We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gambardella's” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gambardella's Pasta Bella

Gambardella's Pasta Bella
706 2nd Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4451
907-456-3425
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 201 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Toccoa, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gambardella's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Over priced. Service was below par for this highly recommended establishment. The food was OK, but not special.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    49
    50
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, OH
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped here for lunch. We ate on the balcony as the weather was warm.
The food was delicious and unrushed. The server was friendly and told us the history og the restaurant. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food ruined by haughty manager.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Let me be kind, Gambardella's has great food. However, if you also want great ambiance get it to go and eat at home.

My husband and I are new Fairbanksans and had heard the food here was good. We decided to try it on Friday, October 4th. People were not wrong, it was great, from the house made salad dressing to the plate licking entrees. Perfect portions and incredible flavor. Our visit to this lovely restaurant was soured by the abrupt (on the edge of rude) host or night manager and the fact that the entire building was at least 10 degrees cooler than it needed to be for comfort. Not that we are from a warm weather state and still getting used to the weather here, on the contrary. But when I feel like I need to wear a coat or drink alcohol just to get through a meal, there is something wrong. The manager was rude to everyone, yes customers, but especially staff and had an open argument with a waiter in front of customers. As far as I'm concerned that is a big no-no in a customer oriented business.

Even though the food was great, we likely won't go back because of the atmosphere. Would rather cook my own Italian and stay home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Charming little Italian restaurant serving great food. It was a little bit on the noisy side, but very enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do try it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Charming place with both upstairs and downstairs seating. We ate here twice. It's right next door to the Bridgewater Hotel (a great place to stay). Gambardella's is open all year -- not all places are in Fairbanks because of the harsh winters. We had steak one night and pasta the next. Both were excellent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gambardella's Pasta Bella also viewed

 

Been to Gambardella's Pasta Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gambardella's Pasta Bella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.