We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip into the past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Transit Museum

New York Transit Museum
Corner of Boerum Place and Schermerhorn Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
+1 718-694-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #12 of 114 attractions in Brooklyn
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums, Specialty Shops
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The New York Transit Museum, one of the city's leading cultural institutions, is the largest museum in the United States devoted to urban public transportation history, and one of the premier institutions of its kind in the world. The Museum explores the development of the greater New York Metropolitan region through the presentations of exhibitions, tours, educational programs, and workshops dealing with the cultural, social, and technological history of public transportation. Since its inception over a quarter century ago, the Museum, housed in a historic 1936 IND subway station in Brooklyn Heights, has grown in scope and popularity. As custodian and interpreter of the region's extensive public transportation networks, the Museum strives to share, through its public programs, this rich and vibrant history with local, regional, and international audiences.
F'burg
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A trip into the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Take a ride on an old bus or subway car. The Transit Museum is fun for children and for the entire family.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    80
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wish we had our grandchildren with us.... but we had a great time too...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We enjoyed the exhibits and displays. The fact that a lot of them were "hands on" made us think that if we had our grandchildren with us, they would have really enjoyed it...... Be sure to keep going to each level.... since it is located in a formerly used subway station, when you get to the lowest level they have a fabulous display of subway cars right on the original platform. It is so interesting to see even the ads in the old cars!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent a couple of hours here before my flight home to London. Pretty interesting exhibits - mostly buses and subway trains but also the odd street sign and ticket barrier. Not too busy either as its a bit out of the way. Set in an old subway station so entirely underground and quite big. Look out for the resident cat!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento area
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Already Fabulous Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We walked across the Brooklyn Bridge and practically stumbled onto this gem in Brooklyn. This place is located in an unused subway terminal and is a perfect combination of the history and technology of the early NY subway system throught the present. If you have the least bit of interest in how this system was built and how it operates, you will find something of interest here. And the price may be the biggest bargain in NYC ($5.00 per senior).

Kids should love the interactive technology demonstrations and models. Adults, too. And there are two levels below the street; the lowest level contains dozens of old and newer transit cars, all of which can be entered with period lighting and posters, lined up on either side of the platform.

We found a security guard who works there for MTA who was happy to tell us anything we wanted to know about the system, and then some. He pointed out some exhibits that we would have missed otherwise.

We visited on a weekday at about noon and there was no huge crowd to distract us. Skip some other attractiopns in NYC and venture over to Brooklyn to see this remarkable look into the MTA history.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic but not engaging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

There was a lot of interesting history here, but the displays were just so so and didn't engage my childrens' interest for long enough. and they love everything related to trains, models, real trains etc. Definitely if you have extra time, stop by, but if you don't you won't have missed something essential.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Transit Museum also viewed

 

Been to New York Transit Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Transit Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New York Transit Museum to your Saves list