We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft New York Brooklyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft New York Brooklyn to your Saves list
Aloft New York Brooklyn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   216 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Brooklyn
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Clean, simple, well designed rooms, comfortable beds. Helpful, no-fuss staff. Close to subways and 2 or 3 stops to Manhattan, plus easy walking distance to the more hip restaurant and bar areas of Brooklyn.

When booking a room with a 'city view', don't expect this to be of Manhattan, we had a nice view but of what city we were never really quite sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    275
    99
    49
    45
See reviews for
160
206
49
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a nice modern property in a great part of BK.

There are plenty of places to walk to if you want to eat, drink, or see the city lights. I don't think that there are issues with feeling safe, but what do I know...Im a city girl as well.

The rooms are on the small size, and I am not crazy about the bathroom setup (there is a sliding door that seperates the bathroom from the hotel area). However the bed was nice and I dont remember there being any issues with items not functioning properly in the room.

There is a nice rooftop lounge and there was a really nice party while I was there labor day weekend. The bar staff appeared to be accomodating and I had no complaints at all. There is also a nice lobby bar and the bartendar was quite nice.

The lobby also has a morning paper and you can get coffe and tea while chilling out.

I would stay here again and plan to one day soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first stay at aloft in Brooklyn and it was a very positive experience. It is close to multiple subway stops and there are a few restaurants in walking distance. The decor was modern and fun. Staff was polite. My one complaint would be the lack of drawer space. There is only hanging space for clothing and not enough for two people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always stay here when staying in Brooklyn...FABO!. This place gets better and better every time I visit. The staff are fabulous, bar XYZ that's located in the lobby has awesome drinks, and rooms are very spacious; not like other hotels im New York. The hotel in located right in downtown Brooklyn with many shopping malls that's surrounded. I booked through priceline this time due to last minute planning and recieved and awesome deal and was still treated with same awesome service. Usually hotels treat you different when you book through second or third parties. The hotel is located next to a Brooklyn Night Club. Beds are comfortable with 42in HD tv in rooms. Nice Job Team Once Again. Thanks

Room Tip: Middle floor rooms are the bes(12-16).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at Aloft for a business trip which was my first time in Brooklyn. The hotel was very clean and had an European feel. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful. My room was cozy (small) but I was aware of this prior to check in. The shower was great and the TV was an nice addition (42" HD). My only complaint was the room temperature. The staff tried to fix it, but I could not get my room cool. Next time I will test the air before unpacking!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Repentigny
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at aloft Brooklyn for a long week-end to visit NYC.
We arrive earlier in the morning and our room was not ready so they for free kept our luggages until our room was ready.
The room was clean. Big shower.
In a few minutes from Hoyt metro station and 10 minutes from NYC downtown.
The hotel is near from many boutiques and a big Macy's store.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed at Aloft in the Spring of 2012 to see a show at BAM, which is within easy walking distance of the hotel. It was my first time in downtown Bklyn and I drove to get there. The hotel has valet pkg which was handy and the parking lot is located a half block away, where I picked up the car. The front desk staff at Aloft was efficient but not very warm and fuzzy; The receptionist seemed put off having to give us directions on how to get to BAM on foot. The hotel does not have dinner service so we went next door to the Sheraton where we had a very good steak dinner. The room was designed for a business traveler with desks, plug-ins etc. I was traveling with another woman and we asked for a room with two double beds. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom area was quite small and cramped and the closet was an open air hanging area. The beds were comfortable and clean. The one thing I really did not care for at all was the lighting in the room--very harsh purple-ish flourescent lighting. In the morning we had breakfast at the take out counter in teh lobby--they offer do it yourself espresso, tea and rolls that are kind of pricey. If you are not in a rush, a walk around the corner to Starbucks would be more satisfying and probably less expensive. Overall, for what we needed the hotel was fine. I returned to downtown Bklyn to see a concert at Barclays Center in December 2012 and chose to stay at the Sheraton next door which I think has nicer rooms than Aloft and a friendlier staff, but no real complaints at all about Aloft.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#17 of 54 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#6 of 54 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#3 of 54 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
3.3 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 54 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#1 of 54 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft New York Brooklyn

Address: 216 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft New York Brooklyn 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the Brooklyn Bridge and downtown Manhattan, Aloft Brooklyn offers a hip and exciting accommodation with an urban-influenced design and a social scene that's always a buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aloft New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft New York Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.