We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Experience! Wonderful accomodations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbend Log Cabins & Cottage Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbanks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverbend Log Cabins & Cottage Rentals
Save
You added Riverbend Log Cabins & Cottage Rentals to your Saves list
410 Nordale Rd., Fairbanks, AK 99712   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
“An Amazing Experience! Wonderful accomodations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Sourdough Cabin in September. The cabin is really very nice, and we were made to feel very welcome by Debi. The main purpose of our trip was to see the Northern Lights, and to relax after spending a few days ice climbing and glacier camping. Our first night there we were able to see the lights. Quite an incredible sight to see. We managed to see them again on our second night. Sadly, on our third and final night, it was raining, so we didn't get to see them. But seeing them twice was phenomenal. We managed to see some sights while we were in Fairbanks, driving thru Denali Park, and travelling up to the Arctic Circle. Coming back to the cabin at night was great. It's very quiet and relaxing, and there's a river that runs right behind the property. Very beautiful. I wish we could have stayed longer, and I hope that we can return in the future. I highly recommend staying at Riverbend if you're in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
47
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My family of 9 visited Debi and her home in August 2011 during our Alaskan Adventure. We enjoyed our stay in Fairbanks/North Pole area, especially at this river front home. Debi rents out Log cabins and Cottages as well. We stayed at the home by the river front.

The house is located about 10-12 miles from Fairbanks right by the Chena River. It is surrounded by a lot of trees yet very accessible to nearby Fairbanks Riverboat discovery, Santa Claus Haus, Fox and other areas. The road to Chena Hot Springs is very close to here as well. It was a great day trip visiting the Aurora Ice Museum at Chena Hot Springs. We also visited the Arctic Circle on the Haul road/Dalton Highway during our stay here.

The house is great with very comfortable amenities. Debi's vegetable garden provided us fresh salad that we all thoroughly enjoyed. We unfortunately did not see Moose in our backyard, but would love to come back again when we visit the area next time.

Room Tip: Watch for Moose on the river front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This cottage was so beautiful and relaxing that we had a hard time leaving to go to activities we had reserved in advance! It was extremely clean and furnished very nicely with a lot of extra touches, such as a wood stove, indoor sauna, and an outdoor fire pit overlooking the river. While there, we observed moose in the yard, a beaver taking a branch to it's lodge, and an otter swimming down the river. The potted flowers around the cottage were amazing and added to the overall beauty of the property. One very important aspect of this property was that even though it was so private, it was centrally located to any activity you would want to do. We enjoyed Chena Hot Springs, Riverboat Discovery, Alaska Railroad to Denali Park and a day trip to Barrow. We would definitely recommend this property to others, and we hope to come back soon! It was hard to leave!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Yukon, Alaska
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Two of us stayed in the Sourdough cabin in February - what a treat! It is close enough to Fairbanks, North Pole and Chena to enjoy all, and far enough away so that you can forget those other places even exist!
We watched a couple of moose on the frozen river while eating dinner. The aurora was out one night - and we enjoyed it from the comfort of easy chairs upstairs. We spent a day at PAWS for Adventure (dog mushing school) just minutes away... and warmed up in the sauna.
The cabins are lovingly crafted. Our hosts were personable and helpful!
In short - this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Every room is the best! Something for everyone~
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waging am See, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

The Cabin is a wonderful place to stay, just located 20 min away from Fairbanks. Chena hot Springs is a 1 hour drive. North Pole is just 10 min away. The land in front of the Cabin and down to the river is cleared and the Cabins are away from any lights which may hinder the sky view, so it is a perfect place to see the aurora borealis, an experience we will never forget. Everything was absolutely perfect. The hand crafted Log Cabin is very clean and lovingly furnished and has a full stocked kitchen. Everything you need you can find there. The Owners Debi and Bruce gave us the feeling from a home away from home! They are the best hosts at all. Kind and helpful at any time but gave us lot of privacy as well. We are 4 girls from Germany and stayed in the Chinook Cabin from March 18, 2011 through March 27, 2011 and truly we did not want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed 5 nights in the Sourdough cabin - very cozy and so peaceful. Like other reviewers, can't say enough good things about hosts Debi and Bruce who are very welcoming and helpful in every way (eg: tips on where to rent ski equipment, update on Denali's road opening early). They have the perfect touch of making you feel like family and yet respecting your privacy if/when you want some down-time. Their website photos accurately depict the rooms - although the Sourdough is small, we found it very comfortable with room for us, parkas, boots and assorted winter gear, lots of camera equipment, laptop, etc. Having reliable wi-fi was a nice bonus. Their friendly old dog Sadie is a sweetheart but if you're not a dog person, no fear, she keeps her distance unless you call her over. It was great being able to x-country ski and/or go for a stroll right out the back door on the Chena River and feel like you have this beautiful snowy forest playground with just you and the birds - and the occasional dog sled. The kitchen had everything we needed for making coffee/tea, ham, eggs and toast in the morning, heating up lasagna or soup at night, etc. - it was better appointed than some of the efficiency suites at the chain hotels we've been to. And if you don't feel like cooking, the nearby brewpub has decent food and good beer (with an impressive bottle list). If you're looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy the outdoors but be close enough to get to town, this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Two weeks ago, my husband and I had the pleasure to stay several nights in the Sourdough Cabin at Riverbend, one of three cabins owned by Debi and Bruce Hanson. We cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay there. The cabin was a charming and cozy one bedroom with a small kitchen and sitting/eating area. The cabin is heated with radiant heat, so it was always the perfect temperature (and no cold feet!). Upstairs in the bedroom, there is a flat screen TV (with DirectTV), DVD player with a collection of DVDs to watch, a small seating area and a large balcony to watch for the aurora in the warmth of your cabin. The bed was very comfortable, equipped with lovely high count sheets and a pillowtop mattress. The cabin was spotlessly clean with many thoughtful touches throughout and was equipped with WiFi. Debi and Bruce went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one and Debi even brought over several delicious baked treats for us. I would also highly recommend that you book a snow machine tour with Bruce; that was really an unforgettable afternoon. Likewise for Paws for Adventure; we went to their Dog Sled School, but they also offer rides if you are feeling less adventurous. Leslie, our teacher, was just fantastic; warm, kind and a wealth of knowledge. We look forward to returning to Riverbend again soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverbend Log Cabins & Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Log Cabins & Cottage Rentals

Address: 410 Nordale Rd., Fairbanks, AK 99712
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two modern, beautifully furnished, riverfront log cabins with fully equipped kitchens and private baths (one with a Jacuzzi). The two bedroom cabin comfortably sleeps 4; the 1 bedroom sleeps 2-3. Also available is a lovely 3 bedroom, 2 bath cottage with a large deck overlooking the Chena River. This home has a fully equipped kitchen, indoor sauna and sits on 10 private acres. Sleeps up to 8 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverbend Log Cabins & Cottage Rentals Fairbanks, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverbend Log Cabins & Cottage Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.