We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Daddy's Bar B-Q & Banquet Hall

Big Daddy's Bar B-Q & Banquet Hall
107 Wickersham St, Fairbanks, AK 99701
907 452 2501
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 200 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Pueblo, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lively”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I ordered take out from the menu as the crowd was too lively for me--little sleep from flight and railroad trip from Denver to Anchorage via air then rail from Anchorage to Fairbanks. The portions were more than adequate, and the coleslaw wasn't overly saturated with a mystery liquid formulation. The Food Network Star (Guy Fieri) sampled the offerings and by all accounts the food passed his rigorous standards.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    80
    36
    17
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun, but average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The food was good. Was stuffy and hot in July, with no a/c. Fun AK decor. A bit slow on service, but not enough to make me mad. Waitress was friendly. Had enough food to be able to take some back with us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Kansas City BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were shocked to find a real BBQ place. The food was awesome and living in Kansas City, we know our BBQ. This wasn't your fried meat dowsed in BBQ sauce. Good smoked meat with a rub. You could see the smoke ring on the meat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's always great to eat where the locals do! This was so good, reminded us of Kansas City BBQ ! It isn't fancy but a great spread of food for a great price, and BBQ isn't supposed to be fancy! And you are in Alaska!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good, not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Saw it on Drive ins, diners and dives.Definitely a dive. Good barbeque and the portions were huge.The side dishes were the best part. I think that our group was expecting more in the way of barbeque.We asked our waitress what was served during the tv show and she had no idea.Maybe we ordered the wrong food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy's Bar B-Q & Banquet Hall also viewed

 

Been to Big Daddy's Bar B-Q & Banquet Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Daddy's Bar B-Q & Banquet Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.