We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate for a short stay.... while doing other things.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Lodge to your Saves list
Alpine Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4920 Dale Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Web Special Up to 40% OFF
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“adequate for a short stay.... while doing other things.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The Alpine Lodge was our base for an aurora borealis tour we booked in Fairbanks. We found the hotel to be adequate for our 5 day stay and we especially found the front desk staff to be helpful and very freindly. The rooms were adequate but nothing out of the ordinary, the Continental breakfast was bleek, and I would only recomemend it if you are going to be busy doing other things most of the time. We did have a good wi-fi connection for free, their was a microwave and a refridgerator, and a place to plug in our vehicle. It was below zero the entire time for our stay and the hotel was warm. They picked us up from the airport which is nearby at no charge.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    49
    10
    8
See reviews for
40
61
24
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Conducted a seminar here. Conference facility was great. Good buffet meal, facility very nice, etc.

Guest room nothing fancy, but slept well - until 4:30 AM when the in-room fridge compressor motor kicked on. Continental breakfast was very good - lots of selection, etc.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We spent one night at the Alpine lodge and found it to be a very nice hotel overall. The lobby is spacious and there is plenty of free parking. It is close to Fairbanks Airport and yet it was quiet, with quadruple-paned (yes, 4 panes of glass) windows insulating both the noise and the cold. The rooms were clean and had fridges and microwaves. I had a good WiFi signal. The front desk clerk was vey friendly, and you had a continental style breakfast available to you.

The only downside is that the rooms were a bit small. We booked a room with two queen beds, and while the beds were very comfy, they took up most of the room. A tiny little table was crammed into one corner. The rooms were really designed for one king bed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Pleasant, newish hotel. Rooms nice and big. complimentary breakfast OK. very near airport, but not noisy at night. hear buzz of light aircraft during the day - which is pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinac Island, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed at the Alpine Lodge in Fairbanks on the last day of our Alaskan vacation. We came to Fairbanks from Dinali by train. The hotel courtesy shuttle was not available that day late in the evening and they sent two taxis to the railway stations to pick us up on their expense. The front staff was very friendly and welcomed us with a smile. The receptionist was incredibly helpful (her name was Rosa who was on duty at that time), explained to us what we could do to get the maximum use of our stay in Fairbanks just on one day. She even found a restaurant so that we can order Indian food and let us enjoy our dinner comfortably in the secluded part of the lobby. The hotel was very close to the airport and we were able to rent a car very conveniently around 11:00 P.M and again Hotel called us a free taxi for us to go to the airport. The rooms were very clean and tidy, beds were comfortable, we were able to sleep very well without hearing any sound from the airplanes. Rooms have a refrigerator and a microwave which came in very handy. Continental breakfast was much better than the ones we had at other highly priced (cruise) hotels in Alaska. This lodge had everything we wanted, very friendly and accommodative staff and we recommend this hotel for the others who look for a hotel in Fairbanks.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

The alpine lodge is clean & friendly. It's not a fnacy hotel, it's pretty basic. The front counter staff was very nice & explained the ammenities to us. The Continental breakfast isn't extravagant. There is a coffee & tea station that is open all day. It's right across from the airport but we didn't hear anything. There's nothing around but Fairbanks is very easy to get around by car.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

My fiance and I stayed at a hotel in Fairbanks Alaska, the Alpine Lodge.
We were accused of smoking in a room and we were charged $200 to an account that didn't even have $200 in the bank. Now we are in the hole by $300 with overdraft charges. I don't even smoke!!!!! I just recently stayed at this place for one night with my fiance'. We signed a piece of paper saying that we would be charged extra if there was smoking in the room. So we did not. He didn't even take his cigarettes into the room. He had to go out front to smoke. We where charged $200 dollars because someone said that the room reeked of smoke. If it did, it was not from us. A housekeeper could have smoked in there and blamed it on us. The people before us could have smoked in there and we couldn't smell it because we around it so much. I don't even smoke!!!! I tried calling and cant seem to get a hold of the general manager. I keep leaving messages but its not helping. I plan to speak out about this in all the ways I can. What am I supposed to do??? Sue them??? I cant afford that! I think it is sick and wrong that they can accuse people of doing something that they did not do!!!! Even if they found my fiance's cigarette butt in the room trash can, that was because there wasn't a place for him to throw it away out front or in the lobby. So if you stay here, you risk being charged $200 rather you smoke or not!!!
How can I get them to give me our money back???
Am I supposed to just suck it up and take this? This is not fair and it seems illegal to be able to just randomly charge people.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Address: 4920 Dale Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is conveniently located near the Fairbanks International Airport and Alaska Railroad Depot. Complimentary shuttle offered to both locations. The lodge is also convenient to Riverboat Discovery, Pioneer Park, the University of Alaska Fairbanks, Ft Wainwright and downtown Fairbanks. Open year-round, the hotel offers an Alaska-themed spacious lobby, 115 deluxe guest rooms and suites, and a full-service restaurant and lounge- The Finish Line. Settle in with a local microbrew from the lounge before enjoying the cuisine in the restaurant. No matter how long your stay- you're sure to enjoy Northern Lights wake-up calls and complimentary WIFI. Your stay at the Alpine Lodge in Fairbanks is sure to be one you'll write home about and we'll even provide the postcard! We look forward to sharing the spirit of Alaska! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Fairbanks
Alpine Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.