We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NU Hotel to your Saves list
NU Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Smith Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

On the positive side: Excellent location near shops, restaurants and the subway. The bed is very comfortable - nice linens and fluffy pillows. Staff is friendly and helpful.

On the negative side: Pricey for what you get. The floor is either bare linoleum or covered with carpet squares without padding. You have to go to the lobby to fill the ice bucket. Chairs in the room are very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Make sure you at least get a room with the carpet squares and not plain linoleum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to write about your experience. We would have loved to WOW you on your experience. My apologies we may have fallen a little short. The floors are actually cork. This is a very eco friendly material. Some guest appreciate there s no carpet actually. In other rooms we have carpeted the room with FLOR tiles. The feedback has generally been very good. I was share your comments with the Designer of the hotel. We are preparing for a property refresh in early January. We'll certainly consider your comments during the process. Thanks fot sharing and we ope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    216
    58
    25
    12
See reviews for
144
233
68
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved it. Everything you want from a more boutique style hotel. Me and a few friends were over for a wedding in Manhattan but decided to stay in Brooklyn. Believe the Brooklyn hype - and the reviews of the hotel. Loved the location - loads of cool shops, bards et nearby. The hotel is clean, modern, the staff are great - there is Just a nice vibe to the place. Nothing more to say. Ill be back. For more free cookies.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thanks for the great review! You certainly made the right choice by staying in Brooklyn. The hype is definitely real and we're pleased you chose our hotel for your first experience. We look forward to having you back as out guest in the near future. No worries, the cookies will be here waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Pretty cool find - close to metro stations, bars, shops, easy walk to the Brooklyn Bridge too.

Our room was nice, kitted out well - nicely decorated bathroom, everything clean.

Breakfast wasn't anything super - just basic buffet style, which was fine for us - bagel and fruit to set us up for the day.

Reception staff were helpful on a few occassions with our queries.

I'd recommend to a friend, and stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review! It means a lot to see a seasoned reviewer like yourself give us such praise. We work hard to be the best hotel in NYC and it's great to see our efforts are noticed. Thanks for the comment on Breakfast. We're always trying to improve our product. We recently revamped the offerings and so far they have been well received. We'll continue to get better in this area. Thanks again for the feedback. We hope to see you back at NU soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice staff, good location in Brooklyn. Room badly in need of renovation: air conditioner clanked, floor of vinyl tiles scarred and coming up, towels ancient, one luggage caddy (a double room, that usually means 2 people) and so on. No rug or carpet for tired feet. Don't know why this hotel has good reviews.

Room Tip: Is there one?
See more room tips
Green Features: Just the usual card in the room about reusing the towels.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks for the review. We value feedback like this and take it very seriously. We do a very god job of maintaining our hotel as many other reviews will reflect. We all work very hard to provide the best customer service not only in Brooklyn but in New York City. I wish you would have provided the us the opportunity to make it right during your stay. I'm confident had we known of your concerns we would have responded immediately and you would have been 100% satisfied. Please feel free to email me directly to discuss further at info@nuhotelbrooklyn.com. Thanks again for taking the time and we hope to see you again in the future so we can show you how we truly operate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Overall this is a cool place. The lobby is really small but very well designed. There's a cute little bar and the breakfast is great. The vibe is very hip and young. The rooms were decent size, and clean BUT we had a few problems at check in. My business associate was given a room that was already occupied, luckily no one was in the actual room when she entered but all there stuff was. Her second room- the AC didn't work so for her the third time was the charm. For me, the bed was comfy and I slept well but my AC didn't work well either. I had set it on 70 and the room never got below 78 (which was warmer than it was outside.) Overall the staff was super friendly and helpful but they have a few kinks to work out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write this honest review. Please accept my personal apologies for the hiccups during your colleagues and your stay. Unacceptable. I'm not one for excuses so I will not provide any. We simply should have done a better job of managing the situation to the point where you were 100% satisfied. We will learn from this review and get better. I hope you will give us another opportunity to make things right in the future. Please email me directly at info@nuhotelbrooklyn.com for any future visits. I would like to offer my personal assistance. I guarantee your next stay will be a memorable one. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was expecting a tiny hotel room in NYC. Not at all. The size of the room is decent. The bathroom was designed nicely. I discovered a chalkboard on the wall behind the toilet that I could draw on. I feel like a hipster staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thanks for the review! Anyone who stays in Brooklyn should feel like a hipster! Our style, product and service is guided by our neighborhood and culture. Nice to see it rubbing off on our guests! Next time take a picture of your artwork on the Chalkboard and share it with us on Facebook! Look forward to having you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here in 2012 as part of a 16 day LA/NYC trip. We normally stay in Manhattan but wanted to check out Brooklyn as we had read that it was the place to stay when visiting NYC. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The rooms are large, clean and modern. The management and staff are very welcoming. Even the simple buffet style breakfast where you toast your own bagels etc is a charming experience. Convenient for the subway to Manhattan and to a number of good restaurants. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience! You heard it right. Brooklyn is the place to be in NYC! So much culture and history to see that you my never have to visit Manhattan :) Sounds like we have a new fan and we'll be seeing you again in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Address: 85 Smith Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#6 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, JackRabbit Systems, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Brooklyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NU Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.