We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip into the past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Transit Museum

New York Transit Museum
Corner of Boerum Place and Schermerhorn Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
718-694-1600
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #11 of 112 attractions in Brooklyn
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Recently re-opened after extensive renovations, the museum contains one hundred years of transit lore and memorabilia. Housed in an authentic 1930's subway station, the new galleries and exhibits, many of which have interactive components, will thrill transportation and history buffs alike.
F'burg
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A trip into the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Take a ride on an old bus or subway car. The Transit Museum is fun for children and for the entire family.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    65
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wish we had our grandchildren with us.... but we had a great time too...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We enjoyed the exhibits and displays. The fact that a lot of them were "hands on" made us think that if we had our grandchildren with us, they would have really enjoyed it...... Be sure to keep going to each level.... since it is located in a formerly used subway station, when you get to the lowest level they have a fabulous display of subway cars right on the original platform. It is so interesting to see even the ads in the old cars!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent a couple of hours here before my flight home to London. Pretty interesting exhibits - mostly buses and subway trains but also the odd street sign and ticket barrier. Not too busy either as its a bit out of the way. Set in an old subway station so entirely underground and quite big. Look out for the resident cat!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento area
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Already Fabulous Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We walked across the Brooklyn Bridge and practically stumbled onto this gem in Brooklyn. This place is located in an unused subway terminal and is a perfect combination of the history and technology of the early NY subway system throught the present. If you have the least bit of interest in how this system was built and how it operates, you will find something of interest here. And the price may be the biggest bargain in NYC ($5.00 per senior).

Kids should love the interactive technology demonstrations and models. Adults, too. And there are two levels below the street; the lowest level contains dozens of old and newer transit cars, all of which can be entered with period lighting and posters, lined up on either side of the platform.

We found a security guard who works there for MTA who was happy to tell us anything we wanted to know about the system, and then some. He pointed out some exhibits that we would have missed otherwise.

We visited on a weekday at about noon and there was no huge crowd to distract us. Skip some other attractiopns in NYC and venture over to Brooklyn to see this remarkable look into the MTA history.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic but not engaging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

There was a lot of interesting history here, but the displays were just so so and didn't engage my childrens' interest for long enough. and they love everything related to trains, models, real trains etc. Definitely if you have extra time, stop by, but if you don't you won't have missed something essential.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Transit Museum also viewed

 

Been to New York Transit Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Transit Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.