We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavelle's Bistro

Lavelle's Bistro
575 1st Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4724
907-450-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 193 restaurants in Fairbanks
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located on the ground floor of Mariott Springhill Suites, Lavelle’s is a unique fine dining restaurant in Fairbanks serving delicious food and an astounding selection of fine wine in a warm, refined atmosphere. In a place where casual restaurants dominate the culinary landscape, Lavelle’s offers a much-needed touch of elegance. Perfect for a romantic date or a fun night out with friends, Lavelle’s provides a sophisticated backdrop for any occasion.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Food is excellent. High end scale for prices. Atmosphere is cosmopolitan which can be fun. Can be noisy. Great desserts, varied menu--meatloaf-excellent to more sophisticated entrees. Can be very romantic. A nice variety of wines.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the five-star review! You've hit upon everything we aim for, and it means a lot to us. What desserts are your favorite? We hope to welcome you back again soon! Until then, take care.

Best wishes,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    105
    80
    29
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California Central Coast
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were staying at Springhill Suites and initially went to this restaurant because of its location. However, we enjoyed it so much we decided to go back. We first went over a sled dog race weekend, so it was very crowded. However, we did not have a long wait, and the service was always attentive and prompt. I had the salad with scallops, and my husband had the French onion soup and lobster appetizers. The second time I had the vegetarian lasagna, and my husband had the French onion soup again and a chicken with mushrooms entree. Every dish was delicious, well prepared and presented. The restaurant has an extensive wine selection, and I had a glass of J Lohr caberent that was reasonably priced. During our second visit, the restaurant hosted a group of 35 that was seated by us. We were a little nervous about noise and service, but the group spoke quietly, and the servers were very efficient in serving them as well as us. We really enjoyed the restaurant and would go back if visiting Fairbanks again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the five-star review! I'm happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed everything from the French onion soup to the vegetarian lasagna, and I look forward to sharing your praises with our kitchen. We hope to see you the next time you're in town! Until then, take care.

Best regards,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maywood, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A group of 7 of us had dinner at this restaurant in the Marriott Springhill. Casual. I had the wild-caught salmon with potato breading and sauce. It was a very generous portion and absolutely delicious! Vegetables cooked to perfection. Service was prompt. The others all ordered different items and were pleased. If this place were near where I lived, I would eat there frequently. In center of town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the excellent review, Susan! "Delicious" is just what we hope to hear, and you made a great choice ordering the salmon. Do you recall the name of your server? Would love to share your praises with them! We hope to welcome you back the next time you're in town, but until then, take care!

Best wishes,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, right in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Possibly the only upscale restaurant in central Fairbanks, and hardly more expensive than the ordinary places. Excellent food and service. But make a reservation!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We always appreciate compliments about our food and service, and I look forward to passing them along to the rest of our team. What dishes do you typically order? Your support means a lot to us, and we hope to see you soon!

Take care,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not my cup of tea for food but it was a delightful time we had. Family enjoyed the atmosphere and surroundings. Would recommend it to people. Visiting Fairbanks

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us! Although I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere, I'm sorry to see we weren't your cup of tea. We work hard to accommodate everyone's tastes, after all! What did you order exactly, and what do you think was missing? I'll make a point of sharing your comments with our kitchen.

I look forward to hearing back from you! Hopefully, with a little adjusting, we'll be able to "wow" you across the board. Also, next time, don't hesitate to ask us for a recommendation. There has to be a dish you'll love!

Take care,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavelle's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lavelle's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavelle's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.