We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, relaxing & squeaky clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NU Hotel

Save Saved
You added NU Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NU Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Smith Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
King Room Special
Ranked #8 of 50 hotels in Brooklyn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jamestown
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Safe, relaxing & squeaky clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have to travel to Brooklyn frequently for business & have been looking for a nice hotel with easy access to the trains. I love that the hotel is "Green", that there is no carpeting in the rooms, and the location of the hotel! The staff was super friendly and the quiet room I had on the fourth floor was blissfully quiet for sleeping. Also, there are so many restaurants in walking distance to the hotel- all this makes it nice for someone traveling alone who wants the energy of the city and safety too!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the cork floors, comfy beds & pillows, eco friendly toiletries, recycling bin in the room & minimal printed materials. No allergy issues- AWESOME!
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review of your experience! Aside from the hotel one of the best amenities we have is our location. This is where true New Yorkers and Brooklynites live. The shopping scene in the day and dining scene at night are like no other. I'm pleased you enjoyed your experience at NU and in Brooklyn. Sounds like we'll be seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    180
    50
    24
    12
See reviews for
106
201
60
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is close to the subway, Close to Smith and Court Street for convenience to great dining, and in a nice safe neighborhood. The rooms are stark and a bit worn in terms of needing paint and a little TLC to restore to a grander time. Our price was more than this hotel was worth and not much difference from Manhattan when all was said and done and travel costs to the city were accounted for. It was clean, convenient, and the staff was very friendly. That being said, I will find a more updated hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for writing a review about your experience. Please accept my apologies for not 100% meeting your expectations. I would like to note that we are undergoing a complete property refresh/renovation in January 2014. I agree that it's time and through feedback like this it justifies the owners investment. We look to add a little color into the room along with all new drapes, bed, furniture, hardwood flooring and significant technology upgrades like FIBER internet access (highest speed on the market), bluetooth audio clock radios and energy efficient air conditioning system. I'd be happy to share the renderings with you so you can see what we have planned. You can reach me at gm@nuhotelbrooklyn.com. When ready to give us another opportunity please feel free to reach out to me directly. I'd welcome the opportunity to recover your trust in our service and product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

While this hotel has very nice large rooms, my experience in trying to sleep in one of them was not good. When I checked in, the hotel was full and my room on the 2nd floor was above some kind of activity that sounded like an assembly line with massive "kerplunks" as something heavy dropped to the floor every 15 seconds. I asked to switch rooms, but there were none to be had. The noise ended around 1 AM but resumed at 6 in the morning. The desk clerks said they had no idea as to where the noise was coming from, but refused to send someone up to verify it or locate its source.

Room Tip: higher floors may be better, but I'll never know since I won't be back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. This is disappointing to hear. Our goal is always to provide a memorable experience but obviously in a positive nature. I'm puzzled to hear about this noise. I know we certainly were not doing any late night work. Perhaps it may have been other tenants in the building (we're connected to private condos). Nevertheless I will review the concern with the Chief Engineer and do what we have to do to correct the problem. I truly hope you give us another opportunity in the future. Please reach out to me so I can personally arrange your next visit. I'd also like to offer some type of compensation for the inconvenience. You should not pay full price for a restless night. You can reach me at gm@nuhotelbrooklyn.com. Again, please accept my sincere apologies. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay in the NU Hotel but after a friendly welcome, it didn´t meet the expectations.
Location is good, staff was friendly and helpful in the beginning, but the room was more average than what you expect for a modern boutique hotel.

But the last day there really was disappointing. First we woke up at 9:15 am because room service went from door to door knocking to see who was still in his room (on a sunday morning...), which specially made sense since we would leave that day and either we were gone and the reception would be able to know, either not and it wouldn´t make any sense to "refresh" the room... And after trying to sleep again we had to hurry after arriving at the breakfast buffet at 10:40 (officially opened until 11 am) because a group from a wedding would have reserved the room after that, sothat everything was carried away and by 10:50 there was nothing left except for coffee. That´s not what you expect for a sunday morning in this kind of hotel.
So maybe it´s just a one time thing, but unfortunately being in Brooklyn is also not a daily thing when you come from far away. Disappointing experience, even if the rest of our stay in Brooklyn was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. This is equally disappointing for us as it was for you. We sincerely put our best efforts forward with every interaction with our guests. It appears you enjoyed your overall experience with the exception of Housekeeping knocking on the door and breakfast not being available 10 minutes before 11AM. It's unfortunate these experiences soured your overall impression. I'm not one for excuses so I will not provide any. We will take this feedback and learn from it. Rest assured we have followed up with the Housekeeping and Food & Beverage team to ensure these type of concerns do not occur again. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you son in Brooklyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Loved our first visit to Brooklyn-and the location of the NU hotel was perfect for big time walkers.
A women at the front desk when found out that we love to walk, advised us to walk to the new Brooklyn Bridge park and it was terrific, we even decided to walk the bridge. I would definitely
recommend this hotel for the nice staff, well appointed room and location. Nearly forgot to say that Smith street and Atlantic are amazing streets to eat and shop.

Green Features: I was impressed with the very green practices that they had instituted-love it!
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Brooklyn is certainly a walkers, runners and bikers paradise. Fantastic views of Manhattan from Brooklyn Bridge Park. I'm pleased you were able to experience it! We look forward to having you back as our guest real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After years when visiting New York City meant Manhattan, we were lured by a concert at the new Barclay Center to venture across the East River and spend a night in Brooklyn. We chose the Nu Hotel based primarily on its proximity (about a mile) from the Barclay Center. The hotel is also convenient to “downtown Brooklyn” and its shopping. The hotel is additionally located a few walking minutes from several subway stops, and you can get you to Times Square in less than a half hour. A taxi ride to midtown Manhattan would be pretty pricy; the cost would be a bit less so, maybe $20 or so to lower Manhattan.
We drove in from Connecticut, and found the hotel easy to find. You take exit 27 off I-278 (the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway, BQE) follow the signs to Atlantic Avenue, and in about a mile take a left onto Smith St. The hotel is the third door from the corner, and we missed it the first time. There is parking just to the left of the entrance, with a reasonable overnight rate (no in and out) of $25.
The hotel strives for a boutique, urban hip atmosphere. The sparse check-in desk was staffed by a jeans-clad receptionist. There were some welcoming cookies. We had booked a queen ($275), a room rate that was relatively modest compared to other good hotels in Brooklyn. When we check in, we were pleased to be told we had been upgraded to a suite. Alas, that upgrade was less than it might seem. The presumably somewhat larger area of the suite was taken up mostly by a small round table with a couple of Danish modern chairs and a two-tier bunk bed. The chairs reflect the general modern décor with lots of white, black, chrome, etc. We did not venture into the bunk bed, but the king was very confortable, and good linens, lots of pillows, and a bolster good for TV watching. The TV was mounted on the wall at a good height for watching, but, the lower right corner was obscured by a light fixture hanging from the ceiling.
The prison-grey enamel on the bunk bed also, probably unintentionally, picked up the view from our window, which was right across from the massive (block square, 10 stories high) Brooklyn Detention Center and its barred windows and razor wire fencing along roof areas. This bit of urban reality show, at least to us, added to the urban cool of the hotel. Certainly, it presented no security threat. The center and the adjacent and equally massive Brooklyn Central Court are attended by a small army of corrections and police officers, making are area probably one of the safer locations in the city.
Even as a suite, the room was only moderate in size, but it was clean and fairly well appointed with a desk in addition to the table and chairs. The bathroom was fairly spacious, had nice toiletries, lots of good towels. Also good was that there as a separate toilet area with door. The shower was a mixed bag. On the upside, it was a large walk-in. The showerhead was mounted on the ceiling, which gives a relaxing rain-shower effect, but is less effective for getting clean and rinsed off, especially in those “spots,” then is a traditional wall shower mount with a bit more water pressure. On the downside, the control for the shower was on the wall opposite the entry. This meant that you had to stand under the showerhead to turn the water on. Even if you guessed the temperature setting correctly, you inevitably got a shot of cold water on the head before the warm water replaced the water than had cooled in the pipes. If you did not get the setting right, that meant you had to stand in the cascading water fiddling with the control and hoping not to freeze or scald yourself. Another shower drawback was the lack of any handholds. Especially for senior citizens, this presents something of a safety issue.
We generally liked the hotel, but there are other good ones in the borough, and when we return to Brooklyn, our choice of lodging will be based more on our agenda rather than making the Nu Hotel a destination hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for the detailed review! This is the second positive review in a row from such an experienced traveler and TripAdvisor reviewer. I appreciate your open-mindedness on our proximity to the holding facility. We agree that it has somewhat of a positive side effect with all of the security and police in the neighborhood. Oddly, we've even had guest inquire if there were tours of the facility! Nevertheless we march on and continue to strive and be the best hotel in Brooklyn. The honest details given in your review truly speak to our culture at the hotel and in Brooklyn. I'm really pleased to read this and will certainly be sharing it with the entire team. We look forward to having you back as our guest in the near future. Please do hesitate to reach out to me personally so I can help arrange your next visit. Thanks again for the comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middleton, wisconsin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the NU Hotel for a weekend in September when in Brooklyn for a family wedding.
We enjoy boutique hotels and this was an enjoyable stay. We had a king room which was comfortable. The stay included a complementary breakfast each morning. The food selection was nice, however, the layout in the lobby was very crowded. There is a nice bar in the lobby and they also serve food, although we did not eat at the hotel other than breakfast.

Room Tip: We were located on the 3rd floor and found the room to be comfortable and quiet. We did not hear mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for the great review! It's nice to hear this from such an experienced traveler and TripAdvisor reviewer. Let's us know we're on the right track. We have noticed the layout can be cumbersome at times in the lobby when full. We're looking at reposition some of the furniture to open it up a bit. We're hoping these adjustment will help with the flow. We look forward to your return to the hotel and Brooklyn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Address: 85 Smith Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#8 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Brooklyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NU Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.