We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family outing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Aquarium

New York Aquarium
602 Surf Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11224
718-265-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 114 attractions in Brooklyn
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Situated on 14 acres by the sea in Coney Island, the Aquarium is home to over 8,000 animals. The Aquarium provides an enjoyable experience for the whole family. See friendly walruses, amazing sharks, playful sea otters and so much more. $13 adults, $10 seniors, $9 kids 3-12
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A great family outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The numerous marine exhibits should be a hit with family members of all ages. It's on the ocean and there's a lot to see outside, so dress accordingly in cold weather. Afterward, take a stroll down to boardwalk to nearby Coney Island.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    68
    59
    25
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Under The Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A magical and eye opening day get away for any age. Actually you cant help feeling like a kid. Oohs &aahs especially the Alien Stingers!! Then spend time after on famous Coney Island boardwalk.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great time for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Went to the aquarium with my family as part of my granddaughter's birthday weekend. What great fun for all of us......especially liked the big walrus' that were swimming right in front of us as we watched their antics through the tank. Some of the park was under construction, but there was plenty to see and do to last 3-4 hours. A great time was had by all....especially the birthday girl.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NY Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visited the aquarium couple months ago and it was not that bad but it is geared more towards small children. The seal show is cute and coney island is close by if you are interested in other rides. You can visit this place once.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good for Entertaining Tiny Tots!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We took our two grand daughters there 3.5 and 1.5 years old. They had a great time watching the different fish; the seals feeding and the glow-in-the-dark jelly fish. We also ate in their restaurant and it was ok food served with a terrible attitude! Someone needs to teach them that they have a job because of the customers, they are NOT doing the customers a favor by serving them!

I missed the fact that there is a discount if you buy tickets on line - oh well!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to New York Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New York Aquarium to your Saves list