We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grease isn't as dirty in the afternoon” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mayflower Buffet

Mayflower Buffet
414 3rd St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-3507
907-452-3999
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 193 restaurants in Fairbanks
Restaurant details
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The grease isn't as dirty in the afternoon”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Dinner was terrible because the grease was full of whatever they cooked all day long, and everything is deep fried.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    7
    10
    15
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The unholy offspring of American and Asian cuisine.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

It still weirds me out when a buffet resturant formerly known as "China 1 Buffet" still offers sushi, which is Japanese in origin. Anyways, the dietary consultant who built their proverbial menu seems to have ripped off the kids menu offerings from half the diners in Fairbanks. This is why you will find chicken nuggets and pizza slices interspersed among mussels w/ cheese and "Chicken on 'the' Stick". Why they insist there is only one stick is beyond me- last time I ate there were mounds of chicken slices skewered on several dozen sticks. Frankly it's insulting both to my intelligence and my palate.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Look for another place to eat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

In truth, this is a “dime-a-dozen” place, just so-so, no more than AVERAGE, that’s for sure. In fact, I’d never eat there again because there are much, much better places to eat in Fairbanks.

That said, the service was just fine. BUT the food was “Walmart cheapo-tasting food,” with heavy on the batter and grease, especially for the fried foods of which there were plenty.

I asked three servers and the manager if there was MSG in the food. Two servers and the manager said “No,” and one server said “Yes.” So if you go to this restaurant, please don’t eat the noodles because I’m sure they contain MSG (as they often do at other Chinese restaurants). Instead, serve yourself some rice.

I liked the shrimp, but the fish was awful, so stay away from that stuff. Also, the fish was heavily battered and over fried. I ordered lemonade, which was really watered down, so I drank only a few sips of that stuff.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best of the class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you measure it against other China buffets I think it is the best one I have ever been to.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“i will never go back there again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Food was gross! the chicken had a hair/feather on it. and the place smells.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayflower Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Mayflower Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayflower Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.