We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Taste of Alaska Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbanks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Taste of Alaska Lodge
Save
You added A Taste of Alaska Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   551 Eberhardt, Fairbanks, AK 99712   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
orange county, ca
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for a week based upon prior TA reviews and had a great time. Delicious hot breakfast alternating between eggs and syrup (Kory made eggs every day for my hubby who needs gluten-free), plus fruit & juice bar. Coffee & tea are always available also. Though we went out for the aurora viewing, you can also see quite of number of orbiting satellite fly overhead from this location. And we tried snowshoeing in the same meadow during the daytime. Kory's a fantastic host, checking in with everyone at breakfast, making everyone feel welcome. The place is nicely signed from the main highway, alerting you to the turnoff. When you arrive, be ready to take your shoes off to avoid trampling in snow/dirt.

Room Tip: downstairs rooms 1-6, you sometimes hear creaking floorboards from above, but they also all have pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great location, great food, great service, great knowledge of the area and great place to stay! What more is there to say? The Eberhardts make you feel like you're at home when you come for breakfast each morning in the main lodge. We stayed in the Annex for 5 nights in March, checking out local tourist attractions for a few days, and then we stayed up late and watched/photographed the Northern Lights. It's easy to see the Aurora from the field on the property. The dog-sledding school is just a walk down that same field. Everything you could possibly need is stocked in the cabin. The kitchen in the Annex had all the cookware, spices and aluminum foil for preparing salmon. It was more than anyone could ask for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A short ride from Fairbanks. A nice distance away to view the Aurora Borealis. Even though we were up every night checking the skies the conditions weren't favorable. However, we did get a fantastic view from the plane when we were above the clouds. The lodge is a true Alaska experience. Our room was clean, large, and had a great view. Kory is wonderful, anticipating every need of his guests before they are even aware. His breakfasts were generous and delicious. The company at breakfast - his family and other guests- added to a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagano, Japan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great place to see the aurora, go dog sledding, walk around in the nearby woods in the many trails and relax in a very cozy cabin. Kory was super helpful and friendly, and always willing to chat. It was great to hear about his family history on the property. The breakfasts were also very nice. We stayed at 3 B&Bs during our trip and I enjoyed this place the most. We also saw the aurora almost every night! We stayed for 3 nights in mid-February and really had a wonderful time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went up to Alaska to see the aurora borealis (which we did!!) and stayed at A Taste of Alaska Lodge. This lodge is located about 8 miles north of Fairbanks on 200+ acres. It is a wonderful way to experience the Alaskan wilderness and yet be close enough to drive to the city. Here is our take on the lodge:
Pros
- Kory (the owner) was a wonderful host and very knowledgeable and helpful. He's friendly and will do almost anything to make your stay a good one.
- Rooms were nice, clean, and a good size. There are two large rooms upstairs just off the dining/main area. The rest are downstairs. Each bedroom has a bathrrom, which were good and clean. Radiant floor heating kept the rooms very comfortable.
- Breakfasts (included) were excellent and at a reasonable time (9:00 am).
- Dinners (not included) were very good and convenient, since you don't have to drive to Fairbanks and back again, especially in winter.
- Location of the lodge was perfect for viewing the aurora - very dark with no city lights. During the day, there was a beautiful view into the distance.
- Close to dog sled rides and mushing (Paws for Adventure).

Cons
- In the downstairs rooms, you can hear when people are moving around upstairs. However, this also woke us up for the aurora viewing in the middle of the night.
- The shower is low-flow, so don't expect an awesome shower, but it was adequate.
- Most of the rooms face towards the south, and mostly the aurora is spotted towards the north. Therefore, we had to go outside to see if the aurora was visible. When it is -25 degrees outside, this involves putting on most of your warm clothes just to take a peek.

Conclusion is that we would definitey stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The TOA Lodge is quite nice. Our room was clean and quiet. Kory made some wonderful breakfasts and we met several nice people in the dining area. The windows looking out over the snow and mountains in the distance, both in the dining room and our room made the stay A+.

Even though it was outside of Fairbanks, it was easy to get to. We're so glad we decided to skip Chena Hot Springs and stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just came back from Alaska, and I can't wait to write the review for A Taste of Alaska.
The lodge was so pretty. Full kitchen with everything we needed. (We cooked king crabs one night!) And of course, nice living room and bedrooms.

The breakfast in the main lodge was wonderful too. Some B&Bs just give you some food from supermarket, (and you need to reheat them in the morning.)
But at a taste of Alaska, you get hot breakfast provided by Kory. And with the mountain view while enjoying the breakfast? I can't be more happy to have the breakfast at 9am even though we stayed up very late every night for northern light.

The hill for northern light was great too. The only people you'll see are the people living in other lodges, and they are far away so you could just turn off the light in your lodge, and enjoy the quiet night with aurora dancing in the sky. (Oh well, you need to go to the freezing hill and look to the direction of your lodge, but you can always come back to your warm lodge anytime in 2 minutes)

Oh, and there is a jacuzzi in our lodge. :P I didn't use it, but it might be a plus to other people.

Overall, I love the place. Will definitely consider it next time I visit Alaska.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Taste of Alaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Taste of Alaska Lodge

Address: 551 Eberhardt, Fairbanks, AK 99712
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Taste of Alaska Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
a Taste Of Alaska Hotel Fairbanks
A Taste Of Alaska Lodge Fairbanks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Taste of Alaska Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.