We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-around comfort, plus much more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sterling Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sterling Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Sterling Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
686 Sterling Place, Brooklyn, NY 11216   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 58 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
“All-around comfort, plus much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

With all of our concerns about our son's wedding at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden, we were delighted to feel that we were going "home" at the end of each hectic day. From the welcoming Kokopelli at the entrance to the intriguing artwork in our room to the family photos in the hallway, we knew we were staying with interesting, intelligent, friendly people. And the books on our shelves! We wish we'd had more time to read and flip through them, but the wedding took up so much of our time. The Garden was an easy walk, another relaxing benefit for me. Breakfasts included fresh fruit and freshly baked scones or croissants, and lovely conversations. My sensitive stomach and my husband's adventurous tastes were both satisfied by restaurants a short walk from the house. The nearby subway quickly took us to Manhattan for the rehearsal dinner and morning-after brunch. (But it was nice to return to a real neighborhood.)

It was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast, and we were amazed by how we could enjoy our privacy and still feel like we were sharing a place with friends. The next weekend, we stayed at a hotel in Long Island for another wedding, and there was such a difference in our attitude. We recognized the hotel smell as soon as we entered. When we dealt with the hotel employees, they were just doing their jobs. The Sterling's owners were our hosts and we were their guests. We had fun at the Sterling!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
31
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
quebec
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Sterling for 4 nights in November 2010. We were looking for something not "too" expensive for New York and were wowed when we found this place over the internet.

We were not disappointed at all, Sterling even exceeded our expectations, and we would love to return on our next trip to NY:.
-Location : it is withing an easy walking distance to subway;
-Room was clean, spacious, lots of light, bed comfortable, and well decorated. The decor was relaxing and tasty.
-Service friendly, welcoming and helpful (owner had great restaurant recommendations of little places in the area)
-Host is exceptionally interesting and we had enjoyable conversations over breakfast
-Speaking of breakfast : awesome fresh pastries every morning, with fruit trays, coffee, cereal, etc. We could not ask for anything else! (my fiance and I still speak of how good those lemon scones were!)

In short : great visit, very good value for money, only positive memories.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This bed & breakfast is very convenient to our son's apartment so I'm sure we'll stay here at least once a year. We enjoy staying in the Cottage - kind of our own little "retreat" spot. The weekend we were here had record-breaking heat, but the air conditioner in the cottage kept up quite nicely. It was too hot to sit outside at the tables in the garden for very long, but I enjoyed reading in the comfy common room on the second floor. The host family is GREAT and will give suggestions of things to do or places to eat. I enjoy the breakfasts which included either scones/muffins/croissants with fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, juice, coffee/tea and more. We had to cancel a previous reservation due to an injury, and they were very sympathetic and accommodating. I haven't seen the rooms inside the house, but I predict that you will enjoy your stay here! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Comfortable room, quiet, delicious & varied breakfasts, very helpful and friendly owners. Convenient location. A short walk gets you to subways for brief ride into Manhattan. The neighborhood is a bit scruffy but safe. Four or five block walk to some good/excellent restaurants. (Try "James" and "Brooklyn Heights Cafe"). The bedroom could use a little more storage space, and the bathroom is tiny (and, in our case, though private, required stepping out into the hall.) We'd definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Nice people, nice place, good location. Much better than a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Masha and family made us feel right at home. The area is great as it is a slice of "real" New York with excellent facitilites nearby - try the Botanic Gardens on a sunny day. Our friends live down the road, and even they were envious! Also worth it just for the amazing home-made scones.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Sterling Bed and Breakfast. Beautiful brownstone, within walking distance of the amazing Botancial Gardens. Misha and David were friendly and gracious hosts to us. The breakfasts were great. Will come back again. Don't miss this lovely treasure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sterling Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Bed and Breakfast

Address: 686 Sterling Place, Brooklyn, NY 11216
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round in Prospect Heights, Sterling Bed & Breakfast is minutes from the Brooklyn Museum and ideally located for adventures in NYC and farther a field. All bedrooms in this elegant 1910 townhouse come with private bathrooms. Enjoy our spacious garden or lounge in our second floor parlor. Masha Hamilton is a novelist and journalist, David Orr a network television editor. Between them, they've lived or worked in Europe, the Middle East, Russia, Africa & Afghanistan. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sterling Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.