We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Jolie

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Jolie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Jolie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Meeker Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 50 hotels in Brooklyn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Solo trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is an efficiently run small hotel with no extra frills in a fairly convenient Williamsburg location. It is apx. 15 minutes from LaGuardia airport, provides parking, great breakfast included in price and friendly informative staff. The small twin bed room I had was enough as I did not spend anytime in it other than sleeping, but it was quiet, easy to control temperature and cleaned well, daily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeJolie, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about Hotel Le Jolie. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    168
    34
    11
    15
See reviews for
148
232
70
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for several nights, and was pleasantly surprised. This used to be a somewhat dicy part of Brooklyn, but it has been mostly transformed in a very positive way. Felt perfectly safe walking around the entire neighborhood. Much of the area is being brought upscale, but there are loads of traditional small businesses and old timers living around here, which gives the area its great New York character.

The hotel is apparently a fairly new building. The room was small, but perfectly adequate. Well kept, clean, and no problems with the utilities (but be warned that the hot water is hotter than I've ever experienced anywhere, so be careful about mixing hot and cold at the faucet and shower)

Continental breakfast available; nothing fancy but good food. Hotel staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. Our room faced right onto the busy expressway across the street, but the noise level was completely acceptable. The double-double windows do a great job of sound insulation.

Two small caveats for potential travelers here:
Hotel parking is very limited in the lot, but plenty of free on-street parking is available, and I think it's safe and reliable.
The air conditioning unit in the room was unreasonably loud, and I guess that's my only significant complaint here. Everything else was terrific.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeJolie, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about Hotel Le Jolie. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a marvelous stay in New York at the Le Jolie Hotel. Very good service and taking care of our personal needs. Reasonably priced considering that is 5' away the L line of the NY subway and 20' from Union Square. The small dimensions of the hotel drives to personalized services, as the guest aren't too many. If possible, take the king size room if staying more than 5 days. The only neg: the position in front of a heavy trafficked highway.
A special mention for the staff for their kindness and their professional attitude: relaxed, attentive to guests' needs and problem solving. We had our stay in NY during the storm Sandy and we were blocked in the hotel for one whole day and we even appreciated it. During the emergency the staff performed at the best.

Room Tip: Avoid the ones in front of the parkway; choose the king size room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell J, Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The Hotel Le Jolie team thanks you so much for selecting our hotel for your lodging needs while in Brooklyn. We also thank you for such kind regards to our service and facilities.

It is our goal at Hotel Le Jolie to provide the very best in guest services and overall experience so we are especially proud of your comments that will be shared with our entire team.

In addition, we have since repaired the door to your guest room and thank you very much for bringing it to our attention.

We would like to invite you back to stay with us on your next visit and to make it easier for you to book. Please contact us directly at reservations@hotellejolie.com and we gladly take your reservation and reply directly with your confirmation.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the very best!

Your Hotel Le Jolie Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we got off the subway and tried to find the Hotel we found the local area a little bit scary, but then we were halfway across the world, jet lagged and unfamiliar with the area. We looked back on this and laughed so don't let first impressions of walking under the bridge put you off. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful and it became our haven for the week. Rooms are modern, spacious by New York standards and very clean. The location is so handy for the subway and it felt like no time till we were in Manhattan. The continental breakfast was spot on and kept us going through the day, if your looking for somewhere which is value for money but still a nice hotel this is it. We will definately be returning in the future and look back at our holiday here with great memories.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeJolie, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about Hotel Le Jolie. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed there after sandy furry came, the mgr mr Patel, could not have been worse, I Reyes to get a good nice sleep and the ice machine was going off all nite, I asked them to please tun it off, with they responded in saying I check with the mgmt, well theat never happened , I checked out called the mgr or what ever he is to find out why my request was not handled and told him why, he said you were lucky we gave you a room, and if you don't like it, sue me, I'll sue you , are you kidding, nobody I know will ever stay there, wow

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeJolie, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about Hotel Le Jolie. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is actually well located. The G line takes you straight to the East Side and Chelsea within minutes. It's 5 minutes to hub of Williamsburg's Bedford Street. People at reception are very helpful and the generous breakfast also deserves a special mention. The immediate neighbourhood with the expressway in front and building site next door are not great. But I#m sure will improve in time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeJolie, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about Hotel Le Jolie. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

First I will say that the hotel is clean and looks fairly new. I used to think that if this was the best you could say about a hotel it wasn't much.There is no lobby at all except I think a chair for people to use a computer. The hotel is located across the street from on overpass. Fortunately our room was on the other side and we did not hear any road noise at all. However, all night long people shut the heavy doors loudly coming in and out. It was unvelievable!. The rooms are so small I thought I would get dizzy going to the bathroom which is miniscule. I know NY hotels are overpriced but we paid over $300 a night. It was an obscene price for the equivalent of a Hampton Inn which I actually like but at $100 vs. $300.

Room Tip: Stay away from the overpass side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeJolie, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about Hotel le Jolie. Under isolated events, we may fall short of exceeding our guest expectations. I have passed your comments on to the General Manager and Corporate Office. All feedback is necessary for us to continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Jolie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Jolie

Address: 235 Meeker Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#6 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Jolie 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Jolie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jolie Hotel
Le Jolie Brooklyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Jolie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.