We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavelle's Bistro

Lavelle's Bistro
575 1st Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4724
907-450-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 198 Restaurants in Fairbanks
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located on the ground floor of Mariott Springhill Suites, Lavelle’s is a unique fine dining restaurant in Fairbanks serving delicious food and an astounding selection of fine wine in a warm, refined atmosphere. In a place where casual restaurants dominate the culinary landscape, Lavelle’s offers a much-needed touch of elegance. Perfect for a romantic date or a fun night out with friends, Lavelle’s provides a sophisticated backdrop for any occasion.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Exceptional food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a great dinner on Valentine's weekend. The salads and soups were delicious. Lavelles makes the best warm pear and blue cheese salad, the dressing is fabulous. Love their Ceasar salad as well. The King Crab was perfect along with scallops and steak. The creme brûlée was white Chocolate and raspberry, delicious. This is our favorite dining experience in Fairbanks. Waitstaff is friendly and great wine recommendations. We always pick Lavelles for special dinners and out of town guests!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranklinFairbanks, Owner at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
If there is one thing that makes this business worthwhile, it is being appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to write. We try to make every meal memorable, but when we get rave reviews like yours on one of the crazy days of the year (Valentines) I guess we're doing OK. Thanks again and please keep writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    94
    34
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I ate at Lavelle's 3 nights. Always good. Sat at the bar where service was good. The shrimp and spinach salad is not as good as it sounds on the menu. King crab legs good. Sesame crusted halibut superb. Lavelle's salad really good and a bargain at only $3.95 when you order an entree. Pricey, but everything is in Alaska.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We enjoyed the opportunity to host you on more than one occasion, and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed each visit. On a side note, I noticed that you didn't think the shrimp and spinach salad was all that satisfying. How do you think it could have been better? I promise to share your feedback with our kitchen. We hope to see you the next time you're in Fairbanks! Until then, take care.

Best wishes,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Recommended to us as 'fine dining', we were disappointed with Lavelle's overcooked Alaskan Halibut, deep fried potato wedges (meant to be 'herb roasted potatoes'), and steamed vegetables (purportedly sauteed).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranklinFairbanks, Owner at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
I'm diappointed that you were disappointed. Unfortunately sometimes things don't go perfectly but our staff is empowered to do everything they can to make it right. I certainly hope that you told the server that you were not happy and had them bring you a replacement. Unfortunately if we don't know what's wrong, it's hard to fix it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonville, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The food was delicious and the menu had a very wide variety of foods to select from. There were four of us in our party and everyone enjoyed the food. The service was top notch as well. I should mention though that it is not cheap. I was surprised at how expensive it was. Something to save for a really special night out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thanks for the five-star review, Peggy! I know it's been some time, but it's always nice to hear that a guest has had such a pleasant experience. What dishes did you get a chance to try? Any favorites? We appreciate your support, and hope to welcome you back again soon! We do try to give great value in our pricing but we do face the challenges of all Alaskans with high energy costs, shipping charges and overall cost of living. We're working on that too.

Take care,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere. Decent food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Christmas Eve was hard to find a restaurant in so we loved that Lavelle's was open. We sat at the bar, tables were a 45 min wait. We read in a travel book that this was one of the best restaurants in Alaska but found it to be just average. The Apple Walnut Gorgonzola Salad was our favorite by far. The Artichoke Crab Dip was fishy and overpriced. Our specialty hot chocolate liqueur dessert drink was from a machine, not fresh made. Good service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank E, Sara, Manager at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us, Leah! Good call ordering the Apple Walnut and Gorgonzola salad––it's one of our most popular dishes, and rightfully so. I'm disappointed to see that you weren't as impressed with the rest of your meal, specifically the crab dip. We value your insight, and if you have a moment, would you explain how you think it could have been better? I promise to share your comments with our kitchen. Any other feedback for what we could do next time to ensure an extra star or two, would be much appreciated! The next time your travels bring you to Fairbanks, make sure to stop in. We love seeing a familiar face! Until then, take care.

Best regards,

Sara, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavelle's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lavelle's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavelle's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.