We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff and eclectic menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pump House Restaurant & Saloon

Pump House Restaurant & Saloon
796 Chena Pump Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709
(907) 479-8452
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pump House Restaurant & Saloon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 199 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Chena Small Tracts
Transit: Public Bus System route stop.
Description: The Pump House Restaurant offers Fine Dining in a Historice Atmosphere overlooking the Chena river. We are listed on the National Registry of Historic Sites and are the recipient of the DiRONA Award. Seasonal closure - January 1st through February 2nd. Reopening February 3rd.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good staff and eclectic menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Loved the service here -- we ate dinner here twice during our four-night stay -- and the food was better than you have a right to expect in a small town. The halibut cheeks, done in an Asian sauce with vegetables and curry noodles, were very good, and while I didn't have good ol' fashion red meat and potatoes, what I saw crossing the dining room looked great.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    132
    63
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch was out of this world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had read mixed reviews about Pump House, but man, did this place blow it out of the water with their Sunday brunch! If you're in Fairbanks over the weekend, GO! It was probably the best brunch we've ever had with more options than you can imagine!
Shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, fruit, cheese tray, eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, french toast, cod florentine, eggs benedict, ham, roast beef, and so much more! Oh, and you cannot neglect the incredible dessert display that's nearly as big as the main buffet! We could have spent hours eat enjoying the delicious food! Not to be missed!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatland, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic Reindeer Tenderloin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Took a group of Japanese tourists there last night, March 5, 2012. We had the,

Alaskan Reindeer are similar to caribou and raised in Western Alaska
where they are harvested by the Native people.
Reindeer Tenderloin $32.50
Grilled and served with cranberry balsamic reduction,
smashed sweet potatoes and winter greens. the

One of the best cuts of meat I have ever had! A great evening for all in our party, 22 people. Great service, excellent meal and a charming dining room in a historical landmark.
Check out the website for a look inside the dining room. I have to get back for the Sunday brunch!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Historical Place - Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Food is so-so, but if you go there to have a beer and look around at the building, you will not be disappointed. In the summertime, when the riverboat cruises by, make sure you are out on the deck for some great pictures.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“best buffett in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

their sunday brunch is excellent, but not super impressed with their dinners.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pump House Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Pump House Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pump House Restaurant & Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.