wishing you safe travels throughout the year! JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a grrrrrrrrreat time here for my birthday, after which my friend also decided to host their birthday gathering here as well. Even though they were late with having my suite ready(2 hours late! which is why I give a 4 out of 5 rating), they let me book the adjoining room next door which proved useful when more guests spent the night than expected. It is a bit hidden and thus tough to locate.. but all in all a very clean and hip place for young adults to stay. I did see more middle aged adults but the décor and atmosphere seemed more targeted towards the younger crowd. Also, must be 18+ to book the room, if it helps.

Room Tip: The suite is super spacious and comfortable, the other regular non-suite rooms are tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Alice,

Looks like you had a fabulous time here at the Aloft New York Brooklyn. I love hearing such great reviews like this. Even though the hotel has a younger hip trendy vibe, we find many people from all ages love the vibe here at the Aloft. We hope you are able to celebrate many more birthdays with us. Happy Birthday and may all your wishes come true.

Wishing you safe travels throughout the year! JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My boyriend and I are from out of town and had never been to Brooklyn. We enjoyed our stay at Aloft. While its difficult to get anyone from the front desk on the phone prior to the visit, once at the hotel they are very helpful. Parking can be tricky. We found the best choice to be Vics parking lot one block over. There is not discount being a hotel client, but it is about 30 bucks a night. Alofts roof top bar is a gem! Definitely go if you have the chance. Over all, Aloft is a reasonably priced, well located hotel to stay in when exploring Brooklyn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean P, General Manager at Aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello Rebecca,

I'm happy to hear once you arrived at the Aloft the staff was able to amaze you with their hospitality. We try to create an exciting vibe here at the Aloft to keep our guests entertained and engaged. Our Wxyz bartenders create great specialty drinks and the rooftop lounge you mentioned is also an exciting venue to relax and enjoy the Brooklyn city lights. We hope to see you back in the near future. Thank you for the great comment - we love it!

Wishing you safe travels throughout the year! JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft New York Brooklyn

Address: 216 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft New York Brooklyn 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the Brooklyn Bridge and downtown Manhattan, Aloft Brooklyn offers a hip and exciting accommodation with an urban-influenced design and a social scene that's always a buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Aloft New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft New York Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.