We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie Station Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sophie Station Suites to your Saves list
Sophie Station Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 University Avenue South, Fairbanks, AK 99709   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CORPORATE RATE $169
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood Park, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Sophie Station in Fairbanks is a centrally located hotel with great amenities. Close to UAF, shopping and the downtown area make it a perfect place to stay. The one bedroom suite is perfect for privacy when required. The availability of a full kitchen certainly lightens the load of eating in restaurants on extended stays. Zach's restaurant is the perfect compliment when you do want to eat out.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    90
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
42
89
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nahariya, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed in Sophie Station one night on our way to Denali.

This was the best hotel we stayed at while in Alaska. The room was a suite with a full kitchen, living room, balcony and separate bedroom. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast at the hotel was good and reasonably priced for Alaska (where food is pretty costly).

Unfortunately we couldn't spend more time in this Exellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agassiz, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

It was nice to have the extra room, and a kitchen, but there's no food at all - the coffee pot is no different than in a hotel, with only one bag of regular and one bag of decaf coffee. Two teabags, a few bags of sugar and some s&p, so it's not like renting a condo at all. You can walk to a Safeway and Fred Meyer - just down the road.
We were on the 2nd floor, and could hear people walking about above us during the night. Ask for a room on the 3d (top) floor to avoid this. The bedroom is separated from the hallway so that makes it quieter - we didn't hear any noise from the hallway. Everything was very clean and staff was helpful. The wifi worked well. The shuttle took over 15 minutes to pick us up from the airport.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 3d floor to avoid noise above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, MD
Level Contributor
211 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed at Sophie Station for two nights and could not have asked for better accomodations.
The suites had a full kitchen, bath, bedroom and living and dining area. the place was neat and clean. The staff was friendly and yet, professional and helpful. I was lucky enough to see the Northern Lights the first night I was there. What a treat!!!!!! I would definitely stay there aain and would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: I am told that all the suites have a balcony, but you might want to check and make sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Sophie Station on the first night of our land tour with Princess Cruises. It had everything that you would need to stay a week and prepare your own meals in the fully equipped kitchen. It was clean and neat and beautifully manicured. The gardens outside were actually STUNNINGLY gorgeous. It was a very short walk to buy groceries or fast food. Did not try the on-sight dining room. Would highly recommend this as a stopping point in Fairbanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Very nice hotel, felt like a small apartment, with full kitchen. The hotel is located near the airport, out of the actual city area. There were a few stores in walking distance. The restaurant was overpriced. We only ate one breakfast there. We walked to a grocery store, Fred Meyer, and bought food for other meals. This store had ready-to-eat hot entrees, salads, desserts, etc.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a kitchen and buy your food from Fred Meyer grocery store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

nice rooms, good location. not many good places to eat nearby

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.1 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#9 of 24 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
2.9 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#10 of 24 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophie Station Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophie Station Suites

Address: 1717 University Avenue South, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fairbanks
#3 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sophie Station Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophie Station Suites will impress you with its spacious suites and exceptionally clean accommodations. Wonderful dining options offered for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Zach's Restaurant offers signature entrees and fresh crisp salads. The Express Room Lounge is a great place to watch sports on the 80" HDTV. Complimentary airport & rail station courtesy van service provided. Minutes from the University district. Great value for a large suite with a separate bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sophie Station Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophie Station Fairbanks
Hotel Sophie Station
Sophie Station Suites Fairbanks, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophie Station Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.