We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wintery Night's Lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pike's Waterfront Lodge to your Saves list
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Hoselton Drive, Fairbanks, AK 99709   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Turkey Month Special
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Kotzebue, Alaska
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wintery Night's Lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here for only one night before catching the Aurora Winter Train to Anchorage. The room was fine, the beds comfortable, with a nice view of the river. The lobby is spacious with a large area for a diverse complimentary breakfast. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful. Pike's Landing restaurant was next door for a meal. Pike's Landing is an historic location and currently sports an ice bridge, which we walked across in the dark. I imagine it is beautiful in the light, but we arrived on one of the shortest days of the year, so missed that. The lobby coffee was the best of our trip. The free airport/rail shuttle is available 24/7. Everyone is cheerful and it felt merry and welcoming for Christmas Eve.

Room Tip: Get a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    143
    69
    36
    12
See reviews for
90
138
31
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Pike's was such a pleasant surprise. We were able to get a good price through the ATS coupon book (you can order on line prior to your trip). We were confirmed for a double queen bed room, but when we arrived, our room type was not available. We were given our own cabin along the Chena River. It had a king bed and the staff was quick to bring two roll away beds to accommodate our family. Although we were wall to wall in the little cabin, it was cozy and very comfortable. We loved the privacy of our own little home. We had a small kitchenette with sink and microwave. The days were long, and our boys were playing football on the lawn at 11:30 PM. Very memorable.

The lodge is a favorite with the locals. There were two weddings there during our stay. Although we didn't eat any meals at the hotel, we did take advantage of hand scooped ice cream in the lobby which was a nice treat. Very reasonable. We would stay again if we ever get back to Fairbanks.

Room Tip: Request a cabin for privacy and a unique experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed for my first time at Pikes, it was pleasant, and I was very impressed! My room was cozy, and clean, with a balcony and river view. It has a warm feeling when you walk in the door and are in the lobby area, and the staff is very pleasant. It is close to the airport which is convenient, and a 10 minute ride to downtown. I highly recommend this place if you are in Fairbanks! :D

Room Tip: I feel you will be happy with any room here, as I have viewed several on my last trip before I decid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is such a nice place to stay. We are locals and wanted to take advantage of a New Years Eve promotion 2009/2010 that they offered. The hotel's ambience is very nice, warm and inviting. You feel like you are in Alaska with the art. We were staying on the third floor facing the river and they had firework displays for the guest. It was so nice to watch the fireworks from the winter in your warm room. The room was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. I slept like a baby. We were given complimentary tokens for ice cream from their onsite ice cream parlor. There is dining in the hotel but we did not go so I can't comment on the quality of the food during this particular visit. The hotel is really close to the airport with shuttle service. However, you will need a vehicle to get around town which is not a major obstacle because most everything is relatively close. The staff was amazing to our family. Our vehicle was not properly plugged in and the car was frozen the next morning and would not start. After we realized that we were having vehicle problems, the front desk stepped in and was amazing. After plugging up the car, the grounds personel later gave us a battery jump. Well this all took several hours to get resolved and while we were trying to get my car started again, the front desk offered my family the opportunity to return to our the room, where it was more comfortable, until we got car started. We did not leave until about 5pm that same evening. The hotel did not charge us anything extra for the extra time in the room. They were above and beyond accommodating. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I like the upper level of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Montana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

A rustic but well appointed hotel. Great continental breakfast. Super servicie from the staff. Accomadating to hunters, fisherman, and dogs. Great location near the river, you would never know it sits next to the highway. Not to far from downtown or the military post.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The staff was pleasant and the cookies were delicious. The walls seemed thin and I could hear the people next door. I didn't like that at all and I am sure they wouldn't have like that if they knew.

Room Tip: Call ahead and state that you would like a room on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Hello-
we are sorry that you did not have a more restful night's sleep. I have spent many nights at Pike's (over 120) and have not experienced a thin wall problem. However, you were in one of our connecting rooms that unfortunately does not have as much sound proofing due to the connecting door. Thanks for letting us know about this problem and we will see if we can do anything about it.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The kids (2 older teenagers) went to Fairbanks as an 'end of summer' trip. It was quite enjoyable overall. Pike's Waterfront Lodge definitely met our needs. The grounds were well kept. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly. We also enjoyed the unique flavors of complimentary ice cream. We enjoyed that overlooking the river.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pike's Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Address: 1850 Hoselton Drive, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pike's Waterfront Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Pike's Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pike`s Waterfront Hotel Fairbanks
Pikes Waterfront Hotel
Pikes Waterfront Fairbanks
Pike's Waterfront Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pike's Waterfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.