We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chena's Alaskan Grill

Chena's Alaskan Grill
4200 Boat St, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4696
+1 907-474-3644
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chena's Alaskan Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 201 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Chena's brings to you modern Alaskan cuisine infused with a celebration of flavors from around the world. The evolving menu, derived from traditional Alaskan fare, is blended together with contemporary culinary imagination and presented artistically to highlight the excellent quality of the food.
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Easy to get to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you are staying at the River's Edge Campground (which we were, in our ABC Rental RV) it is a short walk to the restaurant, no need to pack up vehicle and drive there!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    52
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maui
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great food, great waitstaff, especially Johnny he makes your time there awesome.. great views from the deck great food and great wine..

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg,PA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good but quality varid by what you ordered.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Seeing our order and that of fellow travellers, it was obvious that what you ordered determined the size of your portion and how quality was interesting when discussed with others

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great dinner, ok lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at River's Edge Resort during our recent visit to Fairbanks. The first night we arrived, we had dinner at the Chena's Alaskan Grill. It was a great experience. Beautiful fresh warm bread and very tasty dishes. The hostess was also very attentive and friendly. Also, having dinner at 9:30 pm on the outside deck with bright sunshine (having to wear sunglasses!) was an experience in itself and really spoke Alaska to us!

Having enjoyed this experience so much, we returned for lunch on the day we checked out of the hotel. The lunch menu was obviously different. The food was not as good as dinner the previous night, and also the staff was not particularly attentive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Average food and indifferent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The convenience of this place to the River's Edge Resort brought us here. The food was average as were the prices but the staff must have been overworked or something because there were no friendly welcomes or the usual courtesies. We ordered the food, we go it, we paid, we left. Nothing special but it filled the void in our stomachs. There really isn't a closer restaurant if you are walking so that makes this the dinner hot-spot for this area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chena's Alaskan Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chena's Alaskan Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chena's Alaskan Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.