We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value but you get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4580 Old Airport Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe Fairbanks)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
1 review
“Great value but you get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The staff was amazing and the location was convenient being next to Fred Meyer, Walgreens, etc. the hotel was nicely appointed but there were a couple of issues:

-Our door didn't work correctly
-Our room hadn't been stocked with utensils, remote, etc.
-The pool was drained
-A smoke detector in the 2nd floor hall was beeping the entire time we were there.

I don't want to ding them too hard because the staff was very friendly and the price was amazing but those seem like basic hotel functions. Like the title says, great price point but maybe a little too good.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    11
    3
    9
See reviews for
3
2
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

this hotel is nasty, apparently a no smoking hotel that allows their guest to smoke or would it be the employees. the pool is out of order as well as one half the channels on the tv. my guess is they did not pay the bill. people roaming in and out at all hours of the night. the other night a person was robbed via shotgun right across the road. if you have a choice go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014 via mobile

overall I enjoy staying there but I wish that the check out times were a little more longer or later like around 3pm/4pm is a good check out time esp for us who work at night! Otherwise I love staying the rooms are very comfy!!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

After staying at the ESA in downtown Anchorage, this one was a bit disappointing, though as I write this it's ranked 22 of 24 locally and I have doubts it's THAT bad relative to the rest. I stay in ESAs a lot and a big part of the draw is consistency, and on that count this location met the minimum. And unlike some of the unhappy previous posters I hit it just outside high season on a bid site that kept me a fair amount under triple figures per night, so the price vs. value slider bar for me had better initial position. But it's understandable that lower 48 people having to pay triple figures per night in summer are less forgiving.

My room was on the first floor and has some cosmetic issues detailed in the photos, but fortunately everything inside the room basically worked. The indoor pool was unavailable and it didn't seem like that problem had just happened or there was a high priority on restoring it, which might partially explain my getting a decent deal via the bid site but wouldn't be as well-received by anyone paying rack rate or close.

The area had its strengths and weaknesses. It's convenient to Parks Hwy. and Airport Way and not far from the airport, and you can easily walk to a Fred Meyer store that's open most of the time (though not the wee hours). The strip club is one of only two in town and gets terrible Yelp reviews and is a sad parody of its former self, with an old limo left outside with a smashed window and flat tire, rotting but serving as a reminder of frothier days in Fairbanks when pipeline workers flooded in and everything was in short supply and for insane prices. The economy doesn't seem to be doing badly now, but it's also not the shared prosperity that left many average people flush with cash like before.

There's also some kind of supply yard against the back side, but double-paned windows go far toward filtering out any noise.

The kind of people who come to Alaska for economic opportunities, especially those rooted in the ground or what's under it, have never been known for neatness or cleanliness, and they can likely be hard on a hotel room (especially one that doesn't get cleaned daily). That could explain some of the maintenance dysfunction. But in relative terms I've seen much worse. It's still in the game, IMO, but I'd only consider with a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We came here for a week to get my daughter moved into college. Our room was on the first floor but tie side door that didn't lock . Tried to do laundry three dryers not working one washed out is order. No ice machine. Kitchen. Not stocked only one fork one plate. Every time I went to the front desk to ask for something I was told they were out or no . they didn't seem to mind the side door didn't lock or the dryers weren't working, for the price I paid I should of stayed at a better hotel and forgo the kitchen which was a joke .

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Right next to a strip club. Not ideally if you're traveling with a bunch of kids (soccer team). The noises carried throughout the whole building. Rooms were not very clean. One of our room had blood stains on the comforter and floor. Some of the toilets are permanently stained (they said that it was the water). The front desk staff needs to quit smoking in front of guest (outside the lobby).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Old and dirty. The room was not clean. Next to a constuction site on one side and showgirls strip club on the other. Lots of in and out traffic all night. No breaksfast served-only coffee. It isnt worth the savings compared to other hotels. The gentleman at the front desk was friendly.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We sincerely apologize that your room was not up to standard. To make sure this doesn't happen again, we will be increasing our housekeeping staff to ensure we clean every room thoroughly.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact us at foa@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way

Address: 4580 Old Airport Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe Fairbanks)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Fairbanks
Fairbanks Extended Stay
Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.