We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Brooklyn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NU Hotel to your Saves list
NU Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Smith Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Special -Save 10%
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Brooklyn
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Brooklyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I booked our sales team meeting here and it was just perfect. The staff is really attentive although my favorite was Rebecca at the front desk. The rooms are really cool, perfect location for restaurants, shopping and getting to manhattan. Look no further. I can't wait to book a room for personal travel and I live a half hour away! Awesome. The lobby turning into bar at night is perfect and Christina the resident mixologist was awesome!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
You are definitely a great sales person, I want to stay here, and I work here! ;) "Look no further" indeed. This is awesome, thank you so much. We'll see you for your next sales team trip, we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    200
    55
    24
    12
See reviews for
132
216
65
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We came to Brooklyn to help our kids move. The NU hotel was a perfect place to retreat after working - great location, helpful staff, comfortable beds, spacious room for NYC, continental breakfast. Plus there are many good restaurants within the immediate area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We hope the move went well, and that they were moving into, and not out of, the neighborhood!! Glad we were able to be a comfortable retreat after moving all day, and I know your kids appreciated the parental help with all those boxes!! Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Excellent place - great rooms and great breakfast! We have had the pleasure of 3 visits now and will definitely return especially after the exceptional service we received this last visit from Michael and his team when there was an unexpected problem with the air-con. Their customer service was second-to none. See you again next year when we make our annual visit to see the family. Regards Jeanette and John :)

Room Tip: We have always chosen a King on the inner rooms - never been disappointed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the breakfast using local coffee and produce. I love the policy of encouraging you not to change the towels daily but to re-use - you really do not need to change them they are amazing - best hotel towels ever!
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
This is such a nice review, thank you so much! Although we would love to NEVER have a problem, it's good to know that our efforts to fix the unexpected error do not go unnoticed. This is really refreshing to read, and I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to review the hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you back next year, and on every trip to Brooklyn. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Needed a good hotel in downtown Brooklyn within walking distance of my meetings. The NU worked out beautifully. I would definitely return. The room was somewhat small but it wasn't a problem for one person.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for your review! We love our very walkable neighborhood, and it is convenient to many Downtown offices. We'll look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I had never been to Brooklyn, NY before and I went for business. The staff was incredible!! I mean beyond AWESOME! They were super friendly, helpful and accommodating! I could not ask for more! Dan was especially wonderful. We just loved him!!!!! What a great guy! We had a small issue with our room and he fixed it within minutes. I've never had service like that before.

The hotel has a very European feel to me. The lobby is small, but cozy. They offer free breakfast in the mornings until 11am - also incredible! Plenty of seating on sofas, a long high top table and other bench style seats. I was impressed with their service and their coziness. We sat in the lobby on several occasions and chatted with people, waited for others to arrive. Very inviting.

The rooms were really clean and sleek - simple. We had a stunning corner room with windows on 2 sides that wrapped around the corner of the building. It was really nice to have so much light. Our bathroom was nice and large - big counter top, separate room with a door for the toilet and a nice big shower with a waterfall shower head and window. I truly loved everything about this bathroom. Also, no carpeting in the rooms, which I loved, they had hard wood floors. Great idea.

One thing to note is that it is directly across from a detention center. I had not noticed it until we got our room. I felt very safe in the hotel and walking around Brooklyn, but thought it was worth mentioning. I would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
This is a wonderful review, thanks so much. Sounds like you have found your home away from home in our little Brooklyn hotel, and that is just fine with us!! We look forward to seeing you again soon, and Dan says hello! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Ideal location, great price, clean and nice looking rooms and amenities, it is a great hotel to stay if you're looking at something close to the city, but yet, not crazy expensive! The staff is really friendly and happen to speak several languages.
Go check it out!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We agree with you on all points! ;) Thanks Leila D.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

It is hard to find a hotel in Brooklyn, and we wanted something small and near the interesting neighborhoods, and Nu fits that bill. It's in the BOCOCA area: midway from Boerum Hill, Cobble Hill, Carroll Gardens. The lobby is tiny and noisy and the "reception" desk is a tiny area, with no place to stand without blocking the elevator, and it is slow and difficult to check in. The staff are pleasant but not very knowledgable about the area, so you are on your own. The complimentary continental breakfast is OK, but you'll want to really eat at one of the many excellent breakfast places nearby. There are helpful travel materials in the lobby, so grab those. The gym downstairs is excellent - far better than most much larger hotels. There is a bar but it's really the lobby, same space as the breakfast and the reception area. And the outdoor seating on Smith street is across from the Detention Center, so it's not exactly scenic, and certainly noisy. Smith Street has many bars and cheap eats, but very little that's very nice. Same for Atlantic Avenue. Court Street is somewhat better. The location is a few blocks from various subway stations, and a good walk from Brooklyn Heights and Dumbo, and very near downtown Brooklyn, which you are unlikely to care about unless you are there on business. Most of the guests appears to be from Europe, and I wonder why they are choosing Brooklyn over Manhattan. The street noise from the room, even on the 15th floor, is noticeable but not terrible. The room is just big enough, and the bed is comfortable. Clean room, very high ceiling, adequate drawers, tiny closet, small bathroom but nice shower; our safe did not work and they failed to fix it. It's too bad there aren't more hotel options in Brooklyn.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor facing north, towards Borough Hall. Do Not face Smith Street!
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice, soft towels and plenty of them. Tiny lights in room but they work well.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your review of your stay! We consider the reviews like this the most valuable feedback that we can receive. It's not the guests that are singing our praises as they dance out the door nor is it the ones that are screaming at the front desk (not that we ever have any of those!!) that make me lose sleep at night. We know where we stand with those guests. It's the guests like you, the ones who are not Wow'ed, the ones with a completely "meh" experience from whom we have the most knowledge to gain. Nothing went terribly wrong here, but nothing went over the top RIGHT either and that is my concern. Neighborhood knowledge should be a given with our staff. It's a constant work in progress, staying on top of new businessess and restaurants as they open and close, but it's also our job. I will bring this review to our team's attention to emphasize the impact that the area knowledge has on a guest's stay. We do love our neighborhood and will have to respectfully disagree about the restaurants on Smith Street. ;) In such a walkable neighborhood, with brownstones and Barney's as well as the House of Detention, we do enjoy the unique aspects of our quintessentially Brooklyn corner of the world. Our guests usually do too! Should you want to return, please feel free to reach out to me directly. I would be happy to handle your booking myself and put together a personalized list of recommendations for things to do and see and eat in our neighborhood! I'll make sure your safe is in perfect working order too. Thanks again for taking your time to review NU. We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Address: 85 Smith Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Brooklyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NU Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.