We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing value, brand new hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of aloft New York Brooklyn

Save Saved
You added aloft New York Brooklyn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
aloft New York Brooklyn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   216 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #18 of 50 hotels in Brooklyn
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“amazing value, brand new hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

a room that would cost double if not triple in manhattan. the subway stop is right around the corner and takes 15 min to get to soho. not bad at all. blazing fast free internet was also a plus. they key factor is that the hotel is still brand new. i would def. recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
TronicMusic,

Wow and love the vibe that you gave the Aloft Brooklyn. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit and we cannot wait for your return.

Thanks again,
Timothy Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    196
    86
    42
    33
See reviews for
117
148
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cundy's Harbor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We travel to Brooklyn from Maine regularly to visit our daughters and grandkids. Over the last decade, we've tried most hotels in Brooklyn, and none made us want to return. The aLoft was a great surprise. Almost brand new, everything worked. The lobby is a high energy place, with fresh fruit and pastries and boxed lunches (as well as pretty good coffee, and a pool table with a street view). The lobby had some cool places to hang out, and the lobby bar ("wxyz") serves killer Martinis. The room was well designed, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, free WiFi. The finish level was quite nice. Storage space is at a premium, but this is a New York hotel with a retail rate of less than $500, so that shouldn't be a surprise.
We found the staff very well informed and helpful.
They have room service, provided by the (comparatively very staid) Sheraton next door.
The neighborhood is one of Brooklyn's oldest shopping areas, with lots of retail energy.
Don't believe your GPS. Duffield is recently a one way going the opposite way your GPS thinks it goes-you have to actually read the signs.
We've already booked our next trip. This is a great place, great folks, great location and you can't beat the price. Book 'em Danno.

Room Tip: Reading the other comments here, we asked for a low room (Fl 3) and it was as quiet as a Maine night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Jack,

WOW thank you for your comments. I am soo glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the shopping and accomodations just to let you know more shops are opening in the next few months. I know that you stated that you booked your next trip so please ask for me at the Talent Desk and have a Drink on us!

Thanks Again,

Timothy Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Maryland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed over a weekend prior to a trade show in N.Y.C. What a great find and so convenient to N.Y.C. We explored the local area by foot and kept the car on the parking lot. We checked out the winter Brooklyn Flea Mkt.(the old bldg. is a marvel). The local restaurant row on Smith Street was fantastic with something for everyone. Our favorites: Shelsky's a must see;Bien Cuit Bakery(Wow!);a Thai was excellent;and a Middle Eastern Rest(Can't remember the name) was the best.
The local neighborhood near the hotel is undergoing change,but, we had no problems. We walked over to the nearby Brooklyn Bridge and explored the walkway halfway to Manhattan.
Fantastic!

jsl

Room Tip: Due to upstairs nightclub, go for rooms under the 18th floor. The staff is very young and could do a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Studehawk,

Thank you for your comments regarding the Aloft Brooklyn. I am sooo happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and was able to experience the many eating possiblities in the area. We will look forward to your next visit to brooklyn.

Thanks again,
Tim Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is the first I've ever stayed at where the photos on the website match what you actually get! It's gorgeous and very hip! And you can't beat the price! It was within walking distance to the theatre I had tickets for and there were many stores and restaurants within walking distance. Subways were available if you wanted to go anywhere else. The staff is very helpful and can answer all your questions. Bed was comfortable, I loved the modern style bathroom! Rooms was spacious and extremely clean. I keep recommending it to everyone. I'm going back next month!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Stratvius,

I am soo happy that you enjoyed the hotel and you were able to see in nice play in the City. We pride ourselves with great service here at the Aloft Brooklyn and hope you come visit us again in the near future.

Thanks again,
Tim Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is a great hotel in a great location at a great price. Rooms are nice but have excellent views (Normally I stay at the Brooklyn Bridge Marriott and I always have a view of the building next door lol) But there are currently no buildings blocking the views from the aLoft. There also is street parking available but read the signs carefully. We stayed 3 days, went out and about everyday, and still were able to find street parking everytime we returned. The cops do read the meters (We got one ticket for an expired meter) and they have some weird parking rules where between 12AM and 3AM you can only park on one side of the street on Mon, Wed, and Fri, then on the other side on Tues, Thurs, and Sat so for overnight you have to make sure to read the signs carefully. But this was only on the street in front of the hotel so if you dont want to deal with it just check one of the streets behind or next to the hotel. I dont have any complaints at all except no free continental breakfast but thats not a big deal as there are many delis, etc within a block of the hotel. Or you can eat in the sheraton, a sister hotel right next to it. We paid $101 a night and stayed last Thurs-Sunday

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloft_Brooklyn, General Manager at aloft New York Brooklyn, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
J Paul White,

Thank you for your response and I am so happy you gave our hotel a chance because you have many choices in this market and you chose us. I am happy that you enjoyed the service and the hotel amenities next time that you are in Brooklyn please come see us again and we can give you some exciting attractions to visit on your next trip out.

Thanks again,
Tim Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights during mid December and choose this hotel mainly through cost of stopping in Manhattan. See some people complaining about taxi's unable to locate it but did not have that problem myself straight from JFK, just lucky I suppose!!
The local area is fine, didn’t feel unsafe at anytime. Surrounded by numerous subway lines for quick easy access to Manhattan. Some great local deli's around for breakfast, Good local restaurants also for dinner, thought 5 guys nearby was a great place.
Very hip and relaxing hotel, room was cleaned everyday and bottled water and coffee items replaced along also.
Only issue myself personally is the night club, we were given a room directly below it and when checking in we were not given any information or choice to locate elsewhere.
It was fine stopping midweek but come Saturday were woken up around 1am with what sounded like a US Marine platoon marching till 4am.
Raised an issue with the front desk and after apologising said it was just for that night and was closed Sundays, guess what Sunday night off it went again!!!
On the Monday asked to speak to management directly about the 2 nights disturbance and was compensated in way of a free night at any Starwood hotel of my choice.
Would not of had a problem if when checking in the hotel staff would make customers aware who are stopping in the higher floors about the problem and give the option to locate lower down.

Can not fault the hotel other than that, a great choice to stop.

Mini fridge in the room which is empty, to be able to keep drinks or food in a big plus. A small shop is just located 20 meters next door, to load up on beer to help with drinking the weak American slop.
Closet space is a bit of a joke, 5 coat hangers to store your clothes...... With 2 people stopping for 5 days, living out of suitcases is the only option!! (please see photo)

Room Tip: Lower level rooms during weekend stays. Nightclub not open during weekdays so not a problem, bonus o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Like so many other guests before me, I checked this hotel out on TripAdvisor first. It sounded OK and the price seemed competitive, so given my existing familiarity with many other Starwood properties, I chose the hotel for my stay in the NY Metro area. This review is going to include a wide number of points, so let me first talk about the good stuff, then I'll deal with the areas of greatest concern, which simply must drive the rating down...

Location: The hotel is located close to mass transportation and to one of Brooklyn's popular shopping areas, the Fulton Mall. It appeared for all intents and purposes to be a relatively safe neighborhood, with foot traffic late into the evening. Getting to Manhattan is quick and easy, but getting to La Guardia is less so. The area is frequently described as being "in transition," but more than that, it is an area where there is some legitimate animosity about the encroachment these new properties are having on the old neighborhood, so don't be surprised to see posters or graffiti in opposition to the 'modernization.'

Design: The hotel is visually well-designed, and for those familiar with Virgin Atlantic Upper Class and all the associated perks, you'll find yourself in rather familiar territory. The decor is upscale, chic, yet not austere or cold.

Rooms: The rooms are nicely laid out, and the beds are phenomenally comfortable. The pillows are also exceptional and they are generous in letting you have more of them if you like, which I did. The bathroom and shower are nice, with very good water pressure, but there is no comfort lock on the door, and because of the strange manner in which it is deployed, the shower handle could very easily be bumped by a child with rather unpleasant results. The WiFi signal is good and complementary. The flat panel televisions are nice, but reception is occasionally spotty with regular image degradation or signal loss - this was not unique to one room.

That was the good stuff, and if you only read that, you'd think holy smokes, what could have happened that caused this not to be rated as a 5-star dream hotel... So here goes:

I mentioned that the location is good for public transportation, but the staff and local cab companies have difficulties with the location. A staffer told me he had no idea how to reach the hotel by automobile, and repeated efforts to find the place by name left cabbies clueless.

Next, this hotel, despite all its wonderful features, has some major problems the first of which is that the nightclub that was put on the top floor renders at least the top 6 floors utterly useless if you intend to sleep from Thursday through Saturday night. You see, the club is only accessed via an entrance a few doors down next to the adjacent Sheraton, but the elevator shafts for Aloft all terminate right on the dance floor! So the noise from the club doesn't only reverberate through the floors and walls, it also echoes down the shafts so that even 5 floors below, the din is like having a party outside your room until 0300 each night!
The staff is apologetic about this, but they insist that management leaves their hands tied regarding the noise. Either way, the problem is that they can't decide if they want to be a night club with some rooms, or a hotel with a club on top. Until this issue is resolved, don't bother booking a room above the 18th floor when the club is open. Incidentally, this is not an age thing, or a hip thing, this is a hotel thing. Partying should always be optional, not mandatory. When you retire to your room, you should be able to do so at any hour, on any day.

Room service stopped a full 25 minutes before closing time, with no explanation, no excuse, and no apology. Like a number of staff-related incidents, the prevailing attitude was essentially "tough luck, dude. If you wanted to eat, you should have done so earlier!"

And now we've arrived at the main point of contention. While some staffers were responsive and tried their best to work with customers (Alex Siegel comes to mind), others went out of their way seemingly to make sure their arrogant smugness couldn't be overlooked (Steve Broward comes to mind as the superstar of rudeness). I'll grant you that the staff is young, and the hotel is geared toward a younger hip crowd, but that's the same crowd that Virgin Atlantic Upper Class caters to, and you'll never see them sacrifice the comfort of guests so the revelers can rule. Moreover, being young is no excuse for being rude. In over twenty years of a career in which I've lived in hotels for years at a stretch, I've never been spoken to by a hotel staffer with the tone and rudeness of Mr. Broward, who told me pointedly that "my questions and conduct were not very 'loft-like!'" In other words, questioning problems, asking for resolution, and not embracing a careless shrug as an acceptable response made me us undesirable guests.

The problem in general terms is that rather than trying to make guests feel special, the vibe is that you should be glad you got to stay in their way hip and cool hotel, and yes, go ahead and thank them for the pleasure! A hotel that is looking for longevity never banks on their guests not getting older. Nor should hotel staffers start believing their press releases are a reflection of their personal greatness. Their conduct is what distinguishes them, and smugness is never becoming, particularly not with guests.

As with all things in life, it only takes a few rotten apples to trash the barrel, but until those points are dealt with, the rating can't go up.

So while the service of some was pleasant, the overall experience was trashed. Similarly, when undisturbed by the club, the sleep quality was great, but the club dominates the scene from Thursday to Saturday. The value when undisturbed was great, but the racket made that difficult.

Room Tip: Don't book on a floor above 18 from Thursday - Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to aloft New York Brooklyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft New York Brooklyn

Address: 216 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft New York Brooklyn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the Brooklyn Bridge and downtown Manhattan, Aloft Brooklyn offers a hip and exciting accommodation with an urban-influenced design and a social scene that's always a buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your aloft New York Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft New York Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft New York Brooklyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.