We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophie Station Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie Station Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sophie Station Suites to your Saves list
Sophie Station Suites
1717 University Avenue South, Fairbanks, AK 99709   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Walt Disney World, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sophie Station Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here on may 28 and 29 2012 as part of a Rccl cruisetour. the rooms were clean.
and more like one bedroom apartments with a kitchen and separate living room area. hotel
does have self service laundry on first floor for minor charge. restaurants were pretty good.
hotel within short walking distance to a Safeway with a Starbucks. and a Fred meyer store across from that. I arrived independently via Alaska railroad to join my rccl tour,as a result i did not qualify for the complimentary shuttle. I have since complained to Rccl about the issue. taxi service was about $13 not counting tip from train station. staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms have a full kitchen if you would rather make your own meals and dark shades for the long dayli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    71
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
74
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had a nice stay in this hotel, which was part of our Holland America cruise/tour of Alaska. They have very nice suites -good sized bedroom with TV, living room, with TV, and Kitchen. There is also a nice restaurant onsite. Additionally, they have a free shuttle which takes you to numerous sites around town, including the wonderful Fountainhead Antique Museum and the Museum of the NOrth at the University of Alaska. The staff is so courteous and helpful, really going over backwards to help us. They made sure that we got to the airport for a 6:00 am flight also.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our 2 nights at Sophie Station in Fairbanks were very pleasant, while the hotel might lack character like a Fairmont Hotel, it was clean and spacious, we had a lovely big suite, full kitchen, lounge, 2 beds in the separate bedroom and a good bathroom. It was well stocked, great to have a
Lovely big fridge, even had a little balcony off the lounge. It was quiet, staff were pleasant, all in all, a pleasant last few nights of our time in Alaska, lovely country.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed eight days at Sophie's Station and had a very nice visit. The staff was very accomandating. Zach's Restaurant had a variety of good entrees and delicious. My biggest complaint was the reliability and the slowness of their free Wi -Fi.

Room Tip: Any location was good. We had a suite with full cooking facilities, micro and full size refrigerato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I have been traveling to Fairbanks for the last five or so years and have stayed at a variety of hotels. Last year I tried Sophie Station and I haven't thought of trying anything else since. Huge rooms, friendly staff, great location, good price. Why change?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva Island, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This Hotel is Geared toward the Weekday Conference Business in the Winter...If you arrive on a Weekend, there is no service...the staff will ignore you...STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Sophie Station was the last leg of our Aurora Trip. We had just "roughed" it in Bettles, and
were looking forward to a Civilized, easy stay...hot shower, room service. This was based purely on their Website Information. We were so disappointed.

~~We checked in on a Saturday, with luggage...the Bellman was nowhere to be found.
~~We were looking forward to relaxing with Room Service..When I called down, the woman at the front desk said, "I forgot to tell you, there is NO room service on the weekends". AND, "All the Restaurants are closed". "You can go to Safeway and buy food if you're hungry".

Exhausted, we took a Taxi to Safeway, did a food shop and took a Taxi Back. The Bellman
watched me (a female) walk into the Lobby, Get a Luggage Trolly, my husband and I Load it with our food and bring the Trolly into the Elevator to take it to our room. HE NEVER EVEN OFFERED TO HELP US. He was too busy socializing with the Front Desk Personnel.

Every time we passed through the Lobby, the Bellman and the Desk People were deep in
conversation...we watched them "Ignore" Guests waiting to ask a question. The Bellman
never bothered to open a door for anyone.

The "Topper" on our stay was calling the Desk on Sunday to ask for a Taxi. The Desk Manager Named KEVIN, literally said this: "I WILL NOT call a Taxi for you". "I WILL GIVE YOU THE NUMBER to call yourself." "I HAVE A RULE THAT I WILL NOT CALL A TAXI UNTIL YOU ARE STANDING IN THE LOBBY".

He was arrogant, rude and obnoxious. We called our own Taxi. When we passed through the Lobby....Kevin was smirking. Tthe Desk Personnel and the Bellman were
deep in conversation....once again, we opened our own doors.

This Hotel Group (which includes the Wedgewood) prides itself on Guest Services. They need a "Reality Check" on the Service Personnel at Sophie Station. It would be good business to advise Guests PRIOR to their stay, which amenities are offered DURING their stay.

Room Tip: Second Floor has the "Suites" with separate sitting room and Kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Couldn't ask for a better place to stay! The only hotel/motel I've ever stayed in that had decent lighting. Nice, roomy suites, helpful staff, fun bar and good restaurant Just doesn't get any better than that!

Room Tip: We were happy on the 2nd floor...have stayed on both sides of the hall and were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sophie Station Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophie Station Suites

Address: 1717 University Avenue South, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
#3 Business Hotel in Fairbanks
#4 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophie Station Suites will impress you with its spacious suites and exceptionally clean accommodations. Wonderful dining options offered for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Zach's Restaurant offers signature entrees and fresh crisp salads. The Express Room Lounge is a great place to watch sports on the 80" HDTV. Complimentary airport & rail station shuttle service provided. Minutes from the University district. Great value for a large suite with separate bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sophie Station Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophie Station Fairbanks
Hotel Sophie Station
Sophie Station Suites Fairbanks, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophie Station Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.