We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place and Very Friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ranch Motel

Ranch Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fairbanks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ranch Motel
2223 South Cushman Street, Fairbanks, AK 99701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 hotels in Fairbanks
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Nice Place and Very Friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This summer, we initially booked 7 Gables through Priceline.com for 2 nights. Surprisingly, when we arrived 7 Gables, we were told NO room for us! (I am still fighting to get my money back from Priceline.com!) The whole town was booked out even almost all B&Bs! After spending almost 4 hrs to call every single hotel and B&B ( W/ the help from Fairbanks Tourist Bureau, they are super helpful!), we finally got one room from a B&B about 30 miles from the town! We also found there were a couple of rooms available from Ranch for the 2nd night. So we took it since it is in town! After our one day Arctic Circle Tour, we arrived Ranch pretty late. I am sure like many, we were not impressed w/ the out looking of the motel! When we checked in, the two ladies are very friendly! We asked to change a credit card for the charge, they did it w/o any issues. The room is way better than we thought from outside! It is small, but very clean. This is what we need! It also has free Wi-Fi! The location is very convenient. I totally agree w/ some reviewers, DO NOT JUDGE THIS MOTEL FROM THE OUTSIDE!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    6
See reviews for
2
2
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Hotels and motels in Fairbanks are expensive. We tried one (Bridgewater Hotel) in Downtown but decided to check here because I'd read about it on Tripadvisor. Sizable room and clean. Fan no airco (not many hotels have ' em here).
Breakfast place next door.
Fairbanks is not very big and the location of this place, while a bit out of center, is not much of a handicap. But the affordable price is the biggest attraction.
Nice restaurant nearby, with a bar (many restaurants dont hold a liquor license here), try the Roundup Steakhouse.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

When you first drive up to the Ranch Motel, you will probably worry what you've gotten yourself into. The exterior looks like it hasn't been updated in at least 30 years!

HOWEVER

The interior of the two rooms we rented were spotless, comfortable, and even featured wireless internet. Granted, we felt like we'd traveled back a few decades, but everything was in perfect condition. If you're into retro, here's the place for you! Furniture is old, but good quality and in great shape. The bed is very nice. No complaints. The hotel manager, while direct, was helpful in her suggestions.

Don't listen to the negative reviews. Most don't seem to have even stepped into their rooms before dismissing one of the most pleasant surprises in Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

we arrived in fairbanks for 8 days of fishing,when we went to the ranch motel we couldent bolive our eyes,completly run down the overhang is about to fall off,on loud and buisey street.when i went in to cancle my reservation the owner said we didnt have reservations i was so happy the place smelled of old suskey wet clothing mited with smoke,the smell stayed on me for quite some time. we went to the minni street bb which was excelent.when i arrived home i find out my card was charged called up motel and she wouldn,t removr charges,had to call card company and stop payment,what a dump and a pain in rear

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

The best bargain in Fairbanks! While the motel is unassuming from the outside and only has around 30 rooms, it is clean (the smoking rooms smell better than non-smoking rooms I have been in elsewhere!) and well run and the manager is informative and friendly. She will even wake customers (at their request) at 2 a.m. to see the northern lights! They also have cable TV and wireless internet.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, and a bus stop close by-in walking distance from downtown
  • Disliked — no air conditioning, but there was a fan in the window that worked fine
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

I found the Ranch Motel to be very clean, quiet and comfortable. The rates are very reasonable as well. I have a small dog and it is difficult at times to find a Motel that will accomdate her. There is a large grassy area for walking your dogs. The staff is very friendly and quite helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, AK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

This was the most horrible place I have ever seen. We were attending a function in Fairbanks and checked the website for a nice motel. The pictures of the rooms at the Ranch Motel were very nice with Victorian furniture, we couldn't find a picture of the outside of the motel. When we arrrived at the motel we found the rooms to be nothing, not even close to the pictures we had seen on the website. The mattresses had deep sways in the middle. The furniture was old, old motel furniture and the rooms had a smell to them. This was actually a very scary place. We immediately went to the office to inform them that we could not stay there. I would not recommend the Ranch Motel to anyone not even an enemy.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ranch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranch Motel

Address: 2223 South Cushman Street, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's lots of hotels in Fairbanks, Alaska. The trick is to find a place with management that believes strongly in continual, careful maintenance and is picky about room cleanliness. The Ranch Motel is that! All rooms ground floor, each with its own outside door - park right in front of your unit. Phones in rooms, free local calls, cable TV, friendly knowledgable staff. Discounts for cash, even if reserved on card. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ranch Motel Fairbanks, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranch Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ranch Motel to your Saves list